Childhood’s End

in #life6 years ago

This is something I’ve always wanted to write on this blog, but it somehow seemed silly - who’d want to read about our bear collection? Well, technically my son’s collection, but over time every one in the family contributed to it, so…
I decided to finally do this post and let you meet the teddies, because, sadly, they’re running out of time and steps have been taken to put them where they belong in the past on the shelves.

IMAG0575.jpg
Posing for a family photo!

It’s been months I’ve been telling my boy something needs to be done as there’s no way he can sleep with so many toys in his bed… because they all slept there, except for a few very large ones! Every time I got the same indignant answer - ‘Don’t you dare touch them’. Yet, I could always hear that small undertone of the child who knows he’s no longer small and doesn’t need plushies anymore. Like he knew it was time to let go, but couldn’t face the prospect of taking such a step. Something we’re all familiar with, if you come to think of it - I guess most of us have, at some point, been in a relationship that was dead, but couldn’t face the idea of breaking it completely.

IMAG0574.jpg
We want to be on the blockchain!

Well, I finally snapped - something I’m very good at. The other night I decided I just couldn’t face it anymore because changing the sheets meant moving all the bears out and carefully rearranging them. Dozens of teddies which needed to sit with their siblings, making sure the smallest get a safe place so they don’t end up under the bed… an exhausting task. Somebody had to make an executive decision and relocate some if the bears, but I obviously didn’t have the heart to just throw them in a bag. So I cleared a couple of shelves for them (books don’t have feelings like toys do) and a good number of teddies moved out. Not quite out, they’re still in the bedroom technically, but we all know the next step is a box, stored out of sight and out of mind.

IMAG3314.jpg
New living quarters

I’m happy to say my son was impressed with the new living arrangements and I got congratulated on the good job I’ve done - which means I made the right choice. He was ready to be rid of his plush friends only didn’t have the courage to do it himself. For a parent, that’s in the job description - knowing when you’re child is ready to move forward with their life and the only thing that’s missing is a little nudge. Or simply the parent just being there to say ‘I’m sure you’ll be fine’.
If there’s one thing I hate it’s parents treating older children as if they were still small. I don’t know why this happens, maybe it’s just the illusion you’re still young if the children are young, maybe is the fear of losing control, because when you admit the children have grown you have to acknowledge their right to make decisions for themselves or maybe it’s the fear you won’t be needed anymore, not as you were needed before anyway.
I must say I’m not particularly happy to be the villain who banished dozens of innocent teddies into oblivion. I’m not happy there won’t be other teddies to buy - although I cannot commit to that. Not yet, at least.
Life was easy when all that was needed for the child to be happy was a sweet little teddy and I was there to provide that fleeting moment of joy. He’s headed into uncharted territories when he’ll want for other things to make him happy, things it’s not my job to provide. And that scares me!
For the time being, some teddies were granted a stay of execution, they’re still allowed in bed. Until next year, at least. (There’s still time, he’s not so grown up, yet!)
Whatever happens the favorite teddy-bear, the only one my son actually cares for will be safe no matter what. It’s the little guy in the black Jack Daniels’ T-shirt, in case you’re wondering! Even if the boy outgrows him, I’ll be there to take care of him. I’ve spent ten years taking care of him and making sure he’s safe - parks, malls, airports, he’s always been my number one priority, it almost feels like he’s my third child! One day maybe I’ll write his story, too. Not now though as he’s been informed I’m posting about the teddies and he wasn’t happy to be in it. Said he values his privacy. Smart bear!

IMAG0879.jpg
One of the last times we bought a teddy!

Thanks for reading

rebeccanew.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34