That Special Connection Friend

in #life6 years ago

Our last day together, taken by Anthea.

We all need a confidant in life. Someone that we can tell anything to and know that, no matter how bad, it will not be judged. I’m fortunate that I have a husband who I can confide in about anything and I’ve always been extremely thankful about that. What I do miss is a relationship that I once shared with a very special woman who was like a mother to me.

We used to work together and would chit chat everyday about our lives, our problems and just about anything that we felt like. We would laugh and cry and shared some of the most hurtful moments in our lives together. You want the dirt, you give Aunty Anthea a call. She knows it all. Everything that happened in my life in the ten years that we worked together. You want the dirt on her? Well you’re in luck because I know hers too hahaha.

What I’m trying to get to here is that having relationships like these are vitally important. It’s liberating and soothing to know someone that well and still like each other. To still seek each other out because you just have to share this or that with them. It was an incredibly special relationship for me and in many ways, she’s taught me a lot about what I know about being a mother and a wife.

Some days I miss her dearly. We’re still in contact but not in the same way that we used to be. We used to see each other every day. Since I left my job there I lost that. She has also subsequently left there and even though we were as close as we were I have no idea what her house looks like.

As I look back on our journey together I now know that we were a pillar in each other’s lives for all those years for a very special reason. We needed each other to navigate through it all and now that we’ve sort of found ourselves back on our paths it’s not really needed anymore.

Special Moments

We shared so much and grew so much together! It was almost like our paths crossing was necessary to get us both to where we are today. I still miss her though. I miss her honesty and her support and I’ve always believed that she was sent into my life because I needed her guidance so much.

I was young when I met her. A lost twenty-two-year-old working at her father’s company. I had to face all sorts of animosity from other people that worked there and thought that I was some kind of ‘threat’. She always stood up for me. At around the same time she had also found out that her husband had started using drugs and I was there for her to confide in. The relationship just grew from there. It grew and it grew into a bond that was incredibly special and dear to me.

The two of us back in the day

So, in short I miss Aunty Anthea. I miss the conversations that we shared. I miss the laughs and the jokes and the brutal honesty that she brought into my life. It’s almost like losing a mother. I’ve had to accept that but that doesn’t mean that what we shared will ever been gone from the heart. If it wasn’t for her…. I don’t know what I would be.

Thank you for reading and remember to keep smiling 😊
All photos came off my Facebook Profile.


signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

We will always have that someone in our lives that can contribute to what we are now. I'm glad you met someone like her and she is one of those people who made you a very loving and great individual. :)

Thank you very much @dawnsheree.

One chapter closes, another opens in life, as we get older thinking back on people who affected our lives, some really hold special places @jusipassetti

That is so true @joanstewart and such a beautiful way to look at it.

I know exactly what you're talking about. I made a similar friend, 30-odd years ago - she really was like another mother. We stayed in touch for years, even after I left Joburg. Lessons and memories to treasure.

So happy to hear your story and happy that you've managed to stay in touch.

Never lament the passing of good people. friendships and experiences.

Cherish their memories by the gratefulness in your heart and holding fast to the life lessons they've taught you.

They existed solely to give you a chance to grow.

And once you've learned their intended lesson, their mission is complete. Then it's time for them to move on to the next person who needs them more; leaving you with the ability to pay it forward.

And so it goes...

The only constant in life is change.

Namaste, Jaichai

P.S. Resteemed

Such a beautiful thought @jaichai and a much happier way of looking at it. Thank you very much for your support.

Aww, what a gift to have that sweet friendship. I'm sorry it hasn't been the same; perhaps life will put you back in each others' lives in a big way again some day in the future. <3

Thank you @uniwhisp. Imagine that, it would be great if it ends up working out that way.

Friendships come and go. That's life :( :)

I know, it still sucks sometimes though.

I had a neighbour like that for 19 years. I miss her the same as you miss your friend. We still have contact on facebook but as you said its not the same anymore. But still to have had her in my life for such a time was precious. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you @hope777. It is sad how it changes. Some days I miss her more than others. We used to spend so much time together and I really miss how involved in each others lives we were.

I know the feeling! I've had special friends over the years just like your aunty Anthea - at work & in my lift club, it's never the same once we parted like you experienced, so sad!

It is very sad @lizelle. It's like that thing you had in common was the only reason you were spending so much time together even though you really enjoyed each others company. Once it's taken away its difficult to stay so connected.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80