Walk with me at St-Gabriel's Locks on Lachine Canal

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Today I decided to join @tattoodjay's Wednesday Walk Challenge of going out for a walk and capturing some photographs.

IMG_20180912_125344.jpg

My steps took me toward the Lachine Canal and I ended up closer to the St-Gabriel's Locks and the former Belding plant which was one of the biggest plants in Canada where raw silk was turned into thread, ribbons and stalkings.

IMG_20180912_123825.jpg

In the photo below you can see how the factor initially looked like. Nowadays it had been converted into an elegant condominiums building in 1989.

IMG_20180912_131509.jpg

For more than 100 years, St-Gabriel Locks was considered the industrial heart of the Lachine Canal.

IMG_20180912_123715.jpg

Most of the factories located on both sides of the Canal used the water power to activate their machines.

IMG_20180912_123813.jpg

This area has seen a tremendous change throughout the years.

IMG_20180912_123850.jpg

What used to be an industrial zone turned into a beautiful residential area with parks, cycling paths, resting areas and so on.

IMG_20180912_131307.jpg

During summer people can rent a kayak or pedal boat and go explore the Canal on their own.

IMG_20180912_131049.jpg

Some prefer to bring their own craft and portage around the locks.

IMG_20180912_125735.jpg

The green scenery on the sides of the Canal is so inviting to have a seat or a picnic and enjoy the beautiful weather.

IMG_20180912_125308.jpg

As more and more condominium projects are being built along the Canal, the Canal is getting a new facelift.

IMG_20180912_130251.jpg

Walking down along the Canal I discovered a great place to hang out during summer, called F-MR Station. You can read all about it here

Hope you enjoyed your walk with me!

Sort:  

This post was intriguing. The canal era was so important to industrial and urban development in NE US and in Canada. I looked up the history of Lachine canal. Fascinating, if anyone wants to take peak.
Thank you for this journey through the present and the past.

You're welcome!

First of all, the pictures are beautiful. The one thing I found most interesting was that the area has converted from industrial to more eco-friendly and green area and not vice versa. Thank you for sharing. I enjoyed this post very much :)

The whole neighbourhood changed a lot for the better ;-)

What a cool spot for a walk, I love you included the shot of how it was in the apast and I love the reflections

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk tip!

My pleasure! Thanks for coming up with this challenge! I should try to do it each week. I do walk daily but I didn't think of my walk in terms of a challenge. ;-)

I am the same I get out for walks everyday I try to do a minimum of 10K steps a day, so its ot really a challenge for many of use but cool to see others walks:)

Hi @lymepoet! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Thanks for stopping by!

Last on..looks so cool to hang out..Like that wild style of bars

I haven't been around in the summer, but I heard they had some amazing parties with DJs, light shows, live music.

again, I'll have to visit Montreal one day, really. Lovely post!

Again, I'll have to
Visit Montreal one day,
Really. Lovely post!

                 - frejafri


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

You should! I'd be really glad to meet you in person ;-)

I absutely enjoyed the walk and the company. That was a lovely beautiful sceneries. Thank you for taking us to your adventure. Pictures looks really beautiful and peaceful.

Thanks, sweety! Have a wonderful day!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 257 (9/14/18)

Very beautifull pictures ! It's a beautifull city ! Upvoted at 100% !

Thanks! Montreal is an amazing city!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84