Hurdle the pain and smile again

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Right after having our lunch today, I noticed that our calendar hanging on the wall is still showing the month of June. I reached up to flip it over but I accidentally hit the wall clock right above the calendar.

The wall clock flew over my head and fell behind. I exclaimed, "oh my God!" and turned around to see the clock with its shattered lower portion. For a while I stood there, blankly staring at the damage I made.

I heard my mother said, "It's okay. It is still working." That was my wake-up call. I focused and looked at the clock hands. Indeed, the seconds hand is still moving. I moved and picked up all the broken pieces.

I painstakingly put the pieces back on the clock with rugby. When my mother saw me struggling, she said "now you bear the consequence of the damage you caused." That sounded a negation of her consoling words earlier but it actually challenged me to make the clock one piece again.
20180707_202459.jpg

I finally breathe when the clock is complete. However, the cracks are very visible. I will never be able to erase those marks which will remind me of my clumsiness. I thought I would not be able to look at the clock again with its cracks. Then I remembered my stocks of synthetic flowers.

I dug through the pile of flowers and found a gold rose. It looked perfect and indeed, it is! It only not look great on the clock. It also perfectly hids the cracks. The clock is back in action and looks more beautiful on the wall than it was before.
20180707_202238.jpg

That is a story of my life today, which I believe also happens to others. We may have done something wrong that we feel bad about ourselves. Others may have also hurt us badly that left wound in our hearts. However, those pains should not define us or our future. Those trials should instead strengthen us to go farther and further because there is more to discover along life's adventure. Believe in yourself. If you need to bend then so be it. Just don't break. In the end, hurdling adversities will be a sweet celebration.

Just like the clock, keep moving because life must go on.

Have a great weekend everyone!

Sort:  

"what does not kill you makes you stronger." - Friedrich Nietzsche;

"When you fall get up, oh oh
If you fall get up, eh eh
Tsamina mina zangalewa
'Cause this is Africa" ( Shakira - Waka Waka (This Time for Africa) )

I heard about your first quote but I did not know who coined it so thanks for mentioning his name. And Shakira?

🎶🎶🎶 "I won't give up
No, I won't give in
Till I reach the end
And then I'll start again.

No, I won't leave
I wanna try everything
I wanna try
Even though I could fail" 🎶🎶🎶

So, "Try Everything" by Shakira. I like her songs and I didn't heard this one, thanks. It's a good motto for our lives.

That is the theme song of the movie Zootopia.

It's a great story. I had a feeling that I had read some great exciting book.
Continue in the same spirit.
You have an excellent job.

Thank you for your kind and encouraging comment @yak15 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63868.85
ETH 3063.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10