4 Weird Ways You Waste Your Time!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

shutterstock_92746564.jpg

We all know how important time is, But how many of us, Actually do something to fix how we are using our time?
Many of us don't. We forget about it; We waste time like crazy. Then we wonder where the time "went."

Don't Do Mindless Activities

Many of us do mindless activities to "wind down." While I'm not fully against that. That time does add up, and it's often wasted. Many mindless activities, Like browsing Facebook. Don't even help with winding down. There is no benefit to doing that. When we pay attention to how much time we are wasting on those activities. It's probably a lot more than you would expect.

For winding down, Can you do something more wholesome? Read a book or play a game instead of watching tv? We all know the many benefits to reading, but also videogames are better than Tv in a lot of ways, Especially the more strategic games. Can improve your thinking and your reaction speed to things in real life.
Or can you garden? Do some cleaning?
Cleaning is one of my most favorite "mindless" tasks. Because when I'm done, I have a gorgeous and clean environment to live in. But at the same time, Cleaning helps me wind down too.

interior-design-828545_960_720.jpg

Don't Settle

We waste time when we settle. It's like putting a "stop" on all of your goals in life, While you "settle." It breaks my heart when I hear about couples later in life barley accomplishing some of their dreams Because time just "slipped" by.
Think of what you want in life, And take some step towards it. If you want to have a bakery some day, Can you save a little, Even 5.00 a week so you can open one day? Try and do what you can to make your goals happen. Settling wastes time, And later in life, you'll live with regret and rush to accomplish all of your dreams.

Think of The End Result

This is similar to settling; Many people make choices in life-based purely on what they want right now, Instead of looking at their long-term goals and deciding based on that. Again, you waste time when you focus only on what gets you by right now.
This is something I had to do when buying my car. I don't NEED a car right now, But I figured right now would be the best time for me to learn. So later in life, if I'm on vacation or I'm traveling, and I need to rent a car, I will already know how to drive.
Also, an example is my Steemit account. Sometimes it's tempting seeing my "estimated value." That's a lot of money. But I know Steem will be worth a lot more in the future. So I'm thinking of my long-term goals when I choose to stay invested.

If the price of Steem were to go to 10.00 per Steem, My account would be worth about 580,000 Which is a big difference between the 60,000 my account is currently worth.

When we keep the result in mind, Sometimes we see better opportunities to gradually get us to our end goal. Sometimes those opportunities aren't in front of our faces, So we have to dig deep to see them.
This prevents us from wasting time pursuing things that don't matter. Which is a common theme throughout many lives.
usa-2655486_960_720.jpg

Conclusion

Time is our most precious resource, yet we are more than happy to throw it away and waste it. When you focus on your end goals, and what you truly want out of life, you waste less time because you tend to go in the correct direction rather than in the opposite direction then you want to go.

()U5dsPutnTkgsKTGGvXZgkVLbedrFVim_1680x8400.pngU5du6Tg4LRagCMftytdJokqaJrouYou_1680x8400 (1).pngU5dszFNSZhy2tgQ1W7xAikndfzLTAFv_1680x8400.pngU5dsNpZzTkSdUzcjVGTR3RdFY1SBMmJ_1680x8400.png
Laura lemonss hehehe.png

Sort:  

OMG XD You got me there! Hahhaa.

Thinking about the long-term is very important as is working towards it. Mindless time wasting while sometimes unavoidable does leave you feeling empty for the day, knowing nothing was accomplished.

A prime example for me is when I could study extra, but I sometimes play a game to waste a bit of time and accomplish nothing and I always feel worse, but it just happens, it is how I am.

Don't you over-clean though, or you make make your house disappear hehe 😎

So true!! I agree that sometimes you have to waste time mindlessly. But definitely do it within reason :)

Aww! I'm the same way with that with working :) I think it's perfectly fine as long as its a reasonable amount.
LOL Over clean! I may have to take that advice ;) I get a little extreme sometimes.

Within reason few hours pass gaming uhhhh, oops! Hahaha.

It is definitely fine if you still put in the hard work for what you do hehe.
Good girl, I can't have you scrubbing the house out of existence nor the laptop/PC. Would miss you and your amazing content too much! 😉

I think maybe all time is wasted time...

or maybe all time is time well spent.

I suppose it depends on perspective. Great post, thanks for the reminder. I'm a time-waster.

Wow nice one! I can't disagree with that! hahaha

The one that gets me is those who say i never have time for that ... when we all have all the time there is. Unfortunately, i say it too.

@kaylinart I did not waste my time at all by writing this comment. I know that STEEM will be more valuable in the Future so I UP Voted my Friend because I want her to succeed and have Currency to help her with her Goals.......I Love kaylinart she has always been so kind to me in Return.......

I was gonna say great job, which it is, but danm that cricket is sweet. I know I am moving slowly on steemit but I am enjoying every minute. Good to know people feel the same as me and keep on reaching. Love the effort.

Aww I'm glad heheh :) keep on going hehe :)

I like the bangs in the pic and thanks for the support have a good one.

very true. lost time does not recover
thanks for sharing
I invite you to follow me and see my publications,
good vibes and blessings

Thank you :)

True. what i find also to be true, is that time is made of moments, and moments are very shy evasive little creatures.

Thank you! It's true ;)

I often feel like the dumpster of wasted time when attempting creativity. Only to find my best ideas coming during the times that often leave me feeling as though I've wasted it (time).

This is a very nice post I love it I upvoted you thanks for telling me more things I did not know. I followed you also.

Congratulations @kaylinart, this post is the ninth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superhero or Legend account holder (accounts hold greater than 100 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superhero and Legend account holders during this period was 26 and the total pending payments to posts in these categories was $864.51. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05