Surviving the blue screen!

in #life5 years ago

Most of us are aware of the dangers of too much technology in our lives and our becoming dependent on our little gadgets. Many say we are spending too much time online and too little in the real world. Well, I think this only applies when all is well and we have that technology at the tip of our fingers. When something is not working it’s a totally different ball game.
Can you really enjoy a night out when the damn phone in your pocket is not working and it might be broken? Can you relax and watch a movie when your Internet connection is down and God knows when or how you can fix it?
I ran into this problem this morning when I said I’ll just log in for a couple of minutes to sell some drugs and then go about my schedule. But then how can you even think of getting lunch ready when you get the blue screen? Not quite the terrible blue screen of death, but still an error that sent my laptop into repeated restarts. The problem first manifested itself last night and sort of ruined the experience of watching a movie and it took a lot of voodoo to get to the end. I chose to believe it’s something to do with the torrent, happened before, but no, it was more than that.


Obviously I went into panic mode, searching for solutions on the phone while the damn laptop kept going into the blue screen thingy. I have no technical knowledge, but some said you should update some drivers. I don’t really care what a driver is or does, but at least I can click update. Then I just sat there staring at the screen, watching the little circle that said ‘installing’ while the clock was ticking. You cannot expect someone to go about lunch under the circumstances, you have to be there and see if your gadget makes it.
It’s not the first time that some technical malfunction takes precedence over everything else. Christmas was mostly ruined as we spent all day trying to find a solution to make my son’s brand new game work on the bloody console. (One of those stupid Nintendo games that are area-coded and it only worked for the US). When the wi-fi box was acting up I used to spend hours unplugging it and resetting and stuff.
Don’t even ask about my boy’s computer having trouble connecting to the Internet. You just have to drop everything and see to it, in my case feeling like an idiot in the process, because really what sort of parent cannot fix a simple problem?
I think our online personas and lives have become so important having any sort of technological problem is worse than being ill. A terrible headache or the flu, terribly inconvenient but you can still go about your business. Take an aspirin and you’ll be fine. But the computer or the phone, you simply have to fix them. Now. The rest of the world can go to Hell in the meantime!
Oh, I somehow managed to get lunch ready almost in time… and so far the computer seems to be working! Fingers crossed!
If you did read this than your little gadgets must be working properly!

Sort:  

I know what you mean. The only solution I know to any technical problem is to turn the gadget off and on again! Whatever did we do to while away the hours before we had the internet?

I have trouble remembering life before the internet, but I don't recall boredom being a problem...

Uhg, have had similar situations and amazing how the mind races around with all kinds of crazy thoughts as the demon Legion runs amok there. Reading the message on the blue screen about collecting information I wonder for whom and what will they be doing with it, lol.

Many say we are spending too much time online and too little in the real world.

I feel that too. I hope one day to be secure enough to have some little land away from the grind where I can grow things and severely limit most technology from being an every day occurrence. No smart (spy) tech, maybe internet that is hard wired, not wifi and only in one room. Cell phones locked away unless used for password double verification. Just living mostly with nature and the types of comforts found mostly in the 70's or earlier.

Glad the computer is back up, but now you got me wondering what happened and how soon it may happen again or worse. Ever the optimist I am, lol.

Ok, I had to look. Might be an out of date driver or something is out of date.

https://windowsreport.com/video-dxgkrnl-fatal-error-windows-10/

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/insider/forum/all/video-dxgkrnl-fatal-error/4ff850c7-81fb-4791-9d6e-d7b052600ab4

Makes me wonder if you recently had an update to your OS.

Thanks for the advice, it seems to be stable for now. I didn't do any updates. What I should do is buy a new laptop, but that's gonna have to wait.

Ugh. You couldn't pay me to "upgrade" to Windows 10. Isn't that little emoticon frowny face the most condescending thing ever?

I did give it a try. It was pre-loaded on an old Thinkpad I bought on eBay. But it was constantly downloading and installing updates in the background. I'd be sitting there quietly composing my thoughts and then the fans would start spinning and the laptop would get hot enough to sterilize a bull.

Combine that with the fact that the Windows 10 licence actually gives Microsoft permission to record your voice, analyze your handwriting (if you're using a tablet), and provide Microsoft with a log of all of your keystrokes, and I've decided I just can't consent to using it any more.

I installed Linux and now I feel like I actually have some control over my computer. Plus, the battery lasts twice as long.

I keep Windows 8 installed on one machine because I just can't break up with Photoshop yet, and I can't get my flatbed scanner to work with Linux. But I actually feel guilty every time I fire it up. Is that crazy?

I'm still using Windows 8. I disabled all updates back when they were sneaking Windows 10 on everybody so I guess that's why that driver wasn't working properly anymore.
I got Endless on an old laptop but I have yet to test it...

Hahaha nice piece of blog. So recognizable for everyone :) can’t imagine what folks at home would do if we temporarily dont have internet. Panic! 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @ladyrebecca! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 comments. Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

I'm sorry for robing from you in DWars..it was supposed to be a friendly attack, just to trigger the 12 hours Shield,so others won't take from you...

Posted using Partiko Android

Don't worry! Didn't help much for some reason, I still got hit by others😭

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22