Celebrating My Very First Steemit Anniversary

in #life6 years ago

It's been a year now that I've been a member of the Steemit Community. All I can say is time flies when you're having fun. My actual anniversary was at the end of April but I took a hiatus because I was sick and missed the actual date.

I remember the night I signed up for an account. An old friend from the world of online writing @merej99 sent me a private message saying I needed to join. And...I didn't....until eight months later. She shared her articles regularly on facebook and sometimes I read them. After a while I wanted to write for fun and a little extra cash. It was late at night when I sent her a private message asking her to explain Steemit and what the heck was steem, steem dollars, and cryptocurrency. She kindly took time to type out tons of explanations to me to help me get started. I wrote my first post and the rest is history.

I didn't know what to expect jumping in here but I ended up loving it and have stayed. I've met a lot of great people and friends who I've gotten to know outside of here. The place has been life changing for me.

My goal here is to have fun writing while earning savings for the future. I've only cashed out twice. The first time I used my very first earnings to buy a toy for my daughter back before she could crawl or walk. Now that I've hit my Steemit anniversary I decided to enjoy a bit of my earnings and cashed out again. I bought a gift for myself: four ducklings. And I used the rest to help buy a gift for my daughter. My husband and I went halfsies and we got her a toy she can grow up with...

A castle for a princess.

IMG_3944.JPG

I will admit...we are living vicariously through the kid. Both my husband and I grew up poor and remember dreaming of having cool toys like other kids. There is also fear she's the only baby I can have. I have some health issues that make pregnancy dangerous and hard to achieve. Enjoying every moment of my daughter's life is my focus. This might be the only time I get to enjoy having a little one. They grow so fast.

Our daughter loves to climb. She spends 70% of her days climbing. I've been researching for a while toys great for toddlers who climb. My husband and I both agreed if we were going to get her a toy to climb on, it was going to be awesome. It was my idea to put it in her room. She's got the coolest room of any toddler.

We were only able to get our daughter a playhouse because of Steemit and because of a good going out of business sale.

IMG_3933.JPG

With a face like that how could we not spoil her a little?

IMG_3929.JPG

The night I put it together.

IMG_3936.JPG

IMG_3942 3.JPG

She has never used the door to go inside...

IMG_4352 2.JPG

After a year of hard work here it makes me happy to spend a little of my savings on my daughter. My little climber has something she can climb and hopefully it'll be a good toy until she's almost out of elementary school.

I'm very petite (4'11 in height) and I can fit inside the house and climb the tower with her. It's nice that while she's young I am able to play with her in it. Sometimes being petite is nice when it comes to playing with my kid.

My Advice To Others

If I have any advice to others it is that to succeed here you have to become part of the community. You have to comment and socialize and make friends. You can't just post and hope to become rich. The key to success is community. People working together to help one another. I have quite a few friends who I genuinely enjoy reading their posts. I give them my votes and comments because they are good members of the community and I love interacting with them. Those who are here for the long haul, those who work the hardest...that is what they want when they meet new users. They want to support and interact with people who will be positive members of the community.

Steemit can be a really fun place and you can easily get to know people if you put an effort into communicating. I never thought when I started here I'd know people I've never met in person so well. I never imagined I'd have daily conversations with Steemit friends in discord and even have it on my phone I talk to some so often. I never imagined when I started here how different my life would become. All because I worked hard to be part of the community, I've been successful here.

Now that I've completed a whole year here it's time to continue working hard and having fun. Maybe when I reach my two year anniversary my daughter will benefit again. I'm thinking she needs a pet goat or a bunny to keep the ducks company next year.
Sort:  

Goats are nice. A friend of mine had a goat and she was absolutely in love with him.

Congratulations on hitting one year.

I still remember the first time you commented on one of my stories. Since then I feel as though we've become good friends.

Here's to another year.

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! If you like me, just upvote my comment! 🦄🦄🦄

Congratulations friend and one year of many experiences shared with us, of friendship and good memories, we have learned many things together and those that are yet to be discovered. Many blessings and success for you and your family. Greetings and continue as an entrepreneur in everything that you propose.

Happy Steem-iversary! It looks like your daughter has quite a few hours of fun in that little castle!

Back when I worked as a photographer, we had five siblings come in for a photo shoot. They were all older (mid-30's) and one had dwarfism. She was probably only 3'6"! It was a fun shoot, although a bit tricky :-)

Haha, i am a very petit person too. Life is a lot easier when you are petit, atleast i convince my self to think so.
Princess castle is cute. Congrats on your steemit milestone,
Sending you and your family lots of love.

Nice, congratulations. I'll be hitting a year myself on the solstice.

Goat, bunnies and ducks - oh, my!! What a wonderful life!

Happy 1st Anniversary!! Much luck in your next year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72