Apocalypse Beers!

in #life5 years ago

151655sh_20180512105404503_20190907100403022.jpg

RUN!! The APOCALYPSE IS COMING!!!

Well, actually you don't really need to run when the Apocalypse in question is a beer apocalypse. Unless of course, you were running toward it.

Which is what I would do!

So why the Apocalypse?

Because of the apocalyptic beers we have this week, of course!

In this case, we have two stouts which certainly sound apocalyptic but are they really? Do they cut the mustard of being both apocalyptic and splendidly beery?

That is a question that I, as your humble reviewer, am keen to find out. So, bring on the Apocalypse!

Whilst we are at it, let's have some apocalyptic Mongolian Metal music to go with those dastardly beers!

Please forgive the rubbish videos tonight, I have a bit of a cold and can barely see without squinting and dripping from my nose. I am half hoping the beer might cure me because of course, that's a thing that happens, isn't it?

Isn't it?

So, to the first cheeky apocalyptical beer!

k461506-picsay_20190810193418322_20190824125701330_20190831123146252_20190907203456077.jpg

This is a strange one. The word Raspberry on the can, of course, put the frighteners on me after last weeks garbage raspberry beer but I was willing to give this one a pass, as it is a stout and stouts can take whacky flavours without being rubbish.

Hopefully...

So let's pour this harbinger of the end of everything.

pixlr.jpg

What in the death rides a pale horse nonsense is this!? I almost literally cannot get this thing to pour without it exploding into a supernova of froth.

The first attempt made it seem like it was a practical joke of a can. I had to chuck it out and start again and the second was not much better.

I am already giving this beer the snark eye...

20190907_193842.jpg

That's more like it. Now to taste the little bugger. I must say, I can catch the odd whiff off strange fruit from it. It isn't very appealing?

Oh my GOD?!?! This is GOUFING!?!?! GOUF?! Which is a fine Scottish word that is pronounced like GOW-F.

The plastic artificialness of the fruit is like that bad dress that your girlfriend insists on wearing to a wedding with you and all night you have to pretend she is just a madwoman you picked up at a bus stop?!

Bleurgh?! 1/10 booms?! The 1 being a pity point!

Get the next one up!

k461506-picsay_20190810193418322_20190824125701330_20190831123146252_20190907204509303.jpg

This one surely wins the prize for the most original and entertaining name for a beer ever?! When the Bear Man mentioned it I thought he was going to start talking about enlarged prostates and all that kind of jazz. But no! A beer.

Let's get it poured.

20190907_194846.jpg

Now that is more like it. A slightly murky, inky black as if someone has stuck several ninjas in a food processor and given them a whirl with some liquorice. Mmmm mmm! I feel my spidey sense tingling.

But will it fare any better apocalyptically...?

Oh, my flipping flip. This is delightful! I hardly know where to begin. For a start, it's chocolatey as hell, with the maple syrup coming through more strongly than any other maple beer I have had. But for all that maple it isn't overpowering. The taste then resolves into a smokiness which lingers tantalisingly on the tongue.

This is surely worthy of a mighty 10 booms!!!!

No doubt about it, the evening is saved! The night is not ruined. I, despite feeling like someone has shat in my head am a happy happy man!!

Hurrah for chocolate and maple beers!

Cheers everyone, have a lovely weekend!

20190907_194916.jpg

Sort:  

salut !BEER


Posted via Marlians.com

Oh sweet redemption! Touching on both ends of the spectrum is heavenly....glad you saved the best for last. Hope the beers take away the discomfort of your cold!! Happy weekend to the Boom household :)

And a happy weekend to the Lovelaces!! :0)

It was rather fortunate that the rubbish one was first and the smashing one second, both sides of the spectrum indeed!!

oh, beer! The most popular drink all over the world, I guess. and I am always surprised how many unusual linds of it are created in different countries. So weird tastes, mixes.. it's not a drink, it is an art already.
and even here in my country there is a stereotype that we all drink vodka all the time. Noooo!:)) people are crazy with beer;)

Those stereotypes are not to be trusted. Everyone things that we Scots only drink whisky!!

haha, btw yes!;)
Scotland here is associated with whisky and men's skirts only:)
one more - yachts. All Scots adore them. Is it true?:)

I have never heard of anyone here being that keen on yachts!!

haha, + 1 to stereotypes;)) investigation is going on;))
Bears don't walk in Russian streets either;))

They don't!?! Have I been lied to all these years!!! ;0)

ahaha!;))
noooo! no ruined fairytale! there are only bears in the streets here, no people, just bears and vodka;))

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Powerful sense of delight!!

Hehe, yes, that's more like it!!

Lol, pouring a glass full of head is not a good sign. You should get your money back on that one.

You know, I have never ever contemplated getting my money back for a duffer!! I can imagine the faces if I tried!

The last beer actually sounds bloody nice. Get better soon and stop dreaming of a pool full of balls.

It was a cracker of a thing. Only slightly spoiled by my seething man cold!! And I still have it, grrr

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a delayed resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

That 1/10 ten beer got off very lightly I would like to say. I have come to expect far more profanity., this just wont do!

I am falling down with the cold, it has totally thrown me off my game. I almost skipped the videos as I didnt think I could do them without dribbling from the nose!! Oh dear! The second is smashing though!

Yes it sounds like it.., these strange beers seem to give you the most horrible hangovers though. I have read about it many times in your Sunday posts.

I think it is the strength of them. They are way stronger than your normal beers and I get two of each just in case they are really good (which works out really poorly when they are rubbish)

Obviously no-one makes me drink them I am just a fool that way! :OD

How's the cold? Maybe that first one was medicine and that's why it was so bad. It prepared you enjoy the full flavour of the next one...or not.

Just glad you can taste still. I hate it when a cold takes away your sense of taste.

Posted using Partiko Android

The cold is worse today!! I think it's taste buds affecting now as well. Oh woe is me!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17