I’m building a house!

in #life5 years ago (edited)

When someone asked about what I had been up to and I shared that one of the big things was building a house, the following conversation took place -

Oh, so you are having a house built?

  • No, I’m building a house.

So, you’re out there with like a hammer and stuff?

  • Yes, exactly that.

E91AE46BCF4B4353A56CD39349113BE6.jpeg

Except there are also other tools involved too.

I am currently working with my family to build a small house on my families land. I figured it was about time I share some photos of the process and how it came to be.

Have you ever built a house before?

  • No, I’ve never built a house for humans before.. but it’s something my step father actually does (just more in the commercial industry) so don’t worry, this isn’t as crazy as it sounds! 😉

We made the decision to build last year and while we were mapping out areas on the land for the build location, getting quotes on the foundation, utilities etc (aka the stuff we couldn’t do ourselves) we realized something - we already had a foundation, utilities etc in a spot being used for just storage currently.

An older house that was re-purposed to be used as a carport after the larger house my folks live in was finished.

5B5470DCD7D546909E3FB2EB889F9371.jpeg

It sure doesn’t look like much, but with a water well, septic system, electrical and a solid foundation already in place, using it instead of starting from nothing would save us a good 20k.

So off I went to design the plans, over and over and over again. Change this, move that.. repeat. Until we had something that made full use of the space, gave me what I wanted, and worked on a technical level as well...

843D87379A04428CAD73E339971FBC2E.jpeg

Next was to begin the process of building new construction onto existing construction... which is not as fun as it sounds, but has its advantages. Like easier permits, cost savings etc.

We needed to frame and raise the exterior walls to add support to the structure before removing the metal poles that had been put in place when it was re-purposed into a car port storage area.

4D6A3688EA374C63B647D5AB7F8D30D7.jpeg

So measure, cut, layout, secure, raise...

repeat

67E914A9DDE046108F5D20BB219F9E19.jpeg

2AE5488F925E4B63A7C48CB922098848.jpeg

Then it was time to remove the old roof structure and replace the beams and add a new roof...

8C254DE3313240E4A424311D053B2B2A.jpeg

DF99261AF62B439FAADEF7160986C1AA.jpeg

F76800E4D0844C77970627099C78DFF3.jpeg

Back to framing...

D823ECB8E3314611A1B7A0E57352FB90.jpeg

And now with the roof finished and the structure sound, we are working on the interior framing.

So far both bedrooms (plus a cool reading loft), living room, kitchen and laundry room are all framed in.. minus a few custom areas...

B0029AA42AA943F788C7C5BDB0F2C273.jpeg

This is a weekend project for us, so it’s slow moving... but we are making progress!

14B8A878A40E46448620426AF16894E8.jpeg

We have a long way to go.. but the view out of my giant 6ft bedroom window makes me look forward to the future.

0FD57E517FE74C4A9151E710228CD758.jpeg

I’ll keep you updated along the way!


Much Love,

Justine

Sort:  

your next account can be @ llframes

That is awesome. Not enough people know how to do shit anymore. I don't really but it was damn fun gutting to concrete and redoing our apartment ... poorly :D

your next account can be @ llframes

:')

You shouldn't joke about Justine's identity crisis Taraz!

I didn't know it had progressed to fully-fledged crisis, but you are the psychologist. :D

Well, I won't put my professional diagnosis on the blockchain, but... ;-)

😂😂😂😂

Just wait for my next one!! I’ll show you!😜

haha! Not sure I should take on framing professionally.. but I am pretty handy with some power tools.

I do agree, I think people need to build more stuff.. there is a sense of pride and accomplishment that comes along with it that we as humans need.

Gutting sounds hands on and interesting :D

but I am pretty handy with some power tools.

I bet you are.

Gutting sounds hands on and interesting :D

It was a lot of fun really but, a great deal of work as it was just me for 95% of it. the finished result was passable. Once upon a time, I would never have attempted it.

meanwhile I can't even draw a circle properly...

haha!!! Neither can I! Or a straight line for that matter. :) Just focus on what you can do haha

Good for you! That looks like California, Im from Salinas! I know there are lots of So Cal people here, but not many Nor cal peeps

Thank you! Yep, it is Cali alright.. I am in the Sierra's.

They do meetups in the socal group often it seems but yes not many in my area specifically.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations on building your house! And congratulations on choosing a metal roof! It's way more economical in the long run, due to upkeep savings, and saving on cooling, if you live in an area that gets hot enough to worry about AC anyway. With a standard tar paper roof you gotta replace the shingles every few years...or if they're blown off...and it feels like it tends to leak a lot. Maybe there's some other type of never roofing technique that's a bit better, but metal roofs really seem like the best choice of the most common options.

The reading loft also sounds awesome!

Love this type of thing! Looking great. I'm in the process of taking a house down to rebuild on our property.

Posted using Partiko Android

oh nice!! You know just what it is like then. I wish you luck as well, as I know it's a ton of hardwork but so worth it!

Wow! So cool. I hope it progresses well :) I also intend to build a house, but it's a bit more difficult here in the UK. So I'm holding off for now. I've dreams to build a cottage in Canada too, on my family's land and as it would be a real retreat.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sweet that's amazing!

WOW, congratulations it's always been something I want to do. Excited to see where this house end up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87