Which book do you think has biggest impact on your life?

in #life5 years ago (edited)

View this answer on Musing.io

@inuke Thanks for A2A (Musing.io should have A2A feature in their future updates).

There are many books which make an impact in our life but for shorter duration, the enthusiasm dies when we move on with our daily routine or with a new habit. There are certain authors who leave a lasting impact. I can reveal few books which I truly feel worthy spending time to read them and yes they definitely made an impact

Wings of Fire: I'm not a big fan of biographies but this book is something special to me. It is a book by APJ Abdul Kalam about his life(an autobiography). It depicts his early life which started in remote coastal town in Southern India and how he progressed through his career in teaching, space research, missiles, nuclear test, security advisor to the PM and eventually the president of India. 

This book mainly speaks about this early life, his learning, setback, his simple yet humble background etc. It doesn't speak much about his career as president(there is an another book for that) but it gives lot of insights into his life and motivation. 

Books by Edward de bono: It would be a crime to mention just one book by Edward de bono hence I just wrote in generic terms :) His books made a big impact on my life. It helped me to understand about how others will perceive us, how to think differently, how to organise our thoughts and actions.

Out of his many books I have read How to Have A Beautiful Mind, Lateral Thinking - An Introduction and Six Thinking Hats.  You can pick any of this latest books then you see some overlapping concepts on lateral thinking or six thinking hats. He has portrayed thinking habits beautifully and it is easy to understand. I'd recommend you to check How to Have A Beautiful Mind.

The next book which I wanted to read but don't find enough time is The Secret, I have even purchased it but it is just lying around. I heard that it is good and motivational but i'm yet to read it. I'd let you know how it was after completing it.



Sort:  

Maybe ir doesn't have a great impact in my life, but I have to say that The mame of the Rose by Umberto Eco definitively was something that made me think about at which point you can to to protect the established order and domination, specially when it comes to religion.

Greetings, @lifecruiser!

Glad to know, thanks for stopping by. Appreciate it!

Ram Charitra Manas.

Congratulations @lifecruiser! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89