How Minimalism Has Helped Me Getting My Sh*t Together

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Minimalism

Minimalism...oh well no.. I don't own ONLY 100 things or even 50 things or insert numbers.I own things that matter for me,especially that it adds value in my life-something I really and will use in my daily activities.

Minimalism.jpg

To begin,I started this journey a year ago. It rooted from my own frustration on things I owned.I had lesser time and was overwhelmed with everything. Naturally poor at time management and being forgetful,it added up to the whole frustration. So,I began to search ways to feel liberated and more organized.

However,organization tips didn't work for me.I tried.There was still something missing.I already had an idea what minimalism was.Yet, like any other uniformed and trends follower,that time I knew I could never be a full minimalist.

It appeared that to be a minimalist, I need to have these following items:

  • Black and/ gray plain t-shirt.
  • Wooden flooring apartment.
  • An apartment in upper class neighborhood.
  • Macbook pro and a blog.
  • Expensive convertible bags.
  • Camera gears and coffee machine.
  • 50 items in a whole room.
  • Living off a backpack in an exotic countries. (I did).

However most requirement are impossible for me at the moment. I don't have a macbook,apartment in upper class neighborhood, wooden flooring; none of those. Can I still be a minimalist or am I just in the line of poverty?

I asked myself that question. Especially after someone commented "minimalism is easy, it's called poverty". But then, I look at some poor people in my neighborhood who earn less than 100$/month. They own things,they love to hoard under a mindset that they might need it later and they could not afford it.

Hence,I proceed to ask myself, what do I truly need to survive? When I got to answer that question, I came to a conclusion, I need food, shelter, clothes, internet,herbs, laptop, that's it. Everything else is secondary.

It took me a while to realize I don't use most of the things I owned. So,I gave it away- radically downsizing my items.

I still am, a minimalist even different from the portrayal of the mainstream media.

Moreover, my journey did not stop with things. Soon,it expanded to my relationship with my surrounding, digital consumption and my mindset on technology.

As a result of incorporating this lifestyle, minimalism has helped me :

  • [x] Spending lesser time choosing my clothes.
  • [x] Going early to any occasion.
  • [x] Getting more quality relationship.
  • [x] Focus on my health.
  • [x] Lesser time do to house chores.
  • [x] More time to read books.
  • [x] Get rid of my scarcity mindset.
  • [x] Saving up more money.
  • [x] Having lesser distraction.
  • [x] More focused.
  • [x] Proper sleeping time.

Those are only a few that I can mention.More importantly,it also helps me with my pursuit of happiness.

At this moment, I am focusing on fixing my addiction towards mindless scrolling on any feed: twitter, steemit, discord,etc. Instead feeding on "what's happening right now, at this second" I tried to process the information and then think. Is it going to add any value?.

I start to think that way with my blog as well.

I like to bring this topic all over again. That's because I will never get tired to remind you to be more conscious about spending money, time, day, whatever you think is your precious commodity.


Links to my previous article on minimalism :
1. Update on my Minimalist lifestyle
2. What Minimalism Means to Me and Why You Should Try it
3. Saturday Decluttering
4. Minimalism and Travel

Signed, M.

Sort:  

Ah it’s a lot easier to be minimal when you live from a backpack 🎒 due to space restrictions ^^
This reminds me I have to downsize on my books and various drawing materials if i want to move easier next year.

@anmitsu, It's true! less things more accessibility. Are you planning to travel full time next year?

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Nah, not traveling per se :) Just moving. Not sure where yet.

Hmm suggestions : Korea :-D
okay maybe Japan? moving to Norway or Finland are options too!

That's so true that poor people tend to hoard stuff, it's because of their scarcity mindset. And also true with other socio-economic classes. I can see it here too, people buy things they don't need just because it's on sale.

You don't need those macbook and other expensive stuff prescribed by other minimalists. You know what you need. :)

I am also on that journey to minimalism because I agree with those benefits you listed. I have started donating and selling stuff online. I still have a long way to go though :)

hahaha yeah! even when my mom got introduced to minimalism idea, she resented it. It was because the scarcity mindset she had while actually there are tons of junks ready to be thrown/donated since they've been ages sitting in the living room/room. However, I live on my own so it's manageable but I really want to go home and see it as cozier place when I return.

