Crucial Lessons for HorderssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago

Mothers... They always think for the family

They will tend to overthink and plan too much ahead for the kids to the point that they will end up penny wise pound foolish.

This is no exception for my mom.

And we paid a heavy price for that.


At the end of January I decided to fetch my parents to stay with me earlier so that they do not need to travel down south by their own to celebrate Chinese New Year with us.

I overlooked to tell my parents that I have already have some essential food well stacked aside so that they can travel light with my tiny (but tough) little car.

Not realising that the recent change of weather and something is definitely not right with the earth line of my ancestors house my mom left a whole freezer of frozen meat and well stocked eggs in the fridge simply because she got them cheaper before the influx of price hike during festive season.

As prepped as any mother, with her disability of one eye she still managed to make some home made minced meat for me to have just enough to bring over to my place, and left the frozen fish behind.

To our horror when we arrived home 12 days later in my hometown after the CNY celebration, we found the house had no electricity.

We asked our neighbouring relatives and realised that there were a few thunderstorm happened during my parents' absence and one of the days could have caused the house to trip and lost power.

It took us hours to clean out the soggy rotten meat from the freezer and cleared out the fridge and have it cleaned, and to my horror my mom does horde up quite a lot of things.

We had to throw away many things.

But to our relief the eggs no doubt were incubated in the fridge with no electricity, they were still OK.

So far we ate about 10 eggs now and none of them were rotten.

Praise the LORD for that!

So lesson learned.

  1. Never think too far ahead when you are planning to travel.

  2. Always store out things that can eventually last with or without electricity. Eggs are one of them that could miraculously survive but still don't over bet on that.

  3. It is OK not to buy things when it is cheap, but be selective. Any dead meat will eventually rot first than anything else.

  4. Always keep some charcoal / similar material for deodorants if you happen to have a melt down fridge situation they do come in handy.

That's my little new things learned for the day!

I hope you will find this as useful as I have experienced!

Until Then

Horde Wisely!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Oh my goodness!! What a horrible mess for you and your parents. I can't imagine what it was like coming home to this mess. Your mom was just trying to be wise with her money by stocking up when the prices were good. Bless you for being there and helping them. They'll need a battery backup for times like this when their power fails while they are away.

I think the best solution when they are away for long days is to keep their fridge cleaned out from fresh meat.
That is the cheapest way to resolve right now. Haha.

Yeah, my mom almost fainted with the smell.

I left her home to send my dad to the hospital to get medicine right after we arrived so she had to tackle the first few hours of horror.

I helped as much as I could packing up and cleaning the fridge.

She was furious, probably at herself too for hording, but it was nonetheless a good lesson to learn.

Thank you so much for stopping by!

Posted using Partiko Android

yikes!!!
But lesson learnt through you :)
Trust you had a fabulous time with the family apart from this little inconvenience <33

Yeah... A great lesson to learn indeed.

Well, my hometown was at 37°C at the time... So it was quite a challenge (with family company) haha.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahhhh... I've made the mistake of buying heaps of stuff when it was cheap... only to not be able to eat it all before it went off... I've learnt my lesson there (a few times...). I had no idea charcoal was a good de-odourant for the fridges! I will have to look into that!

Haha. Yes we all tend to fall into the Sales trap.

I have now learned to take a prepaid card and limited cash when that happens, or give myself at least 10 seconds to ask myself do I need it or do I want it before placing into the cart.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 396 (02/10/19)

Congratulations @littlenewthings! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 9000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00