The invisible people

in #life6 years ago (edited)

A short walk downtown Montreal is more than enough to see that more and more elders end up on the streets. It is a sad reality that we live in. Poverty is never pleasant! When combined with sickness or old age is a recipe for disaster.

Most of the people tend to believe that all homeless persons are drug addicts or alchooholics. Not all of them! Some are just misfortunate souls who were forced to live in the streets due to some health issues or financial problems.

Usually you see them sitting down, starring at their feet or at the concrete or even with their eyes closed, lost in their misery. They are ignored by the passersby for different reasons.

To most of us these unfortunate people are invisible because they represent everything that we fear: poverty in its cruelest form. That's why turning a blind eye on them is easier than acknowledging them or trying to find ways to help them.

Not a lot of people spare them some change. Only a few would make eye contact and even fewer would attempt to engage in conversation, as if poverty was contagious.

Instead of giving them money, I prefer to buy them a meal or at least a bottle of water or a coffee. So far, I haven't had any of them complaining about it. Thus I know for sure where my money goes. If I am not pressed by time, I take couple of minutes and talk to them, trying to encourage them somehow.

You'd be surprised to hear how many sad stories they would gladly share with you, if you take the time to ask them how they ended up on the street. Unfortunately the society we live in has demonized them and portrayed them as lazy, drug addicts, alcoholics or simply crazy, that no one wants to give them a hand.

I guess shame is responsible for this type of behaviour. We see them as a projection of our failed self. They embody an external form of our shameful and needy self which makes us feel uncomfortable, therefore we ignore them.

While I was downtown I have seen close to five homeless persons within less than a mile. Though only one of them caught my full attention. Unlike the others who were having a hat next to them, or a cardboard with a message asking for money, this one was reading. He seemed to be totally immersed in his book. Next to him, on the ground he had six other books.

Since I was already late, I decided to talk to him after my appointment. I only had the time to take a photo of him from across the street. One hour later, he was gone and I couldn't go on with my plan of getting him a meal. I wondered what his story was, what was his life before turning into a panhandler.

What do you do when you see a homeless person? Do you give them change or how do you react? Do you ignore them or you consider them a fellow in need, a human being just like you?

Unless stated otherwise, all photos used in this posts are taken and owned by myself.
If you wish to use any of my images, please contact me!

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Please leave your feedback in the comments,
I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

I don’t see any homeless people around my neighborhood, we have a pretty well organized shelter system. When I go to NY, I see a lot of them sitting near carboard signs, I don’t know what’s the deal with them, they are mostly young people and they look all drugged up. ☹️

Most homeless people use drugs. If the drugs didn't bring them to homelessness, they end up on them to cope with the thought that society and/or family doesn't care about them.

I'm from NY, and I'm also a homeless Veteran. I've struggled with addiction for my entire adult life, but have two years of sobriety now, and VA programs assisting me with establishing housing.

It's a major growing problem in NY, and most addicts who don't find recovery, generally don't establish housing, and many programs won't help individuals in active addiction. Homelessness and addiction go hand in hand.

I can assure you, 9 times out of 10 if you give your money to a homeless person, they will use it for drugs. I still give them money anyways, because I know their pain, and I know that the feeling of others caring, helped me to break the cycle of addiction.

There is some heavy focus on the issue here ,and steps are being made to reduce the homeless population. My heart goes out to the homeless population in this world, and the one's who are stuck homeless, and in addiction are at a major disadvantage. Recovery is important for the homeless, and it's also being addressed pretty heavily. It still seems, much more needs to be done if we're to assist, instead of turn our backs.

I am sorry to hear about your struggle. I am also happy that you managed to get back on your feet and that you will be able to have your own place. I can't even imagine how difficult it must have been to go through all this.

Thank you for your kind words. As strange as this may sound. I'm humbly grateful to have experienced this hardship in life, because the wisdom I've gained as a result, may have very well saved my life, and it's opened my eyes to how naive I was of the ways of the world.

It was a pleasure conversing with you. I'm now following, and will revisit your blog 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

When I was in the suburbs, I never saw any homeless person. SInce I am back in the city, I am saddened to see more and more of them on the streets.

As someone who's currently dealing with homelessness, this speaks volumes to me. It's refreshing to see people in the world who care, and don't reserve judgement onto others.

My story is similar to so many others, joined the service at a young age, came out an alcoholic, found myself under a bridge one day, and life has been a struggle ever since. Ten years it has taken me, this battle with addiction and homelessness.

Today I'm fortunate enough to have two years of sobriety, and a veterans program is currently working with me to help with housing, maintenance of my sobriety, and vocational rehab to assist me with potential jobs. See there aren't too many jobs available for trained killers. The governments don't always think this through (or care), but there are programs emerging, and being reconstructed to help homeless individuals, especially in the veteran sector.

