Penguins for Viviane

in #life6 years ago

I have had a couple very busy days. Today I looked after my two year old niece. Her father is French and she speaks both Danish and French (in the two years old version). But she is good at talking!

Somewhere in all this toddler-chatter I answered with a oui, instead of the Danish ja. She stopped her babbling and gave me a sharp, sceptical stare. "Do you speak French," she asked, and I answered, "oui un petit peu." She looked even more sceptical at me and said, "a little bit?"

Then I played the piano and we sang Frère Jacques, which conveniently is what she calls me. My wife is for some reason called uncle M even though it is me who are the uncle? Frère Jacques and Uncle M.

Then she asked me to draw some penguins while she had some new baked bread with jam. A mother penguin, a little one and a father who laughed at a human. She did some drawing herself too.


When her father showed up, she chatted wildly in French. A very clever little girl, I wish @vcelier could have meet her. She lives next door after all.

Sort:  

I wish @vcelier could have meet her

Yes, that would have been great, we could have spoken in French!

Exactly :) They live two doors down the street.

Oh how I wish I had learned French as a toddler, then it would stick in my head, unlike now where it is constantly falling out of there, like a line of dominoes and I turn my head the wrong way and over they fall, all my French phrases :/

Yes, she has an advantage over the rest of us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70