The Perks of Being Single

in #life5 years ago

I woke up this morning and noticed there was no urge to check my phone for new messages. Some months ago, the first thing I did before devotion was to check my phone for messages especially from my ex. Now, I'm used to concentrating on the morning devotion before checking my phone.

This topic may strike many chords but there are so many advantages and pros of being single. We should stop seeing it as a failure or setback but as a propeller to a better self or better tomorrow which can be the next minute or hour.

imageSource

When I had my first breakup, I felt terrible at first till someone told me to see the positivity in the breakup and move on. This was when I discovered so many things about myself. The first perk of being single is Self Discovery.

I have been an artist since I was small but I stopped to focus solely on my education. I totally forgot about what I could do when I was in the relationship and focused on fighting for us. This changed after, I went back to my arts. I started drawing and even got better. Art replaced the fights I had within. I was even able to discover how good I was with sketches. I was able to create time for myself and create an atmosphere to concentrate on the talent I have.

Looking back and now, I have discovered another perk which is freedom. Do not get me wrong, you can have freedom in a relationship but can't be compared to when you are single. I can go anywhere i like now with people i like without being questioned. I noticed recently ,it is not that our partners don't want us to go out ,they just want to be around us all the time thereby denying us of association with other people. Friendship is as important as relationship, there should be a balance.

Tell me self-love and I will tell you it is another perk of being single. I love myself so much to be hurt by people. When breakups happen, it is right to focus on oneself and overlook the hurts. This will give you the chance to love yourself. The truth is, if you don't love yourself, no one can love you deeply. When your partner see how much you love yourself, he/she will be compelled to treat you right. The only time to love yourself is when you are single.

These are the three major perks of being single I can relate with. Being single is fun and adventurous, use that time wisely before the right person come to sweep you off your feet. When we see advantages in disadvantages, we tend to be positive all the time.

Sort:  

Being single is fun and adventurous, use that time wisely before the right person come to sweep you off your feet.

This is the most important part of being single. A time for self reflection - to check on what has happened with ways to be better so as to be ready in case another relationship comes knocking. Thanks for this piece.

#bigwaves

Are you one of the lazy youths I've been hearing about?

I guess so, if being single would make you lazy.

How did you hear about my wife divorcing me?

Posted using Partiko Android

They lie. Its the work of @atiku.abubakar

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Congratulations @jessycute! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73