Paying Leo Messi a visit - visiting Castelldefels, Spain

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Catalonia is much more than just Barcelona. It is a stunning region rich in history but also attractive in terms of nature.

With a relatively short car ride, you can experience mountains, sea, national park, lakes and many more.
Today I would like to invite you to small but charming Castelldefels, a city that is close to my heart.

20171020_191257.jpg

luis-de-garrido-messimansion3-1471516648-800.jpg
Leo Messi's house in Castelldefels source

Castelldefels is where football superstar Leo Messi and over 63 000 “regular” people live ;)

No surprise there is even a castle ;) (from which the city took its name- the Fels castle = castell de Fels (in Catalan).

The city is located about 20 km southwest of Barcelona and is easily accessed from the heart of Catalonia – around 15 min by car or 40 min by train.

It is a well-known summer destination for many of those living in Barcelona, as in the high season Barcelona’s beaches get extra crowded, therefore during weekends they just want to escape the touristic madness.
And Castelldefels is truly welcoming with its 5 km long sandy beach (it is pretty wide as well).

playa-2.jpg
source

So what kind of activities you can try while sunbathing in Castelldefels?

20171029_150521 (Copy) a.jpg

Apart from sunbathing and taking a batch in the warm, Mediterranean sea you can decide to do some water sports like paddling, pilates on a surf desk (it’s a new trendy thing to do;)), occasionally surfing (depending on waves), sailing, kayaking to name a few. If you jog or simply enjoy walking – there’s a long promenade along the shore.

I must highlight that I was surprised by the overall outdoor infrastructure: muscle-building equipment on the promenade; beach volleyball courts; shower points; drinking water fountains. And if you have kids, there are playing areas alongside the promenade :)

Oh, I would almost forget to mention the free WiFi offered on the beach;)

Castelldefels is, mostly, but not only:) about the beach. For the 1992 Olympics, the Olympic Canal was built and is still open to use. It offers water sports like wakeboarding, water skis or kayaking.

CastilloCastelldefels.jpg

As I have already mentioned, Castelldefels has its own castle with a view over the city. It was built in XVI century although the church inside dates back to the 10th century! Worth your time.

iglesia-1.jpg
source

Just like in the whole Catalan region, there are plenty of restaurants and bars, so everyone will find something suitable for one’s wallet.

IMG-20171012-WA0002 (Copy) a.jpg

To escape from this small city we do not have to search for long. Just above the city, on the edge of Castelldefels, there is a vast and green park called Garraf Natural Park. We can enjoy this peaceful place not only on foot but by bike if someone fancy. There are many trails provided.

IMG_20171102_131505_200.jpg

A hint: in the middle of Garraf Natural Park you can find a Buddhist monastery. It is the first buddhist monastery in the whole Catalonia! It is worth a visit as it is located in the beautiful, XIX century Spanish residence.

I hope you enjoyed this post!
I wish you all a fruitful 2018! :)
Cheers, Kasia

Sort:  

Great post and photos :)

Catalonia has made the world's agenda at least as busy as yours, with a referendum that it has done to leave Spain. I like Barcelona and Catalonia.

35c72790b41d77cd7900d8e2ca1e9f70.jpg

I wish you all a fruitful 2018! :)


I wish you the same and all the best too.

Happy New Year

mes que un club!!!!!!

Great photography skills. Good post enjoyed reading.

thank you :)

Hello Kasia, I really like the way you projected your article. I have been to Spain and I am absolutely loving it. The first time I been to Spain was back in August 2017. It was absolutely the best choice I have ever made. I have spent my 3 weeks time in Spain, exploring different small cities/town like Malaga, Tarifa, Conil de la Frontera and Barcelona. I can say that I belongs that because I fell in love with the people over there, the warm suns, the food, the culture was amazing.. Immediately returning to Germany, I've booked my next flight to Spain from Singapore. I am proud that I will be heading there again this end of the year!!

Also, I am looking forward more to your next post as I know you and I are both a travel fanatic! Travelling is absolutely our soul and missions to be completed in our life!!

I am amazed to see your photos @k-a-s-i-a

thank you🤗

nice post!!! Kasia!! kissis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99