A moment in time

in #life6 years ago

I'm sorry if it seems I am overly melodramatic at times when I write about my depression here in Steemit.

This is but one avenue that I use to be able to put down in words the truth that in life I don't even say.

I have battled depression from time to time recalling when I was eight years old and wanted to die. What could fuck a kid so much that he thought of ending it so early.

My parents at that time was having a rough patch. It came to the point that there was physical abuse in both sides and I saw it all.

There is something very traumatizing to see your parents wield bladed objects and threaten to kill each other.

I remember screaming for them to stop and they would continue fighting while I ran to the safety of my eldest sister's arms and cry.

My pops would leave for another year, go back to his work and my matriarch went on as if nothing happened. In those days separating was unheard of and the woman usually blamed for domestic issues.

She felt pressured by everyone to keep a home amidst all the problems and unfortunately she took it against me.

I am my father's son. I am a spitting image of him. Even my aunts tell me that when I smile it is as if they are looking at him when we were of the same age.

I constantly reminded the matriach of her husband that at times she loathed. No matter what I did it was never good enough.

I remember my sister to be the one that celebrated all my major milestones in life. She attended all my graduations, PTA meetings and even the few times that I got seriously sick and had to go to the hospital she was the one there.

The matriarch at that point busied herself in work and building her empire. Yet when she saw me, I could see it in her eyes that deep seated hatred.

I remember numerous times of being whipped for any wrong doings that she perceived. Sometimes I feel that she makes things up just to have that excuse to punish me.

I grew numb from all the lashings I received from her when I was a kid. I thought of other things when I was lying face down while she took her belt and smacked it on my bottom.

These things would stop when my father was around. This was why I cherished those moments when we go camping and hikes. Away from the troubles. Away from her.

Always the cycle of violence would be there as they would fight. I remember going home from school one day to see the matriach's leg bleeding, a cut from a jungle bolo strike inflicted on her.

My father would leave during those instances and again she would take it out on me.

I guess this was the reason why I found solace in escaping my world through books and video games. That was my form of escapism in this mad world.

o9yr8ovtg6.png

I still remember that day , it was a Sunday and the matriarch usually would be shouting at the maids for not doing a good job even after all the training she gave them. I usually would be locked in my room reading from the many books that I have.

I remember hearing the cries of one of the younger maids as I heard slaps. Apparently she was missing some money from her purse.

I hear her go upstairs and open my door. I hear her shouting but as I have been accustomed to do, I tuned her out as I continued burying my face in the book that I was reading.

I remember her yanking the book out of my hands and clench my face all the while shouting more.

She goes through my cabinet and sees under some of my clothes a stack of bills. Even at a young age I was already saving. I saved some of the allowances that I got from her. I save whatever my sister give me when I shine her shoes. I bought and sold toys and traded cards to some of my friends.

To her it was the smoking gun. It was all the evidence she needed even when I tried to tell her were the money came from. Instead of being proud all I could see was her fury.

It was the worst beating I got and my sister was not home that day so no one stopped her. She was out filming a movie and has not been home for several days.

I remember quietly sobbing in my dark room asking God why. I wanted to die at that point. I wanted to make the ultimate escape and end it.

I had read enough books to know how people killed themselves. Either with knives, falling off a bridge, a gun in their mouth and poison.

To an eight year old child finding a bridge was a bit difficult, access to a gun was impossible, knives was not something I wanted to do and so poison was the way to go.

I reached out to the medical cabinet and saw bottles of cough syrup, fever medicine, antacids. I remember she had sleeping pills as well because she found falling asleep difficult.

I went to her room and hearing her softly snore I got the bottle of sleeping pills. Going back to my room I mixed all that I could in a sticky bitter solution.

I drank it all while popping pills like M & M's. I don't know if it was because of the mixture but instead of falling asleep I started vomiting so much and all the pills that I ingested was flushed out.

I couldn't even die. I was sick for a couple of days and hardly ate. Food that was brought to my room was untouched.

I remember my sister finally getting home and she gave me an earful for doing something so dumb. Yet she hugged me the entire time.

