It happens to us all, being prepared makes it easier for others to deal with. I will leave this world my 😊😊

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Today was the day i started something i have been thinking of ever since i turned 50. We all get to that age where we have to come to terms that one day we won't be here, one day your family are going to have to take cafe of your funeral, can they afford it, wouldn't you like to take that pressure off them. I never had anything to do with my parents funeral mainly because we didn't get on and didn't speak for 25 years, plus i didn't find out my mother had died until 3 days after.

I don't want my partner or children to have to face that worrying about paying for it when they will be grieving, its a sad thing to think about but it has to be done. I want my funeral to be a certain way, i want the money to be there and everything planned for them, I had no say on how i came into this world I am going to make sure i leave the way i want and pay for it.

Sun Life.jpg

I have chosen a guarantee over 50's policy, £23.50 a month, £20.00 for the cover £3.50 for a Premium Cap Option. You have 2 choices, to either pay until you die which could cost you more that what you would receive or pay a Premium Cap Option where i pay for 23 years then nothing more and still get the payment. That means i stop paying at 78. There is a year grace where i pay the premiums and if i die through an accident in the 1st year my family still receive the money or if i die of natural causes in the 1st year they get all the premiums back. Once the year is over i am fully covered. If i stop paying the monthly payments i lose the plan with no return. 3 days after i die they will receive £5,504.00. That is my funeral paid for and enough for a wake/party after.

The man i spoke to was very helpful and really nice, we had a good giggle at it and i am very happy with the cover. For taking out the cover i receive a £85 gift card to spend. They are sending my welcome pack out with all instructions. There is a funeral plan there too where i can write down everything i want then my hubby if he is still around or the girls will only have to add there touches.

I have set it up now i can forget about it, once i get the plan through the post i will fill in what i would like, music, charities etc then put it away somewhere hubby and the girls will be able to find it. Hubby is covered with the company he works for. I will need to check what happens once he retires, if his cover stops then we will have to set one up for him which will again help me or the girls.

Good pont.jpg

You never know what life has planned for you, being prepared means these things don't become a problem and taking the pressure of my family when they won't be able to handle it is one last thing i can do for them. Making my girls life easier is what i will do as long as i possibly can.


Thank you @son-of-satire

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Good idea, to be a pain in the bum, ask how much a funeral was 30 years ago and compare it to todays cost.
As a very young lad I took out life insurance for $2,000 , at the time that was a fortune, buy a house and car level. When it matured 30 years later, the house would have been a dolls house and a matchbox car.
See if you can inflation proof it.

its ridiculous how much it costs for a funeral. They can stick me in a cardboard box for all care :)

"This content has earned some GEEK. (29000 Geek) GEEK tokens have been transferred to your steem-engine.com account.

Geek Rewards (GEEK) is a steem engine token that rewards content creators for their geeky contributions to the community."

Thank you, I haven't a clue what yo do with them :) i think i need to catch up what's going on.

Thats good that you have done that and it reminds me I should look into doing the same

Its crept up far to fast :(

Ohh it sure does

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03