A Step Back In Time- The 1900`s and earlier.

in #life5 years ago

Hi Everyone,
I recently visited a Victorian Style Farmhouse, at The Village, Church Farm, Skegness. Image114.jpg
This farmhouse has been left just as it was originally lived in. A time where people would make do and mend, a time of hard slog keeping a house clean with just using different brushes and brooms.Image006.jpg
This is the kitchen, here we see a cast iron range, fueled by coal. A very dirty business cleaning it out! A fire would be kept burning most of the day, which would heat the oven and hob and boil all your water. Most people would make their own bread and even make soap from the coal ashes. A kettle on the hob would be kept boiling most of the day. The main cleaning ingredient used was vinegar and bicarbonate of soda which is still good for cleaning in our time.
Image169.jpg
Mondays were always washdays, often called "Blue Monday" as it took a full day to do the washing. Also, they used a whitening soap in a blue cover called "dolly blue". The night before wash day, you would soak all your dirtiest clothes overnight. in the morning you would spend a lot of your time boiling water before you could start. We see here the tubs where the washing would be washed and the tools they would use to agitate the washing. Any really dirty clothes were washed against a scrub board in the left-hand corner. Everything had to be rinsed twice and then put through a mangle to get as much water out as possible. Here the washing has been hung up in the outhouse to dry if the weather was bad outside. Some houses would have a rack on a pulley system in the kitchen which would be lifted up to the ceiling for drying clothes. Clothes would be ironed whilst still slightly damp. with a flat iron which had been heated on the hob.![Image142.jpg]
()
Here is a typical dining room. Homemade rugs on the floor made from rags, nothing ever was thrown out but re-used to make other things. Lighting was made by an oil lamp.![Image147.jpg]
()
This was a typical bedroom, with a homemade patchwork quilt on the bed. There was no bathroom in this house so if you needed the toilet in the middle of the night you would have to use the potty (goes under) which was kept under the bed. In the morning you would have to empty this, and the toilet would be outside in a shed at the end of your garden. To have a bath, a tin bath would be put in the kitchen and filled with water. All the family would use this bath water and it would be a quick in and quick out! The baby would be washed last and hence the saying " Do not throw the baby out with the bathwater".
Image151.jpg
Here is the children's bedroom." Children should be seen and not heard", was a common saying in these times and so you see a variety of toys on display in the bedroom. Image152.jpg
Here we have the Nannys bedroom in a side loft space. Very small and compact, but workable. This is at the side of the children`s bedroom.
I personally would not want to go back to living this way, but it is good to know how others used to live!
Anyway, I hope you have enjoyed this tour around this Farmhouse. This is my first post so hopefully, it will be alright.
All images are my own, all blog my own thoughts. Thank you for viewing!!

Sort:  

This is better than alright @lone.ranger57, this is a very impressive first post—welcome to #steemit! In fact, I’m so impressed with your first post, I’m going to curate this article for you as part of this contest offered by @pifc. Stay tuned. 👍🏿

Have you heard of Steemworld.org yet? It’s another platform on the Steem blockchain with categories like ‘mentions’ and ‘followers’ that you won’t find anywhere else. I recommend navigating around that one and getting comfortable with it, I actually refer to it more often than I do Steemit. Here’s yours:
Https://Steemworld.org/@lone.ranger57.

I don’t know everything about this space but I’ll teach you everything I know—let me know if you get confused. Happy steeming. :cheers:

Welcome! Happy Friday. @splatz, gimme a hand here, please.

edit I did what I said I would @lone.ranger57, I featured your article here. Great write-up, cheers! I’ll see you around.

Thank you for your lovely comments!! I will be having a good look round. Everything is a little new to me at the moment. But I am starting to enjoy this. Best wishes to you.

At your service ol’ buddy ol’ pal. INCOMING!!

You're awesome buddy❤️

@pifc just posted these results and, apparently I’m not the only one who appreciated your article, a community effort agreed! You win an @sbi share—Congratulations @lone.ranger57.

The way people lived years ago has always impressed me. There sure was a differance between the people of means and the poor.
I came to your post because it was featured in an entry to @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 48
Posts that have been selected by the entrant will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community and given support.
You are welcome to submit other author’s post in future contests. The PIFC community has a support Discord Channel that you are invited to join. For more information about the PIFC family along with a great way to meet new people. We are a group of like minded people that focuses on assisting one another.

Thank you for your comment.

Welcome to steemit @lone.ranger57, and what a great first post too! I would hate to go back to these times😊 I did grow up on a farm and worked very hard, but nothing like those people used to haha

I found your post because @dandays featured you in a Pay it Forward Curation contest entry. Feel free when you get settled in, to check out our contest and join us any week with an entry of your own.

You're welcome 😊

Great post @lone.ranger57. It’s crazy to think how people used to survive without technology let alone a working indoor plumbing system. I sometimes think going back to that way of life might do our society some good. I feel a lot of us are often misdirected and distracted by the wrong things that are making us dissatisfied with life collectively. Okay, maybe we can still keep our modern day plumbing and such but the simple life does have a lot to offer. Thanks for sharing and welcome to the community :)

This is fantastic! What a lovely museum. I find it amazing to see things maintainted this well for future reference!

Congratulations on being featured by @dandays in an entry for the Pay It Forward Contest!

@lone.ranger57,

Welcome to Steemit. Great First Post!!!

As a history buff, this was right up my alley. "Don't throw the baby out with the bath water" ... I did not know that. (Note: Quotes sell stories ... even old ones.)

Here's an idea for a follow up: Explain to people how "lye soap" was made from wood ashes. It's actually quite a fascinating process. And that oil lamp ... probably burned 'whale oil." This is Steemit ... never miss an opportunity to talk about whales being harpooned. Trust me ... they deserve it. To wit: Here is a recipe I created for Whale Tail Stew:


.
.
Tip: When you copy your images into the Text Editor (the Insert an Image button in the toolbar), you are likely to see something like this:

This is what's causing the "random brackets" and "[Image147.jpg]" stuff to appear in your post.

Quill

P.S. I was directed to your post by @dandays as part of his participation in the @pifc contest. And, we were both berated into that contest by the over-bearing @lynncoyle1 (BTW... NEVER spell her username incorrectly ... but do tell her that "you think she's pretty" ... she really appreciates it.)

Thank you that was very informative. Will try doing what you say next time!

...and ignore any nonsense about me @lone.ranger57. He's kidding. I think :) Right @quillfire! (btw Quill, that Do you think I'm pretty? is our thing. Try not to sully it again :)

You just made it to the front of the Christmas card line @quillfire.

edit I just went through all three of your responses to each of the featured authors. That’s one of the coolest things I’ve seen, Quill. Thank you! I’m glad we met.

Cool, we have Frontier Village here in Denison, Tx. President Eisenhower was born here.

Lovely! You will have to do a blog on it!

Wonderful post and very informative. I love houses like this. Things were so very different not so long ago.

You were featured in week 48 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @dandys. @pifc is a Pay It Forward Community which believes in by helping others grow we build a stronger community. We run this contest each week, it is open to everyone. It's a great way to show off people you find that might need some more exposure or meet new people.

Thank you for your comment.

I am always amazed and intrigued about the way the people back then, how do I put it?? "Make It Happen." They always found a way to get done what they needed to get done. No excuses, just do what you gotta do.
Thanks for taking us all back in time for a bit with this post of yours. Well done and I think I can speak for others when I say, "We look forward to seeing more of you work."
Steem On

Thank you very much for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87