KasiaRecommends: Couchsurfing.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians :)

Today I would like to tell you about an idea that I find truly inspiring and indeed helpful. And about the community that emerged from this idea and became one of the kind. So let me present you “Couchsurfing”.

1.png
source

My first experience with this platform date back to January 2015. I had my “cheap” flight booked from Amsterdam in the Netherlands to San Jose in Costa Rica. But I couldn’t find a low-cost connection from Poland to Amsterdam for the same day. I decided to book a light 2 days before and try if Couchsurfing will work for me. I really hoped it will because I was about to travel for 4 months and I have two ideas on my mind: Firstly and most importantly, I wanted to avoid spending my time with other tourists and therefore be with locals as often as possible. :) Additionally, I was about to travel on a tight budget and one of my prerequisites was to spend as little as possible on accommodation. And you know what? I loved it! The girl I was staying with – Agnes – was a traveller as well, so we talked about our experiences the whole 2 days. We also went for jogging together, as we both are sports addicts! I couldn’t have a better welcoming experience!

Couchsurfing’s origins

This is what the founders write about their story:

Couchsurfing began in 2004 as a small passion project by founders Casey Fenton, Daniel Hoffer, Sebastian Le Tuan and Leonardo Bassani da Silveira. An email to a group of students in Iceland gave birth to the idea that people anywhere would want to share their homes with strangers (or, as we like to call them, friends you haven't met yet).
source

The history of Couch surfing is truly unique, impressive and funny! In 1999 Fenton, back then 25 years old computer programmer flew to Island but didn’t book any accommodation in advance. He hacked into the database of local University! In order to get the students’ email addresses. He then contacted them and yes, he got responses from some of them! This is how the idea appeared. Couchsurfing International Inc. was founded in 2003 as a nonprofit organization (nevertheless in 2011 its status altered into a for-profit corporation), and a year later, in 2004, the website officially launched.

Nowadays you can not only connect to the platform via its internet site - www.couchsurfing.com. There is, obviously, the mobile application that you can find on both the App Store for iOS devices and on the Google Play.

The platform

2.png
source

Ok, its history is interesting, but what is truly important for you is to understand what the platform really is and how it can help you.

Couchsurfing at first was about so-called homestays (and later on it became bigger, with more features like official meetings for the communities etc.). It is a social network that gathers people who either offer to lodge (an entire room or, often, “a couch” i.e. a bed, a couch, a mattress, you get the idea:)) or who are seeking a place to stay for a night.

Couchsurfing is an example of a gift economy, which basically is:

a mode of exchange where valuables are not traded or sold, but rather given without an explicit agreement for immediate or future rewards. This contrasts with a barter economy or a market economy, where goods and services are primarily exchanged for value received. Social norms and custom govern gift exchange. Gifts are not given in an explicit exchange of goods or services for money or some other commodity.
source

What does it mean in practice? Simple that hosts, i.e. people who offer lodging, cannot ask for money in exchange for lodging. Accordingly, the guests are not allowed to offer money. What became a custom though is that guests always offer a gift, usually from its home country, and, additionally, often take the hosts out for dinner or drinks. So you see, Couchsurfing doesn’t offer a free accommodation! But yes, it will be cheaper than what you would normally have to pay and you are offered the unique experience – to meet and spend time with a local person! And this, my dear travellers, cannot be stressed enough.

Tomorrow I will talk about Couchsurfing more in detail and will tell you more about my own experiences. :)

Sending joy! :)
Enjoy the travel &
Pura Vida!
Kasia

Some of my latest recommendations:

Sort:  

Hey @k-a-s-i-a , this is great experience , u contributed to this community , thanks.
I would like to add a quote here , that may be helpful to bloggers on this platform;

Why You Should Upvote Comments!!!!
I've noticed alot of people doesnt reward their followers, and their commenters on here.
It's a shame.
When someone takes the time to not only read your post but to leave a comment. Even throwing your small vote their way does a lot of great things...
They are More Likely To Follow You;
I'm not saying you should upvote every single comment you get. I try and look for those that I feel provide value to the post. When they see that you upvoted their comment and they will be rewarded as a result. This encourages them to follow you; Then you'll have a regular on your post!

You can grow your followers so that they can grow you;
If they choose to keep their Steem in their account, They may power it up. If you continuously are upvoting their great comments, then they will steadily grow overtime. Their vote will be worth even more, and they'll be able to upvote you, The upvotes you gave them helps them grow, so they have more power on the platform.

thanks for this comment! when i gained some VP i started to upvote the comments that very significant and added sth to the topic. Good luck to you!

People suck, but hey, this can happen anywhere, not only on CS.

unfortunately you are so right.

Thanks for sharing this @prch. I think this is really something to be considered about, you are right, an effort must be put into consideration to be able to find a trustworthy host.

exactly, you need to look carefully!it's not the idea that is bad but few people who harm the community...

Good post keep going ❤

생소하지만 이곳을 통해 매우 흥미를 느낀다.

I haven't tried couchsurfing myself, but have read many good things about it. It's an absolutely marvelous idea for people like me who travel on a shoestring. Interesting how it was started just on a lark - sometimes that's how some of the best things get going.

thank you lovely @katebenzin! :)

I love couch -surfing, I've used it often in the past and used to love hosting til my wife veto'd it. It's great to have a local guide when your in a new place it's so helpful and I just love making those connections with new people!

haha, this is not the first time i hear this kind of stories :) but at least you have good experiences and you can confirm that the concept is really nice.:)

I've had a lot of great experiences on CS, so I would definitely recommend it to travellers.

it's great to hear that! :) thanks for your comment!

I love Couchsurfing. But it seems to me that today when Airbnb is everywhere, this type of accommodation is getting less and less chosen. Maybe I'm wrong?

I think Airbnb seems more trustworthy than couchsurfing.

These things are completely different, so it's up to you and your travel style to choose one. Of course if you're up to adventure you will choose CS.

True. I can see when CS really doesn't fit with some people, like if they need to do a bunch of work, an airbnb would be better suited for that.

airbnb is an alternative to a hostel/hotel room, not to CS:) cheers!

like you are reading in my mind while writing those replies :)

airbnb is an alternative to a hostel/hotel room, not to CS:) cheers!

Great to know about this option. Now, I can try to use it to travel on my budget, as well. Using Couchsurfing to see the real deal in my travel destinations is the true value. Thanks for sharing.

you are more than welcome! i hope you will enjoy it! :)

Good post and the idea of couchsurfing is great. You can see the official website of these movement.

https://www.couchsurfing.com/

They have and an application:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.couchsurfing.mobile.android

Here and the whole idea in 3 sentences:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10