Getting back into the rhythm of full time work is fun

in #life5 years ago (edited)

That was a kinda big week


My first full week back in the world of employment is done. And it was quite a sizeable week.

Monday started at 3:30am with a 6 hour drive to site. And the day didn't end until 6:30pm. I was a little sleepy at the end of that day to say the least.

I'm starting to get familiar with the sites that I'm working across and my responsibilities. And the more time I spend on site the more excited I get about the work that I'll be involved in.

Part of my role is rehabilitating land for significant species of fauna, one of these species is the Malleefowl which is endangered in Victoria. It's a ground dwelling bird that builds huge mounds as its nests. The mounds are designed to keep their eggs warm so you typically don't see the birds roosting like you will for your typical bird species.

The Malleefowl

The sites that I am looking after are in regional Victoria, and in prime agricultural land. It's a very different landscape from what I am used to. Most of my time in the mining industry to date has been in desert country rather than this landscape. I'm not complaining at all, but what it means is that some of the rehabilitation works that I'll be completing will be to bring the land back to cropping pastures rather than native vegetation. But there are plenty of areas that need to be brought back to native vegetation: The image below is a site that I'll be rehabilitating back to Malleefowl habitat, which is pretty damn exciting in my books.

My role covers a huge amount of land, and I drove most of that land this week. I'm working across 2 mine sites, one train loading facility and will assist with managing a third site and processing ore processing facility at times as well. My role requires so much travel that I actually drove for a total of 15 hours in 5 days. With 2 of those days being office based. Thankfully I enjoy a long drive, so the driving doesn't bother me in the slightest. One problem to resolve however is to get the car I've been given cleaned up. Whoever owned it before me must have lived in mud... the car is a freaking disaster.

Not that dissimilar to my vehicle's condition

Needless to say, I'm going to fork out for the car to be detailed this weekend. Even if I can't claim it back as an expense. I don't plan on spending 15 hours a week in that disaster.

Mine site rehabilitation is an exciting space to be in. It's inspiring to see a mining company get it right. In my previous roles I saw more mistakes than positive outcomes. The image below is a bit of a test plot to see what type of diversity could be achieved through seeding and the planting of seedlings. At a glance you can see how well the area is regenerating.

It's hard to tell from the image but there's a tonne of small trees growing in there amongst a lot of small to medium height shrubs. In 5 years time that site will look incredible and will be providing excellent habitat to a wide range of native species.

Anyway, I just thought I'd give a little update. On the gym front, the sale is still proceeding. So I spend most nights doing administration work for the business and organising the sale of the business. Sleep isn't a friend at the moment so I'll be thankful when the sale is complete so that I can solely focus on my new role and have a normal sleep pattern.


Sort:  

Wow. I'm so glad you have something you're enjoying, @mazzle. You've commented quite a bit about how land is being mismanaged or misused by the government or the developers and so forth, so to actually be part of a land conservation reclamation effort is right up your alley.

As far as driving goes, I'm with you. I don't mind driving at all. Gives me a chance to think. Also, I'm assuming you're getting compensated for it in some way, which generally helps. Regardless, you seem to be settling right in.

Except for sleep deprivation. That's not so good, but the business sale will eventually happen and you'll have that off your plate. Then, you can sleep. :)

Thanks mate, it is a pretty nice part of the industry to be in. There's a tonne of work to do and I keep seeing big gaps in the legislative side of things. But we'll get those problems fixed and all will be well.

I do get compensated for the hours spent driving. And I get a car to use while on or off site as well plus free fuel. So that's nice.

I can't wait to have the business sold. Then my weekends will be mine again. :)

glad to see everything is gonig well!
Hopefully youll have more time for steemit too

Doubtful lol :P

I am amazed at your job, I wouldn't be able to enjoy it since i hate long drives, but it's amazing that you get to see much of the land and doing meaningful work at rehabilitating it... <3

Hope your car will be improved .... specially since you will be doing a lot of driving in it !

Always nice to see an update from you, mazza <3

Thanks Spoder. It is exciting stuff. I can't wait to see some of the sites I'm working on fully rehabilitated. That will be a nice day.

This line of work has give me a chance to see a huge amount of the country actually. I've been to the remotest parts of WA and NT and have travelled extensively throughout WA and parts of North Queensland. It's a nice perk that comes along with this type of work.

Driving isn't a bad thing. You can put on some music or a podcast and it gives you some good thinking time.

My car will get a good clean this weekend. It will be fine. :)

Hi @mazzle!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.240 which ranks you at #2697 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 2701).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #70.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mazzle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hey congrats. I totally missed the you back at work thing. lol
And at least you are still in Victoria :-D
Now your dream of reaching 5000 SP is well within your sites. Just wait a few weeks and you'll be able to buy that plus more for just a few hundred bucks :-P

Lol. Hitting dolphin status st a heavily discounted Steem price is both good and bad. We really need to see that next bull run.

I’ll be in Melbs for a couple more months but will be in Adelaide soon. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75