I have to take responsibility to my errors, it was the only way to me to become sober, but it's possible if you put your mind to it, and there is help out there for homeless people, just not enough of it.

I'm very grateful to see the light at the end of the tunnel. I should have an apartment within 60 days. It's been a long ride, but there is hope.

I always give a homeless person the change in my pocket, (I don't bother to tell them I'm also homeless because it has no bearing) and a smoke, for I know their struggle, and regardless if they are going to use drugs with that money or not, it's the THOUGHT, that someone cares, that may lead them to the idea that they can rid themselves of the shackles of their addiction.

Thank you for this article. To me, it means something, and I thank you for it. I hope others in the world, will start to see things the way you do.

Much love.

Congrats on your two years of sobriety and for finding the strength to put yourself together and not giving up! It takes courage and a tremendous amount of efforts to go through what you have been through! Although you may not see it, you are an inspiration! ;-)

Thank you @lymepoet that made me a little teary eyed. You're appreciated, and an inspiration to me as well. It's people like you who helped me through it. I can feel you have a kind soul. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Every time I see a homeless person, my heart breaks. Whatever their situation is and however they got there doesn't matter to me, they need help. Each one may need a different type of help, but it is hard to know how to help without knowing their situation. I usually help with food, I rarely give money although in some situations I do.

They need help for sure. No one stays on the streets because they enjoy being there! Thank you for caring!

To most of us these unfortunate people are invisible because they represent everything that we fear: poverty in its cruelest form. That's why turning a blind eye on them is easier than acknowledging them or trying to find ways to help them.

Yep! mostly due their rampant superstitions and supine ignorance.

Not a lot of people spare them some change. Only a few would make eye contact and even fewer would attempt to engage in conversation, as if poverty was contagious.

Well, their loss my friend!! Let's let these rushed suckers, apathetic ignorants and indiferent illiterates lose the chance of their lifes to obtain something good, just because they simply have no time to listen or read a damn thing nor the desire to stop a bare minute and bend their loser bodies to talk with somebody when they are watching them from the above. };)

Great reflection and post my dear @lymepoet :)

Thank you! Disregarding the reason that lead to them being homeless, these people deserve to be acknowledged and helped. It is a shame that others prefer to turn their heads away just to make themseleves feel better. I just read an article stating that 22 veterans commit suicide per day. Some of them end up on the street because of PTSD. Aweful!

It's sad that day by day we all pass around homeless people who carry lots of painful stories in their backpack. Unfortunately too little people care about them..

It is unfortunate indeed!

In India we see lots of people in this condition. As you mentioned in the past, I also prefer buying them food or any other basic need instead of directly giving money. There is a high possibility that they can misuse the money we give them. I do give money directly but only in unavoidable circumstances.

Posted using Partiko Android

Can't really blame them if they spend money on drugs, as that is their only way of coping with their sad reality. I prefer offering a meal, a drink or a piece of clothing because I think it would help more than some spare change.

You know this breaks my heart as well. When I worked downtown in the city I saw so many homeless people. We even tried to help a few but some just don't want any help. I gave food as well, some was rejected. So many different reasons for each individual. Mental health, drug use, alcohol, PTSD with veterans. But you're right, the elderly shouldn't be left to the streets for any reason, I don't think any of us would allow our parents to face that..

I am always intrigued by those who ignore them. I wonder what do they tell themselves - that it can't happen to them? The wheel is turning and anyone can witness a misfortunate event that can place him right next to those homeless people that were looked down at!

Congratulations! Your post was selected by the @dropahead Curation Team (dCT)

You wrote such a meaningful post! When I came across this kind of person I can't help to wonder what sum of circumstances could have driven this person to this state. Sometimes I have been able to chat with them on the subway (our subway is almost free so even people who live on the streets can take it to go around the city) and they indeed have really interesting stories. From those conversations, I have felt that they are somehow trapped on a loop that doesn't allow to move past some really sad/tough stage in their life. And sadly, a ten minutes nice chat is not enough to figure out a way to help them beyond the next meal...

What impressions do you have when you finish talking with them?


@dropahead - Supporting your STEEM adventure

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 83%.

Well said Gabriel García Marquez: "One learns to write by writing" Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!

(1) @dropahead's quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

Here too, during winter they take shelter inside the metro. I always see them at metro station Bonaventure when I pass by. Most of them lost their jobs, houses and families, or family members turned their back on them.

It says something about our society, that we let humans die in the street. My feeling is that we should be able to provide a minimum to all, whether or not they are crazy, undeserving, lazy, or just plain unlucky. No one should be forced to sleep outside or go hungry. I have known people with severe mental problems that would have been on the street if their family members had not taken care of them.

I totally agree with you. Every human being has the right to be provided the minimum. People do more for pets than for other human beings - that's the world we live in!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 280 (10/13/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34