Good luck on your way! downsizing can be very emotional too. But it's liberating knowing no string attached and there's more room to create more memories.

Exactly, we need to know what are things we need. Instead of following others need. If we follow others need, we're still not liberated.

hopefully your mom gets inspired by you and you get home to a cozier place :)

I hope so!
Have a great day !

M.

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Interesting to hear how far you have come and how you have changed your lifestyle within a year. It is great that you are challenging/reassessing life. One should do that, to be honest, I should do that. The barriers are always fear of the unknown and fear of perception, but its time to live a life you truly want to live. We consume in excess and one often find themselves in debt that could have been avoided. It's sad, but the reality of poor financial/life education and common sense.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh well, it was because nasty experiences I had for the past one year which I detailed here : Welcoming 2019, a reflection on 2018.

Oh speaking about fears and uncertainties, have you read the power of now by Eckhart Tolle? I think it beautifully describes why we have fears of the unknown and perceptions.

Also, If I could go back to school, I would take economy class more seriously and even proposed financial literacy to young students. Perhaps we were taught that saving is good but only a small percentage of young adults are actually saving up their money. Then now we're dealing with issues of broke millenials, milenialls on debts, can't afford sh*t etc.

Thank you for reading. Hope you day goes well!

M.

To contribute to your last part and I don't want to be a pessimist, but its going to get worse in the future. The shift of the working population will soon take a negative decifit as we will have an aging population that will rely on a younger working population that cannot keep up with demand. Our generations (X, Y and Millenials) are not really contributing to pensions or savings as many are or have changed attitudes to live for the now and don't think too much on the future (at least on the personal side). There are ways around it like increasing migration to countries that don't want migration, yet know they need the help. Japan is a great example that needs to address this case urgently.

It would be great if you could take a further look into this and study economy as we need more action oriented economists lol

Something to ponder on...

Have a great week!

Posted using Partiko Android

Our generations (X, Y and Millenials) are not really contributing to pensions or savings as many are or have changed attitudes to live for the now and don't think too much on the future (at least on the personal side).

That's interesting and also complex. Well I see it from the media perspective. We're fed with information constantly and advertisement 24/7. Compared to the previous generations, where media was much more limited than today. I think it contributes to influence people's purchase decision.

There are ways around it like increasing migration to countries that don't want migration, yet know they need the help. Japan is a great example that needs to address this case urgently.

Japan is slowly starting, since I read news they are going to accept foreign blue collar workers, also home giveaway. They are slowly opening up more to the world.

It would be great if you could take a further look into this and study economy as we need more action oriented economists.

Well you know, it would be great for sure. We need more of them but there's one thing to remember, economy policy can't be implemented without the approval from the state.

Love, love, love it. Minimalism is the way to go. I wouldn't call us full minimalist but we try to pare down as much as possible. I like my colours and pretty things but I don't hoard and keep it clean and neat and always question what I buy. Was just about to write a post on it!

3 days ago, well now you must have written about it. I'll catch up!
The thing is be more conscious about our spending :)) I think that's awareness I want to raise.

Yes, I wrote about it! @macchiata! x

Are you familiar with zen philosophy?

Yes, I am familiar with Zen philosophy. Although I am more influenced with stoicism -both bears remarkable similarities.

Any particular thing about Zen philosophy that you're interested in?

M.

how did you feel when giving away the stuff you gave away? was it like dropping a heavy bag?

Posted using Partiko Android

Actually, in the past most of past friends would tell me " burn your apartment and rebuild it." I did not listen them for about a year until one moment which I didn't recall, it was like a dumpster. I was disgusted and frustrated, then I saw series on TLC about hoarders. Soo that's where things started to make sense. It's fricckin gross.Then everything else followed.

It was hard to let go some stuff which had memory attached to it. It took me time to let go some of the things but eventually I did. Now I am spreading this virus to my parents house and to everyone I know.

Pro tips : if you have cleaning issue, try living with an OCD. It will help a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82