Think With Caffeine Log 21

in #life5 years ago

Toutes les bonnes choses ont une fin.

While organizing my notes on hackmd, I found a lot of contents I wrote in the past. One that captures my attention the most was my dystopian fiction about the land of coffee. It was an adaption of 1984 novel by George Orwell. I still find some details in that story relevant to today situation. However,I stopped drafting due lack of motivation and my shallow political views about libertarian and authoritarian ideas.

One thing I am sure of, I am against authoritarianism. Hence that story was my medium to express and depict national, international political situation against authoritarian governance. In that story,I tried to cover up some facts due some reasons. Despite that it has an interesting setting, I still find lack of character and plot development. It was also intended that the story would follow the current trend of national and international political atmosphere. I thought it was easy but I was wrong. The political atmosphere have changed drastically and swiftly.Not to mention, I started to question a lot of my views and which side I would stand.

In the end, I choose neither and abstain from any political activities.

Deep down, I still want to continue writing that story. But I have yet to know where to begin all over again. I still have a shallow views about libertarian ideas. In my country, I will be considered as liberal or moderate. But in international scene, I am often considered leaning to conservatism views. yet I identify as an anarcho-capitalist. So here I am, a politically confused twenty year old something.

I can not omit politic and theology from my life. Both are parts of my main interest. However, overtime I learn to ease up while talking about those. I learn, it's not about winning or losing, it's about sharing, creating a sustainable environment for mankind to live.

Inserting another character to my previous fiction was a little bit impossible. Yet, as time goes by I met a lot of people with centrist views and anti establishment which influence the way I see that story. What is the stance of the main character? was he anti establishment? what does he want? if he was anti authoritarian, why does he have conservative views? It was a mixture of confused ideas between all political spectrum. Hence, the story has to end.

One day, I will come up with a better one.

I think satire is one of the medium to educate and approach politic in a delightful manner. It might not be taken too seriously but people will think through. An enjoyable story about politic educate masses better than a textual and theoretical books. If people started seeing the relevancy and how it reflects in their day to day life, they will begin to realize. Then, proceed to thinking whether something is right or wrong based on their morality standard.

Signed, M.

Sort:  

Hmmm. never hever heard of hackmd. Looks cool.

Oh politics...the least interesting thing in this world :D I mean..the thing in itself is kinda cool, but it's just boring to check the news :D But you're right, putting the thoughts out in satiric/enjoyable/funny way and incorporate some facts into it could be a way to go how to get people interested.

Btw 1984 was pretty cool, read it during my highschool as a mandatory literature.

I am telling you, hackmd is cool for drafting online blog posts. I like it and that I can share it with friends/editor if I wish.

I think that's why a lot of comedic and satirical youtube videos getting massive views. People might not understand the underlaying meaning but at least it gets their attention.

I think 1984 should be mandatory everywhere in school. It's a scary futuristic story and still relevant until today.

You got a 2.06% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @macchiata!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79