A Happy Steemit 1st-Post Anniversary To Me!

in #life5 years ago (edited)

A Toast to You On My First Year Here


Image by 3D Animation Production Company from Pixabay

Work has such a nasty habit of getting in the way of life, that time often flies by without our ever noticing what we've missed, as we soldier on in our jobs and the daily tasks we're given. That said, this is supposed to be the second post of this nature, and I'm glad I was reminded about it by Facebook Memories about some Steemit-related statuses I posted, and the introductory selfie for my first blog post.

As you can see in the screenshot. Firefox kept giving me hell that night. I don't recall how I was able to post it, but I think I uninstalled Firefox, and installed a 64-bit version of it. Thank God for the eSteem Surfer app. I don't need to use a browser anymore for composing my blog.

Yes, I have two first anniversaries, or birthdays, for my Steemit existence. The first was on Jan. 20, which is the date of my account approval. The second is today, April 11, the anniversary of my first post. And it looks I couldn't have picked a better picture to decorate this post with, the two glasses of wine and two candles signifying each date.


Who Really Brought Me Here?

With a celebratory post like this about my first year as a blogger, I felt this little bit of information should be included. One thing that always crossed my mind a while back is who really got me to sign up here. If you've read my intro post, I mentioned there that it was my fellow artist, Jacinta, who encouraged me to come aboard.

But, another fellow artist/FB friend disputes it and claims that it was another fellow 3D artist and estranged friend of ours who actually suggested I sign up here. That was back in 2016, and I cannot find anything on my Facebook wall to prove my friend's claim.

That estranged friend unfriended us over some petty squabbling about work procedures and production pipelines back in 2017, and ended up getting hired in a big AAA game development studio last year.

And since I can't find him here, I'll just have to go with my original belief that it was Jacinta who brought me here. Seeing how successful she was back then was what convinced me to join. Don't worry, Jassy, you're still my Steemit godmother.

One thing's for sure. Had I gotten aboard in 2016, I'd probably be a dolphin or orca right now. I was on a hiatus from work at the time, and still had access to an old hard drive that had lots of great blogging material that I could have milked for all they were worth.


A Self-Assessment of My First Year

Looking back after my first year, all I can say is that although things didn't turn out the way I planned, I am happy with the little that I've accomplished here so far. I know that I've barely scratched the surface of my potential here, but I can only do what my time would permit. My job really takes a lot from me.

If you ask me what I've done here that I am most proud of, it is the fact that I got my first Curie with just my sixth post. And my second was for my seventeenth post. Not bad for someone who isn't a regular poster yet, and I know that I'll be getting more of them in the future.

An animator's most powerful skill is manipulating his audience, and getting them hooked. Those two decades working in the animation industry surely taught me a lot about how to take even just a simple creation, and turn it into a presentation looking like it's a million bucks.

Although it sounds like I, and others like me, have an unfair advantage over other content creators here, I am not here to compete with them, but only with myself. I know that as a content creator, it is my responsibility to create good content that brings value to the platform, than just money in my pockets.

That said, I've got several art blog posts in various stages of completion, and I can't wait to get them out.

Note: At the time of my first post, 1 SBD was worth 3 USD, if I remember correctly.


Here's To Another Year, And Let's Make Steemit Awesome Again!

So, that's it for now. I look forward to finishing my art blogs so I can post them right away. Plus, I'll be posting too about my other interests, particularly about my environmental concerns.

I really love being here and sharing whatever I can, and I can assure you that I will continue posting for as long as this place hasn't gone under. Good times or bad, I'll still be here.

And to all the other Steemians who are also celebrating their first anniversaries right now, I wish you well too. Thank you for reading. And May God Bless us all!


This blog was created with eSteem Surfer and GIMP


Sort:  

Happy First Steemiversary! Hope you will have another smashing year of awesomeness on Steemit ahead !!! :D :D :D

THank you, and yes, let's make Steemit great again! :D

Congratulations, the best is still to come here on our blockchain. Cheers for your 1st year!

Happy steemiversary!

Manipulating audiences is something writers also do a lot ;D

Thanks, bro.

And yes, writers are the best! They're experts at making you visualize their thoughts, like watching a movie in your mind.

That's why I stay away from my books and bookstores when I'm very busy with work.

And, coincidentally, one of my next blogs is about my library, and my favorite genre in my collection.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13