I cried as I have never done before and never left my room. My sister constantly supplied me with new video games as she waited for me to heal. Never questioning nor trying to hurry me.

Eventually summer ended and I needed to go back to school so I left my room and proceeded with life and yet I knew that a part of me died that night because I was never the same again.

Sometimes I fancy myself watching my life unfold as if reading the life of another person. I sometimes feel detached and more alive when I read a story or play through the life of a game avatar.

These days I feel that I am just going through the motions and just waiting for that moment to die.

Sort:  

God Mave, that's awful! I'm so terribly sorry that your childhood looked like that! I notice you don't call her mom or mother, for obvious reasons too. No child should ever have to go through that ... now you're making me cry ...for that little eight year old boy that deserved so much more than he ever received in life.

Do you think a lot of people with depression etc has had some kind of traumatic experience when they were younger? Just curious.

And never feel badly for expressing yourself here either. If it's therapeutic, then do it. Please. I'll always be here to listen :) <3<3

Thank you Lynn it really warms my heart whenever you pass by.

I have worked with abuse children when I volunteered for a non government organization here and a lot of them are depressed and often times blame themselves to what happened to them.

They think that its their fault, that just by living they were to blame to what happened and most times they do not recognize the abuse because they are so used to it.

It really broke me and through therapy and my sisters I was able to have a semblance of life after.

Sometimes I look back and think what else I could have done.

You are most welcome Mave; I'm so glad that I can be a positive in your life :)

Sometimes I look back and think what else I could have done.

...and that's the worse thing to do I think. Hindsight is always 20/20. I always think about people's motivations when I'm thinking about their actions, so as a kid, I'm guessing there wasn't anything you could have done differently to change things, mostly because it wasn't you that needed changing.

Sending lots of love and hugs my friend.

I went through similar. My sperm-donor never wanted me. He was from the South and had the stupid thought in his head boys should be born first and that girl were useless. I remember several incidents from when my parent were still married. Which you know is bad when they divorced when I was 5 and I am almost 50.

He was the cause and start of my low self-esteem and my depression. Luckily/sadly enough I saw him every other weekend. I did not have to put up with him day in and day out as you had to go through. I was about 2yrs old, I remember hearing a loud bang that scared me while I was watching Sesame Street. I remember him sitting there with a gun. My mom told me later (in life) that he said he was cleaning the gun and 'it just went off' It hit the floor an inch from me. Another incident I remember from that time was being thrown down the stairs, him standing at the top laughing.

When I confronted him about it years later he said he didn't recall any of this happening and that I was making things up. HOW in the world do you make up memories so vivid like that. I can even remember smelling his cigarette smoke.

When my brother was right around 12 mos old (I'm fuzzy on the age) we moved. I was playing with my brother and a ball. The ball rolled under his crib, I crawled under to get it, my back caught the release for the crib side and my brother went flying out of the crib. My mom was first in the room, took my brother to the bathroom to try to get the bleeding to stop. My sperm-donor came in the room and all I remember is the look on his face. I cannot tell you what happened. That whole time is completely blank. Shortly, after that I was standing on chair about 3 feet behind the sperm-donor he was cooking refried beans. I thought I was being silly and said that it looked like poo. I was backhanded off the chair, hit my head so hard I bit my tongue. Again I cannot tell you what happened after that. I remember horrible screaming matches between the two of them. A lot until he left. I have holes in my memories from that time.

He tried to kill me 3 more times growing up and the last one I was 31 years old. He put his hand around my neck. The look in his eyes, I will NEVER forget. I kept repeating to him to do it. 'This is what you have always wanted, why stop now.' 'Oh you're too chicken because you can't claim it was an accident, that you would actually go to jail" I admit I was horrible. That was when I said I was done. When he died a few years ago, I cried for a minute then came to my senses and had such a profound sense of relief. Still do.

