My Favorite Morning Drink

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Steemit (7).png

Today's theme is a favorite morning drink. If you like to participate in the challenge, please do. It will help you write something every day - and of course, if writing every day is your thing, join our Daily Freewrite. You find the prompt on my profile - every day.

May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day 10: What’s Your Favorite Morning Drink: Coffee, Tea, Water, Juice? Why? Find the post here

Seemit band.png

My Favorite Morning Drinks

Smoothies

In true Gemini fashion, I cannot and will not commit to just one drink as my favorite. I have at least three and pretty much drink all of them almost every morning.

Upon waking, when I am in a take care of myself phase, I drink either a glass of water with fresh lemon juice or with a spoonful of apple cider vinegar. While I don't dislike that, I can't call it my favorite.

Depending on my mood, I next have a green smoothie - ideally made with fruit and greens from my garden. I always have frozen fruit of some kind in the freezer. Pineapple, blueberries, cherries, and strawberries are some of my favorites. Really ripe bananas are almost a must. They make any smoothie so much better.

smoothie.jpg

I often pick wild greens - also known as weeds from the garden, use lettuce, beet greens, chard, baby collards, fennel leaves, and whatever happens to be in season.

Sometimes, I add carrots, apples, and beets.

Other ingredients I like to add are chia seeds, hemp seeds, spirulina, turmeric, coconut oil, avocado.

I usually do not follow any recipes and I have made really good smoothies and really bad ones.

A high power blender such as a Vitamix or Blendtec gives much better results than a regular blender. If you don't have frozen fruit, add some ice cubes.

Enjoy

smoothie glass.jpg

While writing this, I realized that it has been a few days since I made a smoothie. Maybe it is time to issue a 30-Day Smoothie challenge. Hmm.

Dandelion

While my true love is coffee - it has been since I was a child and it probably will be forever - I usually have some kind of Dandelion based drink either before or after my smoothie. I like a hot drink in the morning, so, most likely, I have it before.

The many years I was either pregnant or nursing, I didn't drink coffee. But herbal tea was just not the same. I love the bitterness of coffee. Then, I used to drink Pero.

Now, I gave this a try.

dandelion.jpg

It is a little sweet. My favorite lately was dandelion root roasted and granulated. I had a pound of it I ordered from my co-op. But they don't have it anymore and I haven't been able to find it. Nice and bitter and good.

Now, I am certainly not pregnant but gave up drinking coffee first thing in the morning after reading that it is tough on the adrenal glands. Too much stimulation first thing in the morning can lead to adrenal fatique - and that, I want to avoid.

Somewhere in there I have some protein as well. Now, I am ready for my all time favorite:

Coffee

And by coffee, I mean good coffee. A dark espresso roast. Organic and Fair Trade coffee beans. An espresso machine. Life is good!!!

Usually, I make my espresso Americano fashion at home. But when I go out, I love this kind of a treat.

coffee.jpg

What is your favorite drink?

And are you up for a green smoothie challenge? You know that you want to!!!

Seemit band.png

My Previous Posts for this Challenge

Day 2 -How to Handle a Windfall of 1000 Steem

Day 3 -Trying to Chose the Best Thing Steemit Has Done for Me

Day 4 - 5 Witnesses and my Why

Day 5 - My Top 5 Crypto Holdings - Day 5

Day 6 - Why am I still on Steemit - Day 5 - 30 Day Writing Challenge

Day 7 - 3 Things I Like to Change on Steemit

Day 8 - Most Consistent Hobby in the Past 5 Years.

Day 9 -Steemit in 5 Years from Now

Imgur

We are having a party at the Freewrite House you don't want to miss!!!

Imgur

Imgur

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Do you Know What This is?

[Steemit in 5 Years from Now](https://steemit.com/steemit/@mariannewest/steemit-in-5-years-from-now0

Day 8 - Most Consistent Hobby in the Past 5 Years.

It is Very Important

Tree Tuesday in Vegas

Water - Deranged Photography Contest

Day 6 - Why am I still on Steemit - Day 5 - 30 Day Writing Challenge

Baby Chick

My Dogs Must be Crazy!!!

5 Witnesses and my Why - Day 4

Week 5 - Pay it Forward Contest

Day 3 - Trying to Chose the Best Thing Steemit Has Done for Me

How to Handle a Windfall of 1000 Steem

Daily Prompt

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Imgur

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Imgur

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Other ways to earn cryptocurrency

I will benefit if you use my links

Join Sola and earn SOL: https://sola.ai/posts/MDExZWV
Join Mana - Universal Income Project: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=179a62831e
Listen to bitrad.io and earn Bro: https://bitrad.io/?ref=97511
Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

Yes yes yes! Love this post, and love your drinks. I also enjoy smoothies in the morning - so before I go in to work at my job at the bakery I make a chocolate smoothie that has cacao, banana, hemp powder, and possibly some peanut butter and agave. It's super delicious and creamy!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mariannewest from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I probably should get back into smoothies. I just don't like the time it takes to prepare and cleanup. It's sooooooo mind numblingly repetitive. Did I get the proper amount of whine into that? I feel like I did. :)

I have never tried anything with dandelion in it. I don't even like the smell of dandelions, so I'm not sure how I'd do with a drink based on it. It sounds like you really like it, though. Why does all the good stuff, like this drink you talk about and Pero have to be so hard to find?

Probably hard to compete with all the different versions of coffee out there.

I hear you about the clean up - that is the reality with everything we eat and drink and that is why people opt for easy and already prepared. But fresh is so much better.

The smoothie looks yum, but I am not sure i'd like the blend of fruits with veggies cos I haven't tried that. Coffee is b far one of my most favorite morning drinks too. It is yummilicious but yes if it is a good coffee.

I love coffee but have stopped drinking it first thing in the morning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87