BEHIND THE SMILES...

in #life5 years ago

image
Image source

Behind the smiles,
Deep in the corridors of my heart,
There's a longing for a balance.
Life has shifted from equilibrium,
It doesn't make sense no more.
A shattered self,
A once perfect world now broken,
Distorted image in the pieces
A reflection of sadness...

Don't we all have what we hide behind those fake smiles?
Hurt, anger, pain, bitterness all masked away?
Rejection, frustrations, insecurities, fears, depression beautifully covered?
Man has mastered the art and won in the game of pretences, denial and deceit...

A once warmed heart turned cold.
Strength and vigour replaced by chills and fever.
I thought I could look at the sun again
But my sky is cloudy
Can't see through the mist
I'm not familiar with this terrain...

I lay on my bed every night
with my pillow soaked in my tears and sweat
For there's fear in my every breath.
If wishes were horses, I would ask that this cup pass over me.
Did I hear you say how are you?
Of course, I'd answer fine
Fine; a word with many meaning...

image
[Image source](from a friend)

Maybe I need to see the optician to have my lens corrected and my focus adjusted
Maybe I could see a perfect world again through broken screens.
Or I'd rather see a dentist.
Sure he can fix faith into my breath,
And every peg will fit into its hole...

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Congratulations @joyce-okpobo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @joyce-okpobo! This is a friendly reminder that a Partiko user has just followed you! Congratulations!

To get realtime push notification on your phone about new followers in the future, download and login Partiko using the link below. You will also get 3000 Partiko Points for free, and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86