Cumulative changes

in #life6 years ago

It has been 147 days sine I joined Steemit...and starting from a certain day count I start to post daily. I actually lost track of my posting streak count because to be honest, I never started counting. But in every post I tend to write a lot, not really a book's length, but the shortest post I have made is like...300 words? Some of them go over a thousand, and most of them linger around 600 to 800. I'm not sure about that too, since I also never took track of my statistics, but what I am sure is, I have been writing something like this every day for at least a few months. Sometimes I am a little surprised that I can find so many things to write about every day...yea I still have a few more backup ideas I can make use of whenever my brain refuses to work. Don't worry about me stop writing :) I like to write.

Source

During my secondary school days, the teachers were used to give a good amount of writing practice every single week. Not only school teachers, the tuition teachers do the same, too. Sometimes they might even go "okay so here's the title, write an argumentative essay with it and submit it before we dismiss" and we have like 1 hour to write the thing out. Shocks like these aren't too good, but we know why - they are just trying to let us get used to writing so that we won't go panic in the exam halls. When you are used to something, they feel so natural that you can do them without paying much attention - I know a few friends that do things like that. You practically throw them a title and ask them to write something out of it, and after an hour you will see them pooping out a touching story out of a totally serious title wondering how the hell they do it. The same goes for maths. I have a friend that goes "yea for this you just have to put the conjugate, somehow cancel out these two ugly square roots, then cancel out the Xs, then you can get your answer" without spending more than 3 seconds on the question. Sometimes I just wonder why we live on the same planet because their brain structure seems to be more advanced or something lol.

So, recently, as I wrote in my last post, I am doing an assignment right now. A group assignment. We actually split out our stuff into so many parts that each of us will only be handling around 200 to 300 words, and I just crunched it down in two hours. Well, not really two hours, that's for the ugly first draft. But after a night of sleep and around 15 minutes I got it nicely done with all the points and references in the required format. Hence, I actually got the privilege to walk around during group discussions helping others to dig out required references, fixing grammar errors, organizing points, and of course, do the most troublesome job, the good ol' paraphrasing that is required to prevent plagiarism.

Source

I am practically the paraphrasing engine of the group, rewriting their paragraphs into mine whenever required, and organizing all the scattered points they found and wrote in a text file into readable paragraphs. Some of them are actually surprised by the fact that I organize paragraphs that fast and do not need any translations into my native language (Chinese, English is my second language). I just told them that I write a lot, and they all know how much time I spend on Discord. But to think of it, I don't really need to write paragraphs on Discord. Most of the stuff I write since I got into university are at...here. Yea.

To be honest, I never thought that I actually became better in writing. All I do is just sit in front of my computer for a period of time every day and type something out to be posted, rinse and repeat for a hundred days or something. It was until they mentioned it I feel that "well probably they are right, it took me about 30 minute to paraphrase a paragraph last year". Now I paraphrase things almost immediately, and I almost never noticed this difference in me, because we only do it when we have assignments.

People always say that practice makes perfect, now I guess I can confirm that it is true.

To be exact, you don't even need to purposely practice something - make it as something that you do daily or frequently and you automatically get better at it. Well, it applied to writing, maths, osu!, some other games that I play, programming, procrastinating, etc. So it should work on everything I guess?

Note: Please don't try to get good at procrastinating. It's hard to get rid of it :P

Now, I should try to put drawing into something I do from time to time too, eh? Probably it will make me slightly better in it...not sure but whatever, will do it if I have time. Now my timetable is practically full lmao.

Alright, probably will just end it here, see you next time.

--Lilacse

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98