Swimming With My Pet Duck Smokey

in #life6 years ago

Smokey, one of my pet ducks, and I shared a quick dip in the swimming pool. Ever since we got our ducks I've really wanted to put one in the pool to see it swim around. She's such a pretty duck and a sweetheart.

IMG_6114 2.jpg

Smokey sadly started developing "angel wing" which is basically when young ducks wing feathers develop so that they stick out at a weird angel. In young ducks you can try to correct this by bandaging or taping their wing in the correct position and by changing their diet. I tried correcting her angel wing by taping her wing up with waterproof medical tape. Getting tape off of feathers is difficult so putting her in the pool was a tactic to try to wet the tape to make it less adhesive.

Outside of the pool Smokey is a fast runner and she can jump! I'm surprised a duck can jump as high as her. In the pool, she was much more cooperative and I was able to remove the tape more easily.

It was a hot day and I think Smokey enjoyed her dip in the pool. It's amazing how waterproof feathers can be. The water just rolled off of her. She floated on top of water like she was weightless. I wish I had a deeper pool for my four ducks so they could swim in deep water. I'd never put all four in our human swimming pool because of the duck poo but at least I could justify the one swim with little Smokey.

Banner marx.jpg

Sort:  

I am so sorry to hear about Smokies angel wing. Thank God she has you because that would be the kiss of death in the wild.

I bought ducks for my kids when they were little, the kids and the Ducks, and what a wonderful experience that was. I have a small pond at the side of my yard and they would take a dip in there. Before they were old enough I used to put them in a little kiddie pool.

Much as I love those little ducks, the duck poo would be a no thank you. Thank you for sharing your stories and I look forward to the next one.

Upped and steemed

Tip!

Aww thanks for the tip! It's always nice to hear about other duck owners experiences. My daughter loves the ducks so I'm glad we have them for her. Yeah, the duck poo is terrible. Thankfully we have a big yard so it's not a problem these days as they free range. Their duck pool water gets pretty nasty though.

OMGosh! Yes!

Very Nasty!

So cool swimmming with your duck I hope the tape can fix her winfg problems

Omg, your ducks are growing so fast. The first time I saw them they were not that big, how old are them now?
I hope that she gets better soon and that angel wing can be fixed.

My best wishes for you, your family and your pets!

Aww, fun!

Oh your ducks have feathers now. So what does that mean for Smokey's quality of life if he has Angel wings? Aside from giving him character does it hamper him in anyway?

Do the girl ducks tease him about it?

Haha... A friend of the family had a mating pair move into her swimming pool, and can't evict them. Apparently, they're legally protected!

Yours are probably cuter, though. Mallards, these days...

Yes, having duck poo in the pool would be gross. Glad you could fix the angel wing.

Definitely smoky is too cute.i think u enjoy their company a lot.

Hi @marxrab! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30