All Hooked Up

in #life5 years ago

I got the Surthrival trailer all hooked up and going through my final checklist before I hit the road.

I had to use a ratchet strap attached to the tongue with this tongue dolly which helps so much when moving the trailer around to a specific orientation.

I'm getting pretty close!

This will be my first trial run and plan to stay down for the weekend getting a start on setting up my water catchment/storage and what I'll need to do to hook up to the county water line for a reliable source.

Stay tuned!

Peace and Joy
Greg @makinstuff

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Greg your setup looks fantastic..... I’ll stay tuned for updates!🤗

Thank you brother!

Posted using Partiko Android

How much solar do you have? Any battery storage?

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey @mytechtrail it's got 1.98kW of solar and 10kWh of wet cell lead acid battery storage.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, that is a pretty decently sized system. Especially for a trailer.

Posted using Partiko Android

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Sweet mobile solar setup, love the fear and loathing in las vegas poster inside :-)

Thanks brother, I used to be really into Hunter S. at least his adventurous lifestyle and not giving a fuck about what other people thought.

Howdy sir makinstuff! so you're going to the homestead location? Those hitch dollys are great!

yes sir! I made it out there for the first time this last week for the first major trial of the trailer.

And the trailer pasted in flying colors right? did you post about that? Never mind, I'll go check. lol.

Sure did brother! My plans got pushed back a week. I got out in some big storms and it did excellently. I have a few improvements to make keeping the battery bank from shifting around and creating better organization for all the onboard equipment.

Posted using Partiko Android

yes sir, that trip is what you needed to make adjustments to the system. Or to know what adjustments to make to the system. How long do the batteries hold a charge if it's cloudy?

Great question sir! It has 10kWh of storage with the battery system so if I am using devices that are pulling 1000watts continuously then I would fully deplete the batteries in 10hrs. However, I have integrated a generator with the system that I can kick on for extended periods of darkness. It will keep the batteries topped off when the bank has become 10% depth of discharge to save the life of the batteries.

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy sir makinstuff and thanks for the great explanation! That's an amazing system. I was just reading yesterday that they've developed new battery cathodes that will allow car batteries to keep their charge ten times longer so that technology is coming along nicely which will improve your type of systems too. But anyway well done!

You bet @janton the battery technology is advancing very rapidly. These lead acid golf cart wet cells are the most common, and currently cheapest option for storage I've found. However... they are not a good option for enclosed spaces. I've learned many things building this system and will use it to make the next version. My next system battery bank will be a DIY 18650 LiFePo4 paired with deployable solar panel system for RV's and campers I believe.

That's looking good. Will do a video tour of the trailer?

You bet @pennsif I may even get a daily vlog going with updates on the journey and DIY videos.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Hi, @makinstuff!

You just got a 0.08% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30