The Wrong Offering

in #life6 years ago

It was my first year in the university. Finally, I had the freedom I have always wanted. No parents nor family members to monitor my movement. To enjoy my freedom, I had to get an apartment outside the school premises.

Everyone knows I am very jovial, it was easy for me to mix with the other occupants of my house. Most of them just resumed in school like me. Jane became my best friend since we happened to be in the same department.
pexels-photo-976866.jpeg
Source

One day, we were coming from class and got to the school gate waiting for bus when we saw a guy pasted a poster on the wall. A popular Pastor was coming to the school during the weekend for a crusade, we were happy and promised to be there. Since school just resumed, it was a normal thing to go shopping for new clothes, bags and shoes. On Friday of the same week, I went to the market with my new friends to shop. You know how girls are, we all tried to be flamboyant with good taste so we eventually spent heavily. I was actually glad with all I bought.

The next day was the crusade in school. It was scheduled for 5pm. We ate heavily that afternoon and slept afterwards. When we woke up, time was already far gone, we had to rush out. It was I, Jane and two other girls that were interested in the programme. We got to the school field where the crusade was happening late and blended in.

The sermon was powerful and touching. I felt it deep in my bones and made some covenant with God there. When he was through, he prayed severally for us. He later on gave us a prayer point to pray about, we all closed our eyes to pray hard. After the prayer, we opened our eyes and he had gone. The school Pastor took charge and it was time for offering.

I forgot to carry my bag but money was in my trousers’ pocket. I put hand in my pocket and slowly checked, I had both 500 and 10 naira note. My mind told me to drop the bigger note but I remembered that was all the money on me. I returned the 500 Naira note in my pocket and picked the 10 naira note. Even though I felt ashamed to drop that small amount, I still joyfully dropped the money in the offering basket.

It was eventually time to go back home, the rest already boarded a bus home leaving I and Jane. She said we should get meat pie beside the bus stop before leaving. As we were about to get it, a call came in so I told her to get for us and I would pay for her transport fare. After the call, we ate the meat pie and headed back to the bus-stop. My mind told me to check my pocket before we boarded the available bus and that was when something strange dawned on me, I had dropped the wrong offering.

I checked my pocket and saw the 10 Naira note in my pocket, my heart skipped for a second. “How will I tell Jane about this?” that was the first thing that came to my mind. She already used her bus fare to get me meat pie. She was about to board the bus when I drew her back. I narrated what happened to her. I thought she would be angry but she laughed at our situation.

“Thank God we ate meat-pie, we have the strength to walk.” She replied. I was happy she was not angry. We got a satchet of water and trekked home that night. That was the scariest night of my life – walking on that road. I was so tired when I got home and slept like a log of wood. The next day, we narrated the story to the rest, they laughed at me and that was it.

Sort:  

Lol..
Nice story.
But I learnt something...
Don't be decieved, God can't be mocked. Whatever a man sows that's what he gonna reap..
Indeed it was a wrong offering

Hahahaha. Yes it was.
Thanks for dropping by.
I didn't regret dropping it anyway.
That's most important

Posted using Partiko Android

I had a similar issue back then in a school crusade. As the worship songs were going, someone touched me from behind and told me 'you'll Trekker home'.
I didn't read any meaning to what he said, so after the service, I was going home, before taking bike, I just touched my pocket to feel if my wallet was still there, Lo and behold, I couldn't find my wallet and I trekked home that night. While Trekking, I remembered what the guy that touched me said, and I started laughing at myself

Lol. So he stole your wallet?
Wow.
In church?
How could he? Lol😮

Posted using Partiko Android

Woooow!! What an amazing story dear... But, you got a word that changed your life forever, and the #500 naira, can't be measured by what you were blessed that evening. Remain blessed everyday, cause that's our inheritance.

Yeah. You're right. No amount of money can be compared to God's word

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice @julietisrael and i think the title should be the right offering rather hahaha..
God was teaching you something and i hope you got it.
Nice one...

Congratulations @julietisrael! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @julietisrael!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.953 which ranks you at #10495 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 31 places in the last three days (old rank 10464).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 324 contributions, your post is ranked at #151.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83