Summer is leaving us, let us not stop having fun and traveling! California here we come!

in #life5 years ago


Image Source

It's been two months too long!

Summer, travel, weather

Will August always be a reminder of going back to school and the end of summer? Even after graduating, even with no change in my work schedule, the end of summer feels like the end of summer fun. If you were wanting to visit the sunshine state, you would have found just rain and heat. Also, humidity lots of that this summer. The end to this summer heat would be welcomed. School zones are soon to be back which means more traffic in school zones.

Friends have returned from their travels, which means the fun is just getting started. As they start to unpack, I'm opening up my carry on. As the regulars return to our weekly pick up game, it's my turn to clock in some absence. I'm heading to California!

I'll be training, playing, and attending and possibly playing in a volleyball tournament. Believe it or not, I am just as excited about this trip as I was last year to go to Europe. It seems August has become my time to travel. Last year to Europe and some local trips. This year less in-state travel, no international adventure, but a couple of in-country travel. In a few weeks, I'll be heading west for a long-awaited trip. Summer may be ending, but not the travels that just getting started. Hopefully, all that's ending is the nasty weather.

Work has had its moments. My favorite coworker has moved on and left me behind. Without her, it's a bit lonely in the office. Saying goodbye while wishing the best has become easier over the years. The interns left too and as I tell them, it is never as hard as the first goodbye. My favorite coworker joined the buddy program with me before leaving and left the day before our final event called the day of service. We volunteered at a foster house and painted one of the homes. It was a ton of fun and not the highest quality of paint jobs. So much love went into it, so much effort too, and yet so many missed spots.

I didn't manage to get the picture of my reaction but rest assured I dodged the paint drip from that paintbrush.

Afterward, we went for a well-deserved lunch and ended the day at a local food pantry. I love hanging out with the interns and the day of service is where they truly shine. One can only imagine the silliness. I love it. They too are gone now and the new ones start late September.

The first place we volunteered at really struck a chord with me. I will be volunteering there more soon. I didn't realize Florida had such a comprehensive foster care program for our area. Moreso, I didn't realize how close to my job it was either. Do you volunteer anywhere regularly?

Let us not forget the long-awaited baby shower.

Baby due date is.. I forgot when exactly, but I am hoping it comes a week sooner.

The parents have decided to avoid the hospital and give birth at a birthing center. This one, in particular, doesn't vaccinate, so no one will be allowed to visit until that's taken care of. Typically three days after birth. Works for me, if when the baby arrives the week I'll be traveling, by the time I return from my trip all that will be taken care of and I will get a TON of time with her.

The baby shower wasn't your typical party. As you can see below, we were all seriously considering the various games/challenges. The one pictured below was called guess the arrival date. Only 4% of babies arrive on their actual due date. With that, the calendar had the predicted due date and we were to write our names on the day we think the baby will come. Lots of math was surprisingly involved and someone even checked when there would be a full moon. To be on the safe side I picked three dates and a week. The other two games were on the table. We had to guess the size of the belly with a string. Her sister in law won that one. I was overly confidante and as it turns out she is surprisingly smaller than most thought. As confidante as I was with that game and lost I better be right about the due date or at the least the arrival week guesstimation.

Only time will tell.

I wrote this draft a week ago and the baby decided it was time to arrive hours later. By the time this is posted she will be almost a week old. You can probably imagine a very excited aunty Kubby. She was 36 weeks and four days which is considered early, but only by two days. Had she waited just 48 hours longer she would have been full term. Who would have thought it?

Off to enjoy more cuddles!


Small steps away from summer. Giant leaps towards vacation season continuing!

Thanks for reading, upvoting, and commenting!

Love always,



Sort:  

It seems that you had a lot of plans and other things that you had done including volunteering. We have none of these here and I could not volunteer anyways. @kubbyelizabeth
Best regards to the baby, they just grows so fast, my baby niece is now a teenager, it makes me look old lol
Rainy season here in my country, the Monsoon rains had come.

Already a teenager!! Wow, the baby is a week old and I think it went by too fast

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

You have been curated by @mosunomotunde on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Congratulations @kubbyelizabeth! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 9000 comments. Your next target is to reach 9500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Nice to see you are having some fun. I Just got back from a long trip myself. Almost took no photo! Once I got there I didn’t see a need to take any.

Good luck in your tournament!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44