A Wisp Of Nothing

in #life5 years ago (edited)

IMG-PHOTO-ART-285043468_20190908141134227.jpg

You are kidding me, right?

The Good Lady stood at the entrance of the living room with a hand on her hip and an expression on her face that could deflate a tumescent penis at a hundred yards.

I raised my head weakly from the couch on which I lay, like an old bag of washing.

I opened my mouth to speak but all that came out was a feeble croak as if I were a dried-out old frog in a shoe.

comica1fh_20190906153858769_20190908143628647_1.jpg

The Good Lady raised an eyebrow to add to her already stern expression. Somewhere, a kitten died.

You do know you are sitting in your underpants? In the lounge?

The Good Lady had very definite ideas about what should be worn and where. Unfortunately, these ideas often seemed to involve sensible shoes.

I looked at her with sad eyes. Eyes of suffering. Eyes that spoke the volumes it seemed that my voice could not.

I raised a hand tremulously like an old pope wanting a bit of ring-kissing.*
*a term which takes on a whole new meaning in the 21st century...

She stepped in and waved away my wavering hand.

Are you seriously this hungover... Again?!

comica1fh_20190906153858769_20190908143703189.jpg

Hmmph.

I shook my head and my body joined in in a convulsive shiver.

No, baby. I'm not hungover, honest??

I managed to squeak out in a less manly voice than I normally like to think I possess.

Well, get up and get washed and get dressed. There are people coming round.

The Good Lady said more flatly than one of her famous omelettes.

It was ok, she thought I was hungover. She didn't know I was ill. Why else would I be lolloping around in my pants and making whiny noises? I had awoken from a fevered slumber with a scratchy throat and a strange all-over ache that screamed, MAN-FLU.

Not the man-flu that women sneer and laugh at. Oh no, proper man-flu. Of the kind that would kill a woman if they were ever to suffer such a thing.

Fortunately for them, it appears to only strike the strong and doughty.

And the strong and doughty in this case, was me.

comica1fh_20190906153858769_20190908144115663.jpg

She stood there still. Stern, commanding and tough. But it was ok, it was just because she thought I was hungover and malingering. She thought it was self-inflicted.

She was a loving sort though.

When she realised what I was going through it would break her heart and her soft side would come screeching to the fore.

I mustered all the strength I had and managed to speak again.

I'm ill. I feel terrible. I think it's the flu or something. Look at me. I'm BROKEN...

I made a forlorn sniffing noise and fluttered my eyelashes wetly at her.

Beuuurkk.

She made a strange and mad clucking sound.

Yer arse. It's probably just the cold. Get up, get washed and get dressed. We have people coming round.

I looked at her with incomprehension. Maybe she hadn't heard? I thought I would repeat myself for her dull and senseless ears.

Didn't you hear? I am ill. I feel really awful and...

UP!!! In the SHOWER!! Come on, we have people coming round?!

She grabbed a cushion and started flailing at me as if I were a sheep and she wanted to daub my arse with blue paint.

WTFUNK?!?!

Feebly I got to my feet and trudged off to the shower. Maybe I would download Tinder or something and get a better wife.

When I was better that is.

Sort:  

This is now sadly where your track record comes into play.........hungover on Sunday. Hope you survived the visit and do not spread your manly germs to the rest of the family.

They do seem to be remarakably immune. Maybe it was more of a hangover although I will never admit it! :OD

@meesterboom hello dear friend, I don't know what the reason is for the men of the house not to get sick, after a night of beer, everything is associated with the hangover.
There is nothing but the cold, that take away the desire for everything
Recover soon dear friend
I wish you a prosperous week

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

'a term which takes on a whole new meaning in the 21st century...'

Invented just for fun by BeneDicktus XVI if I'm not mistaking ...

It wouldn't surprise me in the slightest! That Benedicktus had a way about him!

She can't possibly comprehend the severity of your infliction, even if she was more empathetic it would be empathy only befitting that of mere weak ailments, like cancer or aids. No the only possible vector she has is that of childbirth and unfortunately, that is reserved for only woman to woman pussy-flu. Get well soon.

I found myself nodding whilst reading this, or it could have been my man plague.

They will never know the depths of the cross we have to bear..

Haha! Merciless! Did you have a fine visit with guests coming over then?

Congratulations @meesterboom! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Lol. Man flu. It's not even winter there yet. Well, except for the perpetual Scottish winter...

The MAn Flu is real! I am snotting and sniffing like no-ones business!! :O)

hey boomie! long time no chat (i know i know, i have been MIA for a couple months...so busy golfing and sailing ;0) HOpe that man-flu never took hold ;0)
Anyway, I logged in to take a gander about, and I upvoted a few posts...SO I gave you a handsome upvote, but I noticed it took away 30cents instead of adding like 10 or 11 cents....I,m hoping you can tell me what's going on here

OMG!?! You have come back to downvote me!?!

OMGZLE!!!

I TRUSTED YOU!!

Hehe, I have no idea lass! There is a new curve in and the calculations are all a bit goosed in the front ends, i think that might be it!

I hope it is! Nice to see ya! :0D

there's no way i hit down vote! its def a green arrow! does steemit not want me to vote? is it cause i'm 3 days out on that post? or do you have so much steem you don't need anymore...lol

I have all the steems, it's been decided!! ;0P

aha! i just upvoted your new post and it popped up 15cents! you're rich again ;0)

The world has been put to rights!! :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43