Today I put on my swimming shorts and played in Shit Water #EndofSummmer

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Many of us have been there. You are in your home and you hear the sound of gushing water. It's one of those "Fuck This Is My Life" moments.

There I was in my tool room/office and I hear what sounds like running water. I walk inside...I hear nothing. I walk outside and I hear the sound of rushing water again. I get on my knees and put my ear to the floor. It's super loud now. Yep, a pipe has broken.

I walk down the steps to access the door to the crawlspace and I step onto wet, mushy ground.

So, now I am freaking out about the water bill. "This is a huge leak" I am thinking, because the ground wasn't just wet. It was two inches of water easily. I grab my drill to access the water shut off and off goes the water.


I was wearing shorts and decided..."Screw It"... I'm going swimming under the house. I open up the crawl space door and it's nothing but clay MUD.

When I get underneath I immediately see the problem. It's not a water pipe but a sewer pipe to the septic tank. I wasn't crawling in fresh water...it was shit water.


The strap holding the main sewer pipe broke and when the sewer pipe broke it was at a a T where the washer drainage pipe connects into it. BUT...there was a strap that did stay connected so the sewer pipe was at a decline going into an incline with a hole in it where the drainage pipe hooked up. So, there was massive amounts of water that had been coming out of the pipe from the washer and the toilet.

I didn't have any metal hanging strap and gathered some block to prop the main sewer pipe back into place against the washer drain pipe. I then made a phone call to get the replacement plumbing parts I needed. Unfortunately, I have to wait for the parts until tomorrow and the pipe is at this position for now.
.

Tonight, we will be using the bathroom and shower that is located further down the break. Tomorrow I will get the T, a small piece of pipe, 3 couplings, some metal strap and play in the shit again!

Hopefully, it will be a lot dryer!

I am thankful it wasn't a fresh water pipe that broke.

But I definitely wasn't expecting to swim in shit today!

image.png

pictures by @lexikon082

Sort:  

Man, that sucks! I've done some nasty, stinking, gross work, but I couldn't do that.... I'd be puking all over the place. Lol. You, sir, have my respect.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am thankful the fresh water pipe didn't bust even thought the alternative is not ideal. Thanks for your thoughtful comment and here is an exclusive for you.
Now, I just have to figure out who is throwing TP down the toilet and taking years off of our septic tank!

Septic work is the prime reason I am not a plumber. I can do everything else with ease, but that sewer shit is just not in my wheelhouse. I mean I could, I just refuse to deal with other people's shit. If it happened to our house then I would just deal with it like you and get it done.

Adapt and overcome right?

Mike Rowe would be proud of ya! Props man props! ✌️

I remember going on patrols in Iraq walking through waist deep shit water from all the overflowed sewers. Just keep your mouth shut, right? =p

Respect: lol... I wouldn't have done it...so gross.... :)

WOOOW! At first i laughed, but maaan, i feel for ya!
You sure were 'tested' with that problem.....
Ive been 'In the shit' a few times, but not in the biblical sense lol.
Respect.

You've had a stressful couple of days @lexikon082 - hopefully that shit is now in order and you can focus on the other kind that doesn't stink as much. :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87