THE INGREDIENTS THAT SEEMS QUINTESSENTIAL TO THE GROWTH OF PASSION & DREAMS

in #life5 years ago

image

Image Source

image


In 2009 I started writing basically prose and drama it was until 2011 that I started writing kindergarten poetry, till I became a professional in 2014 and up until i came in encounter with steem in late 2017 I never really found a reason to develop my writing skills, this was because writing didn't seem much of a career (in Africa people are more inclined to work in gigantic firms at least that's always their dreams after spending so much time acquiring expensive certificate or degree) infact writing itself seem like a failed encounter because people never placed their passion for writing before their need to have money it was always the reverse and in a country where there was incessant poverty, a corrupt economic and political system in place, it was difficult for the average person who has just talent to break ranks and achieved a very huge dream of becoming a writer.

So being a young man just out of high school in 2011 I didn't see a motivation to become one hell of a writer because the people around me were Philistinic, hardly ever interested in art and the harsh reality was that I needed a job to to stay alive and nurture my dreams or my dreams will eventually end up killing me in time I realised this and the moment I got a job, got engrossed with job I didn't think I needed to talk passion or dreams anymore because the country I lived in is a whale that swallows dreams hook line and sinker

In essence I realised when I met steem was that every dreams needed a platform to find it's essence because I feel that if there wasn't an essence to a a dream, a passion then it really won't be purposeful to chase something that wasn't gonna be purposeful by all means, so the thing was that I tried finding a purpose for my work because it seemed the platform was wrong I say this because I had a lot of friends in South Africa who I shared my creative works with and they told me i could have easily become one of the best creative writers in South Africa and wondered why I've never made headlines, topped tabloids and you know become rich but that's when I realized the second lesson sometimes it's not just motivation, the 2nd thing is environmental acceptance and a nutritious platform to seed your passion else you'd be dreaming without relevance.

So in essence, steem became that platform, even if it was virtual. But you see sometimes the quality of the platform doesn't matter. The platform itself needs to be inviting, welcoming and encouraging and passions will blossom under such circumstances. So in essence the third will the amount of constructive feedback. Truth is sometimes we lack feedback on things we embrace as our passion and because of this we May slack, lose that zeal because the truth is that everytime we are criticised whether negatively or positively, it gives us a feeling of improvement or it may sometimes make us bask in the fact that we've come a long way So in essence, I've had all these in 2017 till now and I've found out that I've developed at a faster rate than 2011 to 2016 when I had none of these, so some various ingredients or situation are essential to accomplish and when you keep on relying on time alone, then you may just be stagnant for a long time.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71