May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Six: What Is Your Main Reason For Staying On Steemit?

in #life6 years ago

Your reason for why is such a powerful idea that can move mountains and create opportunities for people to follow your vision, If someone was to ask me 6 months ago this question my answer would be to heal my emotional wounds.

If they were to ask me 3 months ago I would say it is because of community building. 6 months into the platform my answer would be because of the freedom it gives and the ability to exercise the gifteconomy by upvoting content that has value to you, or advocacy that you want to support.

Where else will I be able to provide a portion of my upvote that will benefit someone from Venezuela or that an upvote that I do will mean that poor school children from will have school supplies.

image.png

From Unsplash - Raw Pixel

I am still writing to heal my emotional wounds but seeing that the community is very supportive and caring I am able to move past if most of the time.

I am still active in community building and helping people become the best versions of themselves in Steemit by mentoring and being in communities with like-minded individuals who want to help redfishes and minnows grow.

Now I am involved in supporting charities like You Are Hope(@youarehope) and Tazewell Animal Rescue Center (@tarc) One favorite line that struck me was someone I respect said that our Voting power replenishes each day by 20% you are not losing anything by upvoting any worthwhile cause or supporting a person in need. That 100% voting weight upvote you give will come back after a few hours.

I believe that Steem is one of the best ways of humanizing the blockchain. Nowhere else, for now, can we have a platform that combines the functions of a blog, Youtube, Twitch, Twitter, Instagram, Fundraising, Open Source contributions and a social media platform all in one.

We are only two years in and there are a ton of things that can still be done to improve the user experience and retention. We have almost every month a new app being released on the platform.

People can invest in the platform and create communities that cater to what they care about like music, art, charities, and programs. Best thing is when you invest in your SP you are bound to have a near endless cycle of being able to upvote on things that you care about and you are not losing any money.

Traditionally, when you support a charity you send them money and you right it off as a tax exemption but that money is out of your hands and into what the charity will use it for. If you put the same amount of money into Steem power and you upvote a post by a charity that is in Steem then you will be able to continually
provide help again and again and again. That is the power of the gifteconomy.

The more that you give, the more people you help and you never lose it. Nowhere else can we do something like this. So that is why reason I stay in Steemit.

I will do my best to support charities and the dreams of people so that they will have the freedom to become the best versions of themselves.

Sort:  

This is so beautiful, Mave (Like anything you write). I didn't know about the charities you mentioned, I gave them my upvote and follow. Hope to be giving back to them in the future, too. You're really inspiring, as usual, with your generosity and forward thinking. It's true that Steemit is a platform that's built on the premise that the more you give, the more rewarded you get - and that's so important and powerful. It's a beautiful community! :)

Awwww Thanks Juli! you are so wonderful to have done that. I don't think that I am that inspiring but I thank you for that. I think you are inspiring as everytime we talk you give me a new topic to write about.

Yes the gift economy is a wonderful idea in Steemit and hope more people will live by it.

What Is Your Main Reason For Staying On Steemit?

One of the reasons why I'm staying and loving Seemit is because I find it a promising social media platform. It's not just about the rewards. It's more about the positive vibes, learning and new found friends.

Have a nice day sir Mav!
Keep on shining!

It's more about the positive vibes, learning and new found friends.

Indeed these are the things that makes us stay in Steemit. It is just wonderful meeting new people and seeing great initiatives.

I wish 70 of steemians will be like you mav. I can't wait to build my power learn a lot from you cos I will sure follow your course and be successful wish you all the best on your quest and in your contest come out with flying colors

Well I would be happy even if 5 people be more giving and helping other people.

Ooh I wanna join too. I have alsipo posted something. It's kinda like a cheesy but sweet challenge. Please join too. It would make me and girlfriend happy :)

Ohhh I saw your contest and left a comment and an upvote but don't like showing my face hahaha

Ooh. I guess steemians do not want showing their faces hahahaha

I always stay because of the friends that I have here in Steem. I want to have more friends too. I learn a lot in here also.

That is true we often stay because of our friends and communities! we are alos here to learn more.

Well Mave, I asked myself the same question during the weekend! My conclusion was for the friends I made on the Steem Blockchain!
Nothing more, nothing less!

Yeah it is pretty awesome some of the connections that we have established in this Platform that make us what to go back and read some more.

hey you must try this they are offering free 30 days upvote service for limited time. i am using it for 2 weeks, They upvote my every new post Click here to see the offer

Nice going there. I see what you are trying to do.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Thank you sir @maverickinvictus! And I am happy to run with kind-hearted people like you.

I get inspired reading blogs like yours. With that genuine heart for the charity, salute to that! Will probably hand you a lil' gift for your community :) have a good day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67