My Husband Stepped Up While I Was Sick

in #life6 years ago (edited)

For a three week period I was sick and couldn't do any work out in our garden. I had plans to clear my weed covered garden beds but being sick put me out of commission. My husband who got really enthusiastic about gardening due to my own excitement decided he would do what he could to get my garden back on track in time for planting.

I'm so thankful my husband decided to help me with my garden beds. Without him I wouldn't be anywhere near ready to plant. The date for the last frost has passed and now is the time for planting. The biggest task that faced me was clearing garden beds that were completely overtaken by weeds. My husband who has a bad back was able to hire a friend of his to help him and they were able to get my garden beds cleared much faster than I could have done it myself.

Before

IMG_3020.JPG

After

IMG_3214.JPG

Carrots, radishes, lettuce, flowers, and maybe one other veggie will go along the driveway. These beds are nice because I don't have to walk far from the house to water my plants.

Carrots and Radishes Planted In Bed #1!

IMG_3712.JPG

The problem with our yard is most of it is mountainous. If you look under our house you'll see nothing but rock. Dig in the dirt in sections of our yard and you'll hit more rock. This is why we need raised beds to expand our garden. This has become my husband's focus. We decided the front yard was the perfect place for raised beds because it gets full sunlight and there is plenty of space. Inspired by staircase designed raised beds, my husband has been building us similar raised beds. The mountain is steep so a staircase bed is a perfect design. My husband's friend helped him dig out part of the mountain to make a staircase. Now my husband is putting in a frame.

Before

IMG_2935 3.JPG

IMG_2373.JPG

After

IMG_3671.JPG

IMG_3674.JPG

The raised beds are turning out nice. My husband is shortening them a bit because he got them too tall. Eventually, in future years we will beautify them by making them look more built into the mountain. Maybe we'll plant some decorative bushes around them. I've got a picture in my head. Trust me. It'll look beautiful.

Before

IMG_2348.JPG

My second set of garden beds were in the front of the house. This section really needed some work. There were thorn bushes here and deep roots. My husband's friend cleared the beds and tilled the dirt for me. Once I felt better I put down some nice, new dirt and fertilizer. This is the home of my pumpkins, peas, and beans. There is another patch like this on the other side of the porch. I haven't done anything to it yet but that side will be the home of my watermelon patch.

After

IMG_0222.JPG

As of right now I'm slowly moving my indoor seedlings outside. Getting sick really put me behind. My seedlings grew and some needed to go outside weeks ago but I was too sick. The plants in the ground in the pic above are my pumpkins. Some of the pumpkins got so large they got a little damaged during transplanting. Hopefully I won't lose too many.

I'll do a post soon showing off all the seedlings I have. I've been a bit overwhelmed. I started hundreds of seeds for a variety of plants but then getting sick for three weeks meant I couldn't tend to them. I've had so many seeds and plants around the house it's been crazy. I'll be glad when all of them are transplanted out in the garden.

Full List Of All Our Plants For This Year

Asparagus, broccoli, cauliflower, watermelon, pumpkin, squash, tomatoes, beans, peas, cucumbers, carrots, radishes, lettuce, collard greens, flowers, red corn, silver corn, raspberries, a fig tree, a currant bush, and strawberries.

Sort:  

You did absolutely a lot of remarkable work. You do know what you do :)

Excellent my friend

BTW : How is your rush ?

Thank you!! I'm a lot better and my rash is cleared up. One steroid shot cleared the rash up. So thankful for good medicine.

Hooray to good men!
I’m so excited for your potager! I hope my zucchini’s flower soon!

I'm so excited for all my garden. It'll be exciting to see those first flowers on my veggie plants too. I'm a good ways away from that though.

It’ll be quicker than you know it! Dehydrate some goodies, can some and eat tons! ☺️

The Inca pulled it off, with all those amazing stone terraces! I suppose you don't have the manpower of an entire civilization to pull that kind of feat off, though! Good luck with the planting. I hope you were able to clear enough periwinkle, so you don't have to go through that again!

I wish we had lots of manpower! It's all so much work. I actually need to clear some more periwinkle. At least I still have plenty of pills the are suppose to clear up any rash I get. My husband messed with some the other day and now he has a rash on his hands. It's some horrible stuff. We need to get it out of the section of the yard where our kid plays and we'll be done.

This is what we need to have in life we need people who backed us great to see this is happening in the game of life.

Very true. It's nice to have people we can depend on.

It's nice when the hubbie's go all out for you. Mine finished tilling our greenhouse. I only have three beds left to plant and then I can water the snot out of everything.

It's so nice to reach the point that planting is finished. We had such weird weather here that keeping my seedlings inside had to happen and I had to plant more seeds inside to keep on schedule. My kitchen is a greenhouse right now. I hope you get all your planting done soon. It's nice your husband helped you get some of the work done.

very many plants you of planting. it will need a lot of time to take care of him. if your condition sick really hurt to you, the plants can not well-preserved. you very lucky your husband help much as you are sick. BTW your child's so cute. :)

My kid is really cute! And yes, I'm lucky my husband helped me while I was sick. It's a lot of work to do alone.

Holy shit your hill is so steep looking! What area is this?

I live in northeastern Tennessee. It's pretty mountainous where I live. Our house is perched on the side of a mountain. The front yard hill is the bottom and then our back yard is a steep climb upwards.

Nice!!! It is looking so nice!! :)

Thank you!!!

Hello friend and I really change everything is very nice, I loved the photos, I hope to see much more, thanks to your husband had a very beautiful act .. Greetings

@marxrab You have earned a random upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34