You Are Sabotaging Your Life!

in #life6 years ago

shutterstock_584572384.jpg

Even though many of us have been through so much in life, We often forget basic things. That really dictate our life, And they are often out of our control.

Stop Thinking You Can Control Everything

Sometimes we forget, In our lives everything seems to be within our control. So when something bad happens, Our instinct is to do something to fix the issue. While This proactive thinking is incredibily helpful. At times it just hurts us. Allowing ourselves to feel somewhat “powerless” to the situation can often help us get through it. When Laura passed away, I was sad, Angry, And I was dealing with a lot of mixed emotions. I kept thinking “ What can I do about this?” . My proactive brain wanted to do something to “fix the problem.” But in this scenario, There was nothing that I could “Fix”.
So instead by allowing myself to fully feel powerless it allowed me to focus on my own healing. Sometimes we freak out, And panic over things that we cannot change or impact. Like I've been dealing with this after submitting an application for a temporary job for the wintertime. I'm stressed and worried I won't get a call back, But ultimately it's out of my control now. By thinking I can control the situation will cause me extra stress for nothing. Either they will call, Or they won't. Simple as that.

This can be bad in some situations. If you always act as though you have “no Impact” You are less likely to take responsibilities for your mistakes. You'll always find someone to blame. And with that you won't grow or change. So you definitely need to gauge when it's appropriate to have this mindset.
background-2887350_960_720.jpg

“Waiting” For The Payoff

What payoff? What do you think you are entitled to?
This is something I've struggled with so much. You do all this work, All this effort. And sometimes that prize or goal you want doesn't happen. We then Feel like the machine ate our dollar. We didn't get that soda or snack we wanted. So it makes us want to punch and hit the machine, Until it gives that money (Effort) Or the prize (Snack Or Soda). In the end, We sometimes feel we need to accept our losses and walk away empty handed.
We really aren't “entitled” to anything. As much as we feel we are. Sometimes when we sit there feeling incredibly ripped off. We realize that our heart wasn't as into what we thought it was. You were just doing the motions for the prize. Like Gary Vee Sometimes says, We need to love the process. Love the whole game. That way you never really lose. Sure, You may miss out on that “Prize”. That may consist of a promotion, Opportunty, Or other gain. But ultimately, Who loses? Not you.
I realized how important this was when I started my business. There are new goals I chase each day, But I love running my business. I love growing this tiny seed into a larger plant. It's getting bigger, Better and stronger as I lay the foundation. Sometimes I see opportunties and for whatever reason I get rejected, Or I'm not able to have what I want at that time. Even though I worked hard, And prepared for it. I end up walking away without what I wanted.
But being in love with what I do, Makes sure that I'm always winning. Sure I didn't get it, But I still get to spend everyday doing what I want to do.
Most of the time, Waiting on the payoff is a bad idea. If you don't love a bulk of what you are doing, Just find something else to pursue.
denmark-2334304_960_720.jpg

Things Should Be Fair

Again, This is a hard one. Everyone hears the “life isn't Fair”. But many of us don't believe it. Because we still get upset when we feel that life didn't give us what we felt we deserved.
We have these beliefs that good should be rewarded, And the bad punished. Yet sometimes we see bad people rewarded, And good people punished. Some people have huge advantages while others don't. And it's not necessarily based on anything except for factors out of that persons control. We sabotage our life by letting these things “control” our mind and our time. Then we waste time feeling sorry for ourselves when things don't pan out the way we wanted them to. When the reality is we could be focusing on improving the situations for ourselves.
I hate it when people whine and complain “that's not fair!”. Because no one is going to “change” things so it's “fair” according to what you believe. So shut up, Deal with it. And figure out how to make things “fair” for you. Whether it's working harder or changing certain aspects of your life

Laura lemonss hehehe.png

Sort:  

@kaylinart I knew I was going to get a chance to be the FIRST commenter. I adore this Lady !

Say that again and again

i read some of your previous article.. you are giving ur valuable thinking about life.. anytime something really bad can happen in life.. only thinking is not the solution.. we need to accept our luck.. find the reason and work on it.. good work must be rewarded today or tomorrow!

"We really aren't “entitled” to anything. "

You can only control the efforts you make towards achieving any goals, the results may not follow. Many times the results are different then expected and may be better or worse. Either way if you made a solid effort and didn't get what you wanted move on, learn from why it didn't have the outcome you expected and try again with a different approach.

Love reading your posts!

Loading...

Very good post. Yes ... sometimes things aren't fair; you don't always get what you think you deserve ... so it is better to make sure you are doing something you enjoy - that way the "Doing" is the joy. Up-Voted and Resteemed.

"Sabotage" here often refers to the frustrating holding patterns that form in our lives. Therefore the question is really how to break out of the forces of bad habit that causes various unhappiness, ie. try something different.

Loading...

You Are Sabotaging Your Life!

And enjoying it, because there are too many “institutions” which are trying to form your life for you @kaylinart :)

This is part of always being positive and moving forward, improving your life how you can and knowing that things happen as they are meant to but while wishing you can do something about a bad situation, you can do more by adapting and working with, through or around the issue.

i think trying to control everything is a big issue in most people lives , we are taught that nothing should get yu by surprise and you should be prepared for anything, by this we grow up trying to fix anything and everything and when we fail it hits us hard.
we should remember that life is never fair once we put that in our heads things become easier to tolerate

Hey Kaylin you have your head and heart in the right place! Understanding stuff like this is key to success, thanks for sharing. Have you ever looked into Stoic philosophy?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82