I know hearing the 'everything will be ok', 'oh I understand', 'You just need to snap out of it.' is a few of the worst things anyone going through what you have been through can say. I wanted to share part of what I went through to show you I really do understand. It's a daily struggle. Some days are good. Some days are bad. I could be having a wonderful day and something as simple as a smell can drop me to my knees. To this day I cannot stand the smell of the original Old Spice or Aramis(if that's even still around)

I am by no means an expert. I have tried and failed A LOT over the years or learning how to live with my conditions. My official diagnosis is PTSD, major depression/bi-polar I (I don't get manic I have severe lows) generalized anxiety disorder and social anxiety disorder. It's been the last 5 years that I finally have gotten the right therapist who has taught me better ways of coping with the feelings become overwhelming.

If there is anything I can do please let me know. I'm a great listener. I WILL NEVER condemn someone for these thoughts. In fact, here's one that will get you...It's normal. So many try to make it out to it being a negative. We know it's not pleasant going through these moments, but having the thoughts honest and truly are normal. We have to work on not beating ourselves up over them. We need to learn how to work through it and cope with it. You know as well as I do, these moments last sometime for a day or two or can hang around for months.

You have people here that care about you. One of them knows about my situation and what one of my goals are. She asked me to stop by. I am really glad I did. I've read some of your posting before, I've been kind of a lurker. One of the things I am still working on overcoming. This though is truly close to my heart, I hate seeing or hearing other in so much pain. Especially since I know what it's like. I usually withdraw from everyone and everything.

Hang in there. Like I said if you ever need anything please let me know. I think we're in some of the same Discord group if not my ID is in my banner. You are worthy.

I honestly cried while reading your comment.

This sounds so much like me

I am by no means an expert. I have tried and failed A LOT over the years or learning how to live with my conditions. My official diagnosis is PTSD, major depression/bi-polar I (I don't get manic I have severe lows) generalized anxiety disorder and social anxiety disorder.

One that I have hid from most of the world because I am person that they need to see strong and have everything in place and successful.

I have shied away from most of my closest friends and have resorted to the excuse of being busy while often escaping into the world of video games and books.

It means so much for you to reach out like this and say I am worthy.

I am still crying as I type these words and at a lost at what to say aside from thank you.

Aww. It is so hard when others don't understand. I usually know when I'm in trouble when I lose interest in reading and playing games. I had started art therapy and really like it. I never seem to have time for it. I know it's crucial for me to do something of the above. Lately, Steemit has been my outlet. I have found it very cathartic. One of my mom's 'things' was 'Never put anything into writing, it can be used against you.' So I had that obstacle. I decided that I would just be me on here and if people don't like it, it's their problem.

I know it's hard to hear you're worthy when you have been through what you have been through. You really are. It's people like your matriarch and my sperm-donor that are not worthy of us. We are beautiful and we deserve so much more than we were given.

I feel bad that you're crying but I understand that too. I try to take everything moment by moment. If I have had a bad day, we'll see what tomorrow brings.

💜💜💜 You're very welcome 🙂

She's amazing right Mave?! You are worthy my friend.

I'm so glad that you stopped by @tryskele! And by the way, this is totally not "just stopping by". I'm giving a huge weepy hug right now too. Sorry about the snot on your shoulder.

You are worthy too.

Thank you.

Aww. I'm glad it helped both of you. He's a great guy. Just sucks he's has a parental unit that blamed him. I get strong feelings in that area. I will never understand how a parent could ever treat their child that way. I don't have to like the things my kids do, but I will love them no matter what. That became the result of my issue with my sperm donor. I think what hurt me more, is the fact he took his issues with me out on my children. They didn't deserve that at all.

It's something I will never ever understand either!

Kids don't deserve that. Period. And yeah, yours sure didn't either!

I upvoted your post.

Best regards,
@Council

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

This was a good painful read, and its sad that like those days, there are still many kids going through this and do not get help, either because they dont know how too or are afraid of even more worse circumstances so they dont speak uo and grow up with messed up emotions, which for some its hard to get out off as an adult.

Let us strive to be better parents.

Yeah it was a sad point in my life and I am hoping to be a better person in the future

I have no words. I just want to hug you right now and pray that you forget those times. I seriously cried reading this. Just how? :(

I am sorry I made you sad with this :(

I was trying to remove some of the pain in my heart and express it through my writing in an effort to exorcist it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22