LET DOWN BY FAMILY ...AGAIN.. WHY DO I EXPECT ANYTHING DIFFERENT.

in #life5 years ago

We all have family, some are lucky enough to have family they can rely on and depend on not to let them down, my family have done it again, total let downs

family.jpg

All my life my family has let me down, something we have got used to but with hubby's family I thought things might be different. Hubby's dad, the girls Grandad is useless, the girls refuse to call him Grandad, they refuse to see him as he has never made an effort. I thought just maybe on there special birthdays he would at least send a card, Nichola was 21 yesterday she got a text. I always remember there cousins birthdays, especially there special birthdays, did they remember Nichola's NO. A simple card to wish her happy 21st is to much like hard work. Family stink.

Me and hubby have had words with family asking them to try, they try for a little while then go back to there selfish ways. My girls never had grandparents growing up, something they would have loved. They used to ask WHY is it always you picking us up from school never Gran & Grandad. I had to tell them they were to busy, lived to far away until they got old enough to realise they just didn't care.

quote.jpg

Thankfully Nichola doesn't care about them anymore, she's not interested in them, she has way more tolerance than me.

AT THE END OF THE DAY THIS IS THERE LOSS, THEY HAVE MISSED OUT ON 2 LOVELY YOUNG LADIES THAT COULD HAVE BRIGHTENED THERE WORLD. THEY CAN LIVE IN THERE SELFISH LIVES, WE DO NOT NEED THEM AND NEVER WILL


Thank you @son-of-satire

Sort:  

It's very sad, but not much can be done about it. I think it has become more the norm in the last 20 years for families to fracture and not have much contact. It's easier to stick your nose in your phone or on your computer rather than to call or visit personally. What will become of our world??

This world is going downhill very fast :(

By those standards, I would let you down as well. I don't remember birthdays nor do I care much about society driven "Special Days".

On the other hand, I am great at dropping everything when someone needs me, the random call and card, and enjoying every moment I am with someone.

I am never upset if someone forgets my birthday, and there have been a few years when I even forgot my own birthday.

:)

I wouldn't be upset if her so called grandad had been there for her 21 years or my oldests daughter's 26 years. He has only took my oldest out once and that was after we had words with him. He's never had my youngest, a card the least he could have done but seems a text is enough. Cant remember the last time he spoke to them.

My dear Karen, I think you are too emotional about it! These people are not your family! Your family is you, your husband and your children, as long as they live with you and until they have created their own families. But these people are your relatives or your husband's relatives, but they are not your family. Neither you nor your husband and children are obliged to like them or prove something to them. You are self-sufficient. Do not worry about the relationship with these people, do not waste your energy that you and your family need!

I have no intentions of letting them hurt my family. They mean nothing to me :)

I've learned the hard way that "blood is not thicker than water"....my wife's father....who would have been the ultimate grand parent....died at age 51....my father's past history didn't allow him to get close to people so pretty much divorced my brothers and later grand children once he divorced my mother....it does hurt...but...as long as children have someone to love them...they will see reality as they get older....

We have each other, my girls are my world. Sorry for your loss though 51 is very young bless him.

Sorry Karen to hear that. People are strange creatures. Most of the families are like that but they don't talk about it in public. They just prefer to pretend that everything is wonderful and to continuously live the lie. It's exhausting! My family looks like yours, and i only talk to 2-3 people family related; I've decided not to be bothered many years ago. Take care. ☺

Thank you. Families can be difficult. I haven't bothered with my family for nearly 20 years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17