BoldspiritTravels on a budget: From Costa Rica to Colombia. #2 Crossing the border. [Solo backpacking on a budget in Latin America]

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I was on my way from Tamarindo in Costa Rica to Bogota, in Colombia. As I have shared with you in my last post, I decided to do half of that distance using local buses because the plane would have been too expensive. After six hours, I arrived around 9:30 am to the capital of Costa Rica, San Jose. I spent some time in a café, eating breakfast, enjoying coffee while observing, from a corner of this café, how this morning looks like for locals. It was actually really pleasant to watch, as Costa Ricans are generally friendly and open. The place was rather busy, but in a non-disturbing way, so the rush didn’t affect me.

mapa trasa bus.JPG

At some point, I realized there is a street beggar just outside “occupying” an entrance. I was expecting to see the manager “kindly asking” him to leave, just like it would have happened in any western country. But it did not happen. Instead, he was offered a coffee by one of the customers, the other gave him some coins. Another one offered him something to eat. It really was one of those moments you would like to share with skeptics who do not believe in humanity.

From San Jose (Costa Rica) to Panama City (Panama)

2.JPG

From the bar I headed to the next bus station, this time it was a private terminal of a company called “Tica Bus” (www.ticabus.com). It offers bus rides across Central America, is well known and has a good reputation. Which was important to me, because I needed to arrive to Panama City more-less on time in order to take my flight to Bogota (Colombia).

There are (I checked if there were any changes lately, but all my information is up to date) two buses that operate between those destinations.

  • “Ejecutiva” (Executive class): offers the ride during night-time (departure at 23:55); the drinks and meals are served (on one of the forums I read that we talk about Big Mac’s, which is really sad if that’s true). They are 1/3 more expensive than the second “type”.

  • “Turistica” (Touristic class): takes 16 hours; offers the ride during a day-time (departure at 12); no services are provided.

This is how the company explains the difference:

Executive Class includes on-board service of meals and non-alcoholic beverages, as well as the use of pillow and blanket during the trip. As a result, the bus does not make stops for the passengers to get off and eat, saving one to two hours of time.
source

I have chosen the second type, the touristic bus.

As I didn’t sleep the night before, I started to feel like a zombie;) The ride itself was pretty comfortable, cause I don’t remember any traumatic emotions ;) Until we reached the border…

Crossing the Costa Rica - Panama border

It was already dark, we were already around 8 hours on the bus and a half-way from the final destination.
There were forms to fill in, and then everyone was asked to get off the bus and take its luggage from the bus. I was a little bit surprised and confused. Already on Panama’s border, we were gathered in a room, with all our luggage. The officials came with “custom” trained dogs. They performed an inspection of each luggage separately. They seriously opened our backpacks and suitcases in front of everybody and unpacked them without hesitation.

In order to cross the border, you are required to:

  • be in a possession of a passport that is valid for at least six months; and

  • have a return or onward ticket in order to prove that you are not going to settle as an illegal immigrate ;); and

  • prove that you have at least 500 US dollars.

To be honest with you, guys, I didn’t know about those requirements because I was in Panama only for transit purposes and I simply didn’t waste my time to read about that, haha. Well, I should. I had my ticket out from Panama as I was there only for transit. So that was not a problem. But I didn’t have any money (and I couldn't withdrawn that amount because of my bank account's limits), any travellers checks and I was only owning a debit card, not a credit card. But I was too tired after the sleepless night and many hours in buses, so I just decided I prefer to stay calm and, if needed, I would pretend that my debit is actually credit card (and basically play dumb). It all ended well - I was not asked for any documents. ;) I guess I look like a person that is trustworthy and will not cause problems, hihi :)

3.jpg

I was determined to find someone with whom I will be able to share a taxi from the bus station in Panama City to its airport. So I spoke with several people and at the end, one girl told me that she knew that another girl needs to go to the airport as well. I found her and we agreed to share a taxi. Ufff. I have read on forums that taxis in Panama City, especially in the night, from/to stations and airport are expensive. And there is no bus alternative during the night.

We arrived to Panama City around 4 am, and, as planned, I shared the taxi. It was my second night without sleeping. But. I had my plane to Bogota in a couple of hours, I was soon to reach my next dream destination! :)

Thank you for being here with me. I hope until the next time!
Pura Vida and enjoy your journey! ❤

Sort:  

I am jealous! 😍

haha, of this long ride in a bus? :)

Keep flowing, amazing trip!

thank you :)

My account was hacked recently, please unflag!

always a pleasure to look at the beautiful travel girl

haha, thank you for this compliment!:)

wooow didnt know before now...thank you

you are welcome!

To hear the speech version of this post click the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

i need to get on this level of travel!! hope your journey goes well!!

tiring but adventurous:)

Im an so defenetily going to foloow you!

You are doing exactly what i'm planning to do in a couple of weeks.

Love It! Have a lot of pleasure on your travels and stay safe :)

Love from th Netherlands, - Michiel

Hey! where are you going exactly? :) yes, do that without hesitations! I would even consider hitchiking if i were you. unfortunately it's still more safe for men

First phase i'm going round my home continent in Europe, build some travel exp. and get to know my gear and all the ways to get aroubnd on a budget.

Prague > Berlin > Budapest > Tbilisi is my main route, but ill probabaly hit a lot of other places on road.
One week left !

If i may ask, what is the biggest problem you have encountered till now?

Greetings

wow amazing ...life is short so enjoy every moment of life...travel is also my passion... your arise my keen again

so safe travels :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=k-a-s-i-a
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=kasiatravels-on-a-budget-from-costa-rica-to-colombia-2-crossing-the-border-solo-backpacking-on-a-budget-in-latin-america


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88