I am handing out advice you have probably heard a million times, now i will go back to the quiet corner. 🥰🥰

in #life5 years ago (edited)

I haven't done much today, still not feeling good and have no motivation to move or do anything so taking it easy for a couple of days until i start to have more energy, thankfully Mother Nature has paid my garden yet another visit with watering my garden saving me from moving.

Anyway back to Reality

I received a letter this morning about my Pensions policy, it got me thinking about Where has all the time gone, How did i get this old. Have i really got to start thinking about this, or at least more than i have been thinking about it. I have been pushing it to the back to my mind as i really didn't want to admit I am now old, as now i am 55 i am able to dip into my pension if needed.

Pensions.jpg

We do have a state pension that we get at I haven't a clue, as they keep changing the age. It used to be 60 but now its up to 67, by the time i reach 67 you can guarantee it will be raised to 97 so i really can't rely on that at all. I did start a pension off when i was working but was only at work for around 20 years before hurting myself so haven't really built up a very large pot. I stopped paying into 1 pension then opened another so have 2 at the minute, one i should transfer but never got round to it as the time has crept up on me so quickly, its something i need to do now so will know exactly how much i will have when i need to collect it.

Hubby has a great Pension through his job, thankfully that should do us OK with mine topping it up or for treats, plus by then all our debts will be cleared and our house will be ours so no mortgage payments coming out every month. We took our mortgage out for 25 years, can't believe in 2 years time those 25 years will be over.

Now i am going to get on my Orange box and pass out some good advice, advice you have heard a million times and probably ignored it like i did then you realise its to late to do anything about.

Planning.jpg

When i first started working and receiving a wage, more money i had ever had and most of it was all mine once i had paid board for living at home. I was left with a massive £50, 38 years ago that was a massive amount. I did what most people do and that was spend it and enjoy every single penny that i spent with nothing to show for any of those pennies.

Now i think back i wish i had my head on correctly, i would have spent a little and saved a little, i didn't start doing that until i got into a relationship. I could have had a lot more saved and enjoyed spending it a little less. WELL NOW ITS TO LATE.

We all get there eventually, it doesn't matter who you are you will get old so you might as well save for it. Knowing you will have money and it will be OK takes a massive weight off your shoulders. Plan for your future, make your future a fantastic one.

I am now stepping down and getting back to my own Pension and Future, you have to look after your own.


Thank you @son-of-satire

Sort:  

Congratulations @karenb54! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 24500 replies. Your next target is to reach 25000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

As I am fast approaching 60 thinking about pension and retiring is taken more of my thoughts and time, Luckily I have a fairly good pension with my Company so I am OK, but it is for sure easy to look back and think I wish I had put more away when I was younger so I can relate to that

I think its just humans and what we do, we always think to late :(

Yes I think your right, I know I am guilty of that

Its always.. If Only :)

Isn’t that the truth

As a pass time occupation, add up your pentions (yours and the slaves). Multiply them by 1.75%, add the value of your house and other saleables, subtract a couple of air fares, find a warm, no frost area, learn how to go fishing/golfing etc.
Lay back in comfort and let the years go by.

Is your pains etc xaffected by the cold? Would warm 30 p summers help? 15 p winters? They will always find room for you in the cooling pot.

A warmer climate would def help me and my pain as long as it wasn't to hot as then i am no good with these hot flushes.
I would love to move away. start somewhere new... I may have to look into it :)

You will grow out of them soon/eventually, you have the choice of sub tropical to sub antartica , with all the options inbetween.
Soon @trevor.george and I are running a game, at this stage, from the top of the North Island to Auckland, our biggest city with just over 1.5 mill people.
Pick a spot as we go that sounds interesting.

What is your son upto, he's never on here?

What game are you running ?

He had been training for a marathon, followed 2 weeks later by 56 km up and down hills race.
Between training for that he has been working his #### off, His wife, of Greek decent, had returned to Greece a monthish ago, he has now floown over to do a month in Greece and UK, where he did a couple of OEs as a youth.
He should be popping up soon with lots of touristy posts.

Is he back now. Hope he's having a fab time :)

He started last tuesday, and managed a snail or two? for his birthday, prob be away for a month, may start posting during or may wait until he is home

You could post a few letting people know about the competition, build up people to join :)

The game is starting from the North of NZ, visitinf little villages etc heading towards Auckland.
Throw a dice, advance that number of towns/squares, do what it says on that place, first one to Auckland gets ????? Steem or something.
A bit like snakes and ladders.

Sounds like fun. Im in when it starts :)

Good I will need as many as possiable to make it worth while.

Hello @karenb54, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

You have the right of it. Best bet was to start yesterday...next best is to start today. Do not wait until tomorrow for as we know, tomorrow never comes.

That is so true :)

I wish I would have planned better. Great advice for all the youngsters here!

I wish I would have
Planned better. Great advice for
All the youngsters here!

                 - melinda010100


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Me too, when i think about the money i wasted 😒

I am fighting this aging deal. I am not winning, but I am fighting LOL.

Yeah here the way they been raising the age to get your retirement. They probably got it up to only 97

I dread to think how i would feel at 97, scary age :)

Great advice @karenb54 and one I'am already working on.

Good, keep putting those pennies away :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29