What Foods Are We Craving?

in #life6 years ago

Ever since I was a young lad I have been fascinated by the world’s most advanced machine.

Augustine once said that we often look to the mountains or oceans for beauty or majesty, and yet we look past the extraordinary creation that is us.

Similar to any other machine, our system is in constant need of quality fuels for repair, maintenance, and energy to operate. One of the things that has intrigued me of late, is how certain cravings I have for food let me know what it is that I need for optimal health.

For instance, a few months ago I noticed a constant craving for chips. There was not an evening meal we would have where I didn’t want to have something crunchy to satisfy.

At first, I thought it was just for the crunch, but after a while I realized that my sodium levels were low. Now, contrary to popular belief, Salt is not terrible for you, processed salt yes, but not raw salt like a Himalayan brand.

We all need minerals like magnesium to help us relax and build strong bones. Real salt is one of the most rich food sources to find these items.

Along with chips, I noticed that I was craving broccoli and all of the green foods in the picture above. Yes, I am a bit odd in the sense that I enjoy a salad smorgasbord.

Broccoli was not new as it has been one of my favorite veggies for awhile. What did surprise me was that I wanted to eat cucumbers, and bell peppers.

I did some research and found the most alkaline foods were all on my current cravings list. That is when I realized that I needed to lay off some acidic foods like tomatoes, and grains.

One of the most basic habits we can build for our overall health is eating more alkaline foods than acidic foods - it really is that simple.

There is a lot of research that doesn’t receive much airplay that says cancer cells can not exist in an alkaline environment - I agree with them.

Whether you want to believe the lesser known research or not is another story, but I did want to share this article with you. This is perhaps the best piece I have found that talks about our food cravings and what vitamins or minerals our bodies are telling us we need. Hope you enjoy it and find it useful for your optimal health.


Image Sources: 1-2-[3(https://goo.gl/images/myofD1)

Sort:  

Love your post! Just looked up Dr. Warburg and now I'm hooked on a high-fat diet. Even though I don't have cancer, I know the cancer cells are dormant and if I continue eating sugar and processed foods, they will turn on and eventually I will develop something. Thanks for sharing. I'm committed to changing my lifestyle.

I know low sodium can be as harmful as high levels, believe it or not

I love me some cucumbers!

I know some people who drink alkaline water, interesting post!

I know some people
Who drink alkaline water,
Interesting post!

                 - giddyupngo


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

That is why one should go to what is called the Mediterranean diet. I loved your post friend @lydon.sipe

Great research from you,love the way you exploded this blog post,always i too cant control on my food habits.

You got a 3.53% upvote from @upme thanks to @lydon.sipe! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

eat as much as you think but eat only that which is full of proteins ; )

Amazing content....i love ur post.....please help me check my blog upvote my post....thank you and remain blessed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85