My Thoughts on TOOL's New Album: Fear Inoculum

in #life5 years ago

Tool-Fear-Inoculum-Facebook.jpg

Source

Since high school, Tool has been more favourite band of all time. I would pretty much only listen to Tool, Radiohead and Protest the Hero. I can play most Tool songs on guitar! Maynard James Keenan was kind of an idol for me. He's pretty deep spiritually so I learned a lot about him and life by watching his interviews and what not.

I can't believe how much time has passed since their last album: 10,000 Days. 14 years ago, I was in high school when their last album was out. The joke that developed within the fanbase is that 10,000 days represents how long it will take to release their next album lol.

Fortunately, we didn't have the wait that long and I am a little bit late to the party because I realized they released this new album near the end of September when it was in fact released on August 30th.

  1. "Fear Inoculum" 10:20
  2. "Pneuma" 11:53
  3. "Litanie contre la peur" (instrumental; French for "Litany Against Fear") 2:14
  4. "Invincible" 12:44
  5. "Legion Inoculant" (instrumental) 3:09
  6. "Descending" 13:37
  7. "Culling Voices" 10:05
  8. "Chocolate Chip Trip" (instrumental) 4:48
  9. "7empest" 15:43
  10. "Mockingbeat" (instrumental) 2:05

I'm not gonna lie. Every full length song is absolute fire. Tool is also known for throwing in a couple instrumental songs that are about 2~3 minutes long. Their usual songs are almost always over 10 minutes long and they are the only band that can capture my attention for that long.

This album definitely sounded like Tool for sure. I'd kill to have a voice like Maynard James Keenan. I'd say the reason why they can keep my attention for so long is because their songs are really versatile. Danney Carey is a drum God and his polyrhythms make for really interesting sounds. Their songs don't just sound like Verse>Hook>Verse>Hook>Verse>Hook type of situation. As the song progresses, it always changes in some way and keeps people engaged.

This album topped the billboard charts and knocked Taylor Swift out of the #1 spot! Yes!

The overwhelming majority of Tool fans think this album exceeded expectations. My favourite songs on the album are probably Invincible and Pneuma but I can just listen to the whole album (sans instrumentals) easily. You can listen to the whole album on YouTube for free here:

There isn't much else to say people. This album kicks ass.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16