Daily #16 : What do you do if you feel unproductive?

in #life6 years ago


Not the most productive day ever, but I think that's okay...

Today I spent most of my day crafting a song. I had a songwriting session earlier in the day with my good friend Matt (who happens to be the most ridiculous composer EVER - and I promise to play something of his soon!).

The point is, successful entrepreneurs seem to have lots of things happening in their lives so that they remain motivated. If all your energy is going into one thing, then if it ain't going well then it drains energy. If you have other things you enjoy that happen simultaneously, then they can give you energy in the areas that maybe aren't.

So, today I created music because it energises me.

Let me know what you think and what you do to motivate you when things are not going that well, I'd love to hear and get some tips!

Have a great evening
J


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Ebbs and flows of entrepreneurship - thanks for sharing! It's great that you can mix in the creative elements too.

Thanks Steve, appreciate the comment! Are you an entrepreneur?

Yes, of sorts. I'm a chartered accountant based in the UK and have run my own practice for the past 5 years after cutting my teeth with the big firms. I get to work with entrepreneurs every day which is the best part

Totally agree with you @jonnymiddleton

If we focus only on business and don't show any interest in art and our hobbies. We feel drained and unmotivated, our hobbies make our life more enjoyable. That's why it's important to take time for our hobbies and family.

Thanks for the post Jonny.

Taking a small break for 10-15 minutes and then stick to the same task, I try not to give up until I have finished what I need to get done. The break usually helps, especially With a nice Hot Honey and lemon drink
.

some great tips there! Might try that honey and lemon next time. Thank you for commenting. Much appreciated!

no problem, I should confess though the girlfriend makes it she gets it just right,
I think its half squeeze lemon with 3 small spoons of honey and hot water not boiling, mix well. ENJOY!

Yep, too much lemon and your face is puckered for a good few hours. Not ideal!

ha ha. . . yes go easy on the lemon!

Congratulations @jonnymiddleton, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 3227 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $7375.98. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

I find if I'm having a productive day, to just try and get one thing done. Carve out an hour, make sure that's all you're doing in that hour, and get that one task done.

Sometimes it spurs me on to the next task, sometimes it doesn't - but either way I got that one thing done.

That's such a good point. I find that if you can just get something done it really sparks momentum. Are there times you find you get more done? Again, thank you for the post.

Are there times you find you get more done?

Not really. I used to think it was late at night, when there were no distractions. Then it became waking up early and getting things done before the day started.

Now it's just a general mass of unproductivity with a constant battle against it ;)

Honestly man, money is the only thing motivated me and everytime l become less productive I just think about money. Whatttt... that's greed already xD;

Haha it's a powerful motivator! I'm very interested in how rewarding people works. It's what I like about Steem, you get rewarded almost instantly for good content!

I take a small break and do things I like or read motivational quotes. Things may look hard at times but keep on going and always recharge your fighting spirit.

Nice! Have you seen any good quotes recently? Thank you for posting!

I guess you can get a boost in motivation by thinking of other successful entrepreneurs, and how their work has paid off.

That helps a lot, reading the stories of other people is key. Appreciate the post!

Great.
There are many people have their ways to motivate themself. What important is stay strong.
I have a lot idea to do when i get on coffee shop. Enjoy a cup of coffee that make my brain working well.
H...

Oh my word, coffee is ESSENTIAL! How do you stay strong?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34