Do You Ever Feel Sad?

in #life6 years ago

Sometimes I am happy, sometimes I am not.

530287619.jpg

The majority of the time I feel like I am trying to avoid sadness (or other negative emotions for that matter). I know for a while one of my main goals in life is to be happy, and I thought that by avoiding negative emotions I would be better able to achieve my goal, but now I am thinking that I may have been wrong.

What if I got hurt? What if I lost something? What if I went through a painful experience. Don't those justify feeling sadness and pain? I think my desire to avoid these "down" periods has dampened my ability to feel happiness and joy. Through self investigation I discovered that I had repressed some feelings that I think I really needed to experience.

Now I am trying to allow myself to feel however I may feel without judgment. Obviously I don't want to be sad and depressed all of the time but most importantly I don't want to try and control my feelings. I think that in the long run this will be more productive for my health and well being and will probably lead to increased happiness.

Stay tuned for more.

Keep Livn

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17