When was the last time you took a chance or tried something new?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Peoples first reaction when they heard me telling about quitting my job and moving to the other side of the country, were in many cases "I wish I could do something like that" or "I wish I had done something like that when I was younger". For me, that's a bit provocative, because, why can't you? Life is too short to not do what you dream of, isn't it? I fully respect those who don't have the urge or need of doing 'crazy' things in life, but if you spend more time thinking about what you want to do rather than just doing it, then I think it's time for you to take a chance.

What really made me decide to quit my job was when I was on a very scary hike this summer. I said to myself that if I got back down safe and alive, I was going to quit. And as I planted my feet back on solid ground, the decision was made.

You can read more about me moving here :)

This picture is from that hike. Don't be fooled by the smile, I was super-scared.

The hike was to Stortinden in Vesterålen.

/Karianne

Sort:  

I want to hike that mountain with you!! Or are you never going back up there?

Let's have it as a goal :) What doesn't kill you ... etc. :)

I can recommend going up on the back side of the mountain, set up a tent in "Gryta" by the foot of the summit, next to a lake, then climb up for the midnight sun, return to the tent for some sleep, then go back down. My best mountain hike ever.

Thats where we were, but didnt find the path :(

Not really a visible path from Gryta I think, we didn't find one either. Just walked up up up and then along the very steep edges.

Life is on the side of the brave ones! :)
I also moved to the other end of the country with my husband and left everything familiar behind me. It was the best decision ever as I personally growed a LOT since I live here. And I know that scary feeling! I once hiked the Dolomite Alps and the path was about half a meter broad with an abyss next to it. When I arrived the top I had trembling legs and didn't know if I would get back down alive. But I somehow managed it despite my fear of hights and was proud like a kid on first school day :D
Very good you listened to your intuition! It's the voice that shows you your true way :)
And I also know provoking sentences like: " Oh I wish I could do that, too. But life isn't so easy for everybody...."
Oh man, we are all born as creators of our own life. We decide whether we use this possibility and create something amazing or complain, look for excuses and stay caught in a life that dosen't fulfill us!
I am glad you belong to the people who feel the urge to listen to their heart! <3

Oh my, that sounded just like what happened to me on this hike. So scary, and like you, proud as a kid when I finally managed to get back down :)
I couldn't agree with you more - we have to take responsibility ourselves instead of, like you're saying, thinking that "those things aren't for me", or "She is so lucky she can do that."
So happy to hear that your decision about moving turned out good and especially that you've grown as a person. I can't wait to see what this year will bring :) :) Best, Karianne

It feels so good in the end when you can be proud of yourself for facing your fears sucessfully! :)
Yes, self-responsibility takes us far more foreward than complaining :) Unfortunately a lot of people still stuck in this victim-role and complaint mode. I hope more people will wake up and actively create a life that makes them happy :)
Thank you very much for your kind words! I am so happy to see what the next year will bring, too! :) Best wishes and a wonderful day! Linda :)

So true, unfortunately most of us spend too much time complaining!

self-responsibility takes us far more foreward than complaining

Indeed! It's sad they can't see that complaining often costs you more energy than actually be brave and give it a try! But I came to the conclusion that people have to be so unhappy with their situation that being brave is the only choice they have as the only thing they want is change. I observed this a lot among the people around me. Hopefully the brave ones can encourgae those who hesitate and let the magical feeling of transformation happen together :)

Congratulations @kariofthenorth, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 2650 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1012.53. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Upvoted! you are so right! glad you dare on doing that.
I travelled for four years and lived in Australia and Canada, back in Amsterdam for now thinking about whats next.

Keep inspiring, enjoy your day

Thanks! Traveling for four years sounds pretty amazing!! What do you think will be your next move? :)

looking into maybe giong to Barcelona, but will give mysef a few months to make a good plan

I'm sure whatever you'll do, it will be great :)

Exactly! Life is too short to worry about what if’s And being stuck in the daily grind. Proud of you and the steps you’ve taken to achieve your freedom. Looks like it paid off and was well worth it!

I'm sooo happy with how it has turned out, so I must say that so far it has been super good and totally worth it :)

Life is too short to not to what you dream of, isn't it?
I believe you mean "to not do"... Anyways, I totally agree with you, spending time thinking about what we want to do rather than actually doing it, is a complete waste of time.

Ooops, thanks :)

I wouldn't say this if it wasn't true, but your post inspired me to do something I've been afraid of trying

Now you made me really curious about what you want to do. Feel like sharing? :) So happy that I can inspire!

like it!!! You may look into my travel serie ''If We Look From the Viewpoint of Art History''.
There is my recent post: https://steemit.com/travel/@atakanoz/if-we-look-from-the-viewpoint-of-art-history-from-st-petersburg-travel-in-2013-cathedral-of-the-resurrection

@atakanoz

For a great post, it looks really super on top there, I’m a little scared of heights I too😄

It was soooo scary, but somehow it felt good afterwards because I survived :) hehe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76