Kelped

in #life5 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-1031120918-picsay.jpg

Daddy, how did the Kelpies get to be there?

The little lady asked as we sat having a picnic in the shadow of the majestic metal sculptures above.

I gave her an affectionate pat on the shoulder.

Well, lass. The Kelpies are actually two giant magical horses. Their names are Hoddit and Doddit. They lived back in the olden days and were hated by everyone because they were so mean.

The Little Lady looked up at me, her face slightly squivelled looking.

What did they do that was mean?

A good question lass!

Today, we had decided to go for a quick drive to the Kelpies. A large arty attraction in Scotland which consists of two giant horses heads rearing out of the ground.

It sounds shit but it's actually quite spectacular.

20190609_114620-01.jpg

See?

And it had the advantage of having lots to do for kids. So here we were.

Miraculously, I was relatively un-hungover which was quite baffling to me because I had felt mawkit before going to bed.
mawkit - Scottish word meaning, pished as fuck, aka a tad drunk

Well, lass. Funnily enough, what they did, was steal everyone's sandwiches.

The Little Lady looked at me, even more squivelly than before.

They stole everyone's sandwiches?

I finished my own sandwich that I was munching and nudged the Good Lady for another which she passed over.

Yes, lass. That is what the evil and mean Hoddit and Doddit did. They were hated by everyone because they just couldn't get to keep any of their sandwiches. One day, a grand wizard heard of the sandwich stealing antics of Hoddit and Doddit and put a spell on this very piece of ground and then put a gigantic pile of sandwiches out as a trap. It wasn't long before Hoddit and Doddit were lured along by the smell of the sandwiches and then as they stood right here the wizards spell made the ground soggy and they sunk all the way up to their heads.

I lowered my voice spookily and gestured to the giant horses.

Where they remain STILL!!!

The Little Lady shook her head with infinite six-year-old wisdom.

Mummy? Daddy is talking rubbish again?!!?

I winced, once upon a time, the Little Lady would have believed every word. Now, she was all worldly wise and didn't believe any of my twaddle.

The Good Lady looked over and frowned at me.

I am not I swear?!?

I shrugged, trying not to giggle.

The Little Lady rolled her eyes all the way to infinity.

Yes you are Daddy. Now, where is my sandwich? I was sure I had put it just there?

I swallowed the remains of the Little Lady's sandwich I had just crammed in my mouth and grinned cruelly at her.

Hoddit and Doddit must have stolen it.

Sort:  

Greetings @meesterboom,

Lovely story and illustrations.

Your photograph is spectacular.....the clouds cooperated in such a magnificent manner. Well done.

Are we not grateful that we are given a head start where our children are concerned. hehe

All the best to you and yours.

Cheers!

Hola lass!! I took lots of them but most had my little cherubs in them. I do like a bit of editing!!

A big cheers to you and I hope you are well!!

Mawkit is when you are too drunk too speak I suppose and that is the noise you make in a Scottish accent. A good story, but you need to make it more believable as she is wise to your ways already. You need little boom to speed up as he will be more gullible.

Hehe, I do need him to speed up. She is beyond my bilge now!!

Hehe, yeah. Mawkit is a great word. We use it like mad here!

Well you know I share the little ladies sentiments so I asked google which is as you know MUCH MORE reliable than you hahaha. I watched a video, since I mostly tour the world through pictures and videos, and it is really very beautiful and interesting.

Oh that's excellent!! They are really cool and massive!!

Hi @meesterboom!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.214 which ranks you at #268 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 267).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 173 contributions, your post is ranked at #3. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I don't know how many of your posts I've read where I want to leave a comment, but I have no idea what I just read, so I walk away feeling like I failed somehow.
Good Stuff!

Failure is good!! I think :0D

Damn, it doesn't take long before they are to wise for your stories, next thing will be "No Santa Claus" or even the "Easter Bunny", and the "tooth fairy" will only be because there is money involved.

I think this year coming, Santa might be done for her. It's a bit sad!

Then you bring her into the act.
You can't say anything, because you don't want to remove the surprise and joy your brother gets, do you?
[worked for me] you just have to do a good "snow" job

I never thought of that. That's a splendid idea,!!

The Oldies know all.
[just that sometimes it gets lost somewhere] :-)

You are too young to know anything about that yet, wait until the head gets full of old stuff and the "workers/finders" have to stuff the memories away in little pieces to "fit them in somewhere"

It's starting to feel that way already, that might be the sleep deprivation right enough!

Catch me once shame on you, catch me twice shame on me... the little lady is getting too clever

Too clever for me. I should retire!

Now I understand why 'four year' olds are horrified when a stranger tells them : I'm gonna eat you ! (they feel like pressed sandwiches , I think)
I really like this story. And amazing statue.
Grtz !

Hehe, cheers! They are very impressive!

The vision of a giant MB sandwich-snarfing head protruding up between the two is stuck in my mind at present. The little lady is becoming quite the corker, and wise beyond her years. That or just used to Daddyprattle.
Are those horse heads made of metal? I agree, they are way cool, at least in this world.

She is both wise behind her ears and far too used to get Daddy's prattle. I have been gazumped and now the rest of the childhood I am in trouble!

No worries, you will have listening authority in about 15 to 20 years ( :
Oh, and what were those horses made of again? I gotsta know...

They are quite impressively made of metal!!

_IMG_000000_000000.jpg

Those ARE impressive. Way cool up close. I just read some more about them online. You guys know how to make a statue.
I have a dream...one day to sit under them and have a beer with a BoomMeister and oggle their splendor. (And take about a gazillion photos. Bring lots of beer). Ah, the larger than life dreams of life. Stranger things have happened, I ended up