Coastal Beers!

in #life5 years ago

151655sh_20180512105404503_20190112193104709.jpg

It's January, practically Spring! What can be better in Spring than gadding down to the coast for a bit of a fanny about in the sand and the sea and of course... Let's not forget the fabulous coastal beers!

Yes, this week we have two very special beers with a great affinity for the coast. One has claggy twiggy bits of weed in it and the other is made in iron pots in a coastal farmhouse.

It has been a very busy day today and I tried to get ahead of the game by letting the little lady choose the order of the beers tonight. What did she choose?

Raar! She knows her beers that one.

Well, I am chanking at the bit. So let's go!!!

Datdud_20180707150822755_20180714102056118_20180721131224161_20180728163501919_20190112194338479.jpg

I know what you are thinking, that I have gone mad with this samphire nonsense!?

Well, it can't be cask-conditioned Porters and Stouts every week. Although you should see next week, bloody smashing. Anyway.

To the samphire!

20190112_195146.jpg

Well, there was a head but in the time it took me to pick up my camera it was gone. It's a pale gold, reminiscent of an eighties lager. Doesn't look too bad considering the eighties were shit.

Let's see...

Ooft, that is a salty wee bastard and no mistake. In quite the oddly good way, I must say. Right good sour kick behind it with the briny condensation drips falling from the ceiling of a cheap gym following it up.

Top notch, 7/10 booms!

And next we have the Oirish thingymybob. The Farmhouse Rye.

Bring it on!!

Datdud_20180707150822755_20180714102056118_20180721131224161_20180728163501919_20190112194338479_20190112205838985.jpg

As the crow flies, Ireland isn't really so far from Scotland. We have a lot in common with our neighbors except for our accents.

The Scots have an authoritative, commanding tone to their fine and handsome voices and the Irish tend to sound like angry cat's locked in a box.

I still love you though, neighbours!

But enough of accents, were only here for the beer!

This one is from a Brewery near a beach in Donegal. How quaint!

Let's slop it into my craic and see how it goes!

20190112_210451.jpg

Hmm, I have had many a Rye ale and to a man each of them has been darker and more fierce looking than this fellow. This one is a slightly browning gold.

Well we won't find out how it tastes until it goes down the hatch so get to it video man!

Not beefy enough. There you go, three words that sum up this slightly watery ale. It seems to have gotten all the bitterness of rye but bypassed a lot of the flavour.

Hmm, this one will only get 6/10 booms.

Not the fine ending I was hoping for but an ending none the less. I have more beers in the chiller and now a dry bitter mouth to wet with them.

I hope you have a good weekend!

20190112_212408.jpg

Cheers!!

Sort:  

Cheers, a beautiful young lady with a talent for humour like a dad....

She is, my special girl and so funny too!

She needs to record more video material than you, do not hide big talents from us!

She was very keen to get in on it! I didn't have any choice but to let her!

It's time to open a new Steemit profile - queenboom!

Hehe, I might do that ;0)

Let me know when she opens the profile, I want to be her biggest fan.
P.S.
Do not be jealous of better talents than you :)

Lol, I won't be! I will be cheering her on ;0)

Beer and fanny, what more could a man want lol.

Sounds like a too combination there!!!

Lol. Salty beer,how did I know you were going to do that.

Haha, it just seemed to come naturally!

Well I think I would probably like the Rye more. Good reviews brother.

Cheers man! I like a Rye myself but this one was quite thin on taste

Entertaining as always and so glad to see the young lady - she looks exactly like I imagined - you have a beautiful family... now we would just like to see the good lady - I have a feeling she is a pretty little thing

She is indeed. Not so sure she is keen to appear in any of my nonsense though!!

Oh quite adorable! I think I even heard the baby Boomer getting in the action lol!

He did! It was the witching hour and he started his wailing!

With only two choices, who could blame the little lady for not picking a real winner. But, since there are only two, I guess she did pick the winner for the week so hurrah! Getting a head start of the beer game is never a bad thing! Baby steps is still progress after all!

Good grief, I never even noticed that she picked the winner. Awesome, I have found my oracle!!

You've had her all along!

Very entertaining as always. I want a pint now.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Only one answer for that, go get stuck in!! :0D

at least they weren't complete shit,
seeing you let the little lady set the order, now you will have to start training her in the proper flavours.
get a small glass and let her taste each different beer, so that when she turns 18 and is allowed to go and buy her own, the newness will have gone,
and there will be no mad panic to try and drink 18 years worth of beer overnight [remember your youth?].

I do remember it so the idea has some merit!!

She did well for her first choosing! I might let her do them all!

too often you see the youth hit the magic 18, into the pub, get as pissed as possible, all because they don't know what they are doing.
an occasional beer does no harm, they know what it tastes like, and they become the duty driver for the night.
suggest in somebody else's car so they don't get the mess to clean up afterwards.
as they get nearer 18, a quiet night where dad shows them what a hang over, complete with alligator shitting in the mouth all night feels/tastes like.
done under controlled conditions, it also helps them grow up.

Yep, that's pretty much the plan. I expect there will still be some shenanigans bit it should do the 18 and go berserk thing

they tend to stand back and laugh at their mates as they do the "get pissed" thing.
been there, got the hangover. don't want another thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73