Buying a plastic bag

in #life6 years ago

I know, everyone hates plastic bags. They are huge offenders of environmental pollution and give a crappy noise whenever you touch them or move them or hit them or...just do whatever to them. I am not a fan of plastic bags too, but sometimes you just have to use them. For example? You can't use cloth bags to wrap your rubbish bins, and yeah that's the only time I find myself really desperate for a plastic bag.

Today I went out to the nearby store to get myself some daily supplies (read: backup food) and to get myself another plastic bag. Yes, I ran out of plastic bags in my room to wrap my dustbin again. It's not really my fault, I only need to empty the bin once every week but it just happens to me that I only have 2 plastic bags in the room for most of the times, one in the bin, and another one is some cute bag I got when buying some Culture Japan stuff for my friend. I treat the latter as a reusable bag anyways, it's just too cute to be treated as a normal plastic bag that gets thrown after use. Hence, going out to get another plastic bag once per week is quite a habit to me. Walk 1.5 kilometers to the mini mart, buy something, and pay 20 cents extra for the plastic bag, repeat the same thing the next week.

image.png

Source

Well, I have to agree that 20 cents for one plastic bag feels a little expensive, but that's what you get for using something that is not very environmental friendly.

So as I mentioned, today I went out to buy something and is expecting a new plastic bag again. Took a new pack of biscuits, a new bottle of face washing soap, and another pack of body soap refill, and two snack bars to be placed in my bag just in case I get hungry at any time. It's horrible to stay hungry for too long, gastric can be dangerous. You don't know how it feels? Then good, don't try. You won't like it.

At the cashier, I mentioned that I need a plastic bag - but I guess I said it too quickly or she is just not paying too much attention to me - she didn't gave me a bag. I was looking at somewhere else so I didn't noticed it, and when I realized it she already handed me the receipt.

It would be funny to ask for another receipt for the plastic bag.

So I actually hand-carried the stuff all the way back to my dorm. It's really a 1.5 kilometer walk and to be honest it doesn't really feel too good. My hands are actually pretty numb after reaching my dorm and I guess I know why everyone bring bags to shops now. And, I didn't get my plastic bag. That's really unexpected.

But hey, think of it this way.

Plastic bags that cannot be decomposed (aka traditional plastic bags) are just plain tough. They don't break easily and don't even leave stains after going in contact with dirty stuff if you clean it up after it.

The plastic bag in my dustbin is only used to contain dry trash. It is perfectly okay for me to reuse it.

I guess after I empty the bin (about two days later I guess), I will rinse the plastic bag with some water and probably soap, then dry it up, and reuse it again. No one had the time and strength to walk out to buy a new plastic bag, and there are literally no benefits for throwing a plastic bag, too.

After all, why would I need to buy a plastic bag anyway?

Time to tweak habits again :>

See you next time~
--Lilacse

Sort:  

Speaking of plastic bags, I remembered that KL areas nowadays rebooted the free plastic bag thingy. Again.

So there's one day I went to a random Speedmart at KL to get some bread (yes I'm hungry that time), the shop employee gives me a plastic bag without me mentioning about it. At first I thought: Gonna being charged again :pain:. The fun part comes where I did a quick sweep across the employee's computer screen and there's no signs of Plastic Bag in the list. Wew. Note: Same happens to the customers in front of me nom.

After leaving the store, I noticed that the plastic bags are not really plastic bags - Looked like it but have a different texture compared to a normal plastic bag. A biodegradable plastic bag, in exact.

Some news about it here. DBKL will fine premises that charge biodegradable plastic bags.

Yes, this bag is REALLY free.

Your school area still doesn't have it?? Perhaps in the not-really-far future will perhaps.

:intense_thinking:

I guess it will be here within the next month or something. It's also a Speedmart but I guess my location is just a little too isolated for the changes to apply in time lul.

Biodegradable plastic bags sound like a good idea, so that I won't throw away something that is non-biodegradable every two weeks or something. But they are a little fragile compared to the original badass plastic bags, it's okay, it's not like I can destroy them by using Milo packets...lmao.

I actually hand-carried the stuff all the way back to my dorm.

this is a very informative article.

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70625.87
ETH 3563.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71