BoldspiritTravels on a budget: Bogota & my XIX century colonial experience aka how I met another strong woman! [Solo backpacking on a budget in Latin America]

in #life6 years ago (edited)

3.jpg

The airport in Panama City, “the Tocumen International”, was modern and big. I already knew that people were allowed to enter even in the night, which is not always the case. It was 5 am in the early morning, and I was one of the very few people inside.

I felt like a zombie, without sleeping for two nights in a row. I knew I would need a shower ;) but that was not possible, so I just locked myself in a bathroom for handicapped people and did what I could to start looking like a human again. I managed to wash my long hair in the sink, but I already had a well-established technique because I already have been washing them in much more Spartan conditions. ;)

I had a flight departure at 11:00 am, and arrival at 12:30 in the airport called “Eldorado” in Bogota, in Colombia. All went smoothly and we landed safely and without delay.

In Bogota, I took a local bus in order to get to my host’s house. I did not know what to expect as I haven’t met Ramses before. He was a friend of a friend, my age, spending some years of his studies in Paris, France. The most important to me was the fact that I could totally trust him and that he would be respectful.

I did not notice that before when I was checking how to get by bus to his house, but apparently, I was heading business/residential area. So here I was, accidentally spending my time in Bogota in one of the fanciest (and secure!) areas of the city. ;)

When I finally arrived I was exhausted. But hey, you only get one opportunity to make a good first impression. So I stayed awake (while trying to squeeze the most out of my low energy reserves) as we were having a really nice and interesting conversation about our experiences of living abroad. And I must admit, I use every occasion to speak French because I adore this language :)

Later on, Ramses’s father came home and replaced him as a host (Ramses needed to go back to work). The father is one of the most adorable people I have ever met! An older man, full of class and good manners. He is well-educated practicing judge, speaking several languages, intelligent but most of all kind. He also speaks French perfectly but wanted to refresh his English and decided that my presence would be a great opportunity. I am so “oh, ah” about him, I am fully aware. But you just don’t meet frequently, especially nowadays, those kinds of traditional intellectual people. Soon after him, we were joined by his two daughters. During the time I stayed in Bogota I felt like his third daughter, which was truly comforting, as my real family was so far away.

1.JPG

When I finally got to bed I was sleeping till noon the next day! I was welcomed by yet another member of the family, their housemaid. Yes, they had a housemaid, who were coming each day to cook and clean for them. I felt like I somehow moved in time to nineteenth-century colonial Colombia, where (white) descendants of Spanish conquistadors had their plantations and immense haciendas with native (dark skinned) people working for them. She welcomed me and asked what I would like to eat for my breakfast. I immediately said that I will prepare myself something that she doesn’t have to worry about me. But she insisted and had some stuff already made. We started to talk and those mornings when we were alone, therefore could talk more freely, was one of my favourite moments in Bogota. Sadly, at that point, my Spanish was not too good, therefore I could ensure a proper discussion on a higher level :( What I knew was that she grew up in the Caribbean side of Colombia, but had to move to Bogota in order to find a “well-paid” job. But whole her family stayed so she were missing them a lot. Maybe this is why we were feeling so good together? Two strong woman who are fighting for a better live.

When I arrived at the Caribbean 20 days later I understood what she meant by saying that this was a beautiful and unique place to be. I also saw ladies her age all dressed up in the traditional, colourful outfit in order to attract tourists. They were selling fruits and, most importantly, their “image” as their appearance was much more attractive in photos than the fruits.

2.jpg
Cartagena (Colombia). This photo shows exactly what I saw looking at those women, "living touristic attraction". A mixture of disappointment, fatigue and sadness. I didn’t ask those women to pose for me, I just felt too embarrassed. On the other hand this is how they earn their money. This definitely isn’t an easy topic, at least to me. source

Thank you for being here with me. I hope until the next time!
Pura Vida and enjoy your journey! ❤

Sort:  

Is not dengeraous there? 😇

Like in any place in the world there is danger, specially if you wander around in the wrong places, but mostly youll find good and nice people, just trying to make a living, happy to great new faces, but with their own problems.

Great answer, thank you for sorting this out and helping! ❤️

By coincidence, I'm in Bogota right now. How long have you been here?

Hey there. I am not there at the moment, it was back in 2015. Enjoy your travels :) oh, i envy you so much right now 😅 ;) ☀️

Yeah, I enjoy it a lot, no wonder everybody loves it!

Walo amazing looking so fresh you so sweet and pretty

My account was hacked recently, please unflag!

Hello @beautyloving. May I ask why did you leave this comment here?? I do not feel comfortable seeing this here, on my wall, because it looks like a message for me.

If you spot someone who spam, please address your message directly to them and don't spam other users' profiles.

Sorry about this, my account was hacked recently and now I'm trying to do damage control. In my short time on this site I've only tried to add quality content 😔

What is your experience of travelling alone as a girl? My girlfriend @sandrastarud is planning on heading away solo in the near future, although to east-asia, but something we've been talking about is "safety". I've travelled myself solo for many months in the past and have met many girls travelling solo as well and heard mostly good stories so personally I'm biased to the positive side while society obviously bombards how "dangerous" it is. 🙏🏼

Any thoughts or advice on the matter for a girl who wants to travel solo?

Pura vida 💛

hey there!:) my thoughts? if anything should happen, it will happen no matter where you are. So she should just go travel and enjoy :) the only thing is to be smart and and careful. I think EA is much safer than latin countries , so don't worry to much ;) Pura vida ☀️ 🍀

you're so beautiful :)

haha, thank you for the compliment ;)

Very Nice beautiful

thank you Dear!

Welcome my dear friend
Regards
God bless you.

Is that a regular Outfit of women from Cartagena ?

i 'm not sure what a "regular outfit" means :) there are many ladies wearing this when they sellfruits to tourists :)

@kasia
Good posts and can help others who travel,
But if I may suggest, try uploading videos may be more helpful, because many people are lazy to read but like to watch,
thank you
send regards for success

you are absolutely right about videos and reading. I would have post it if i had been recording at that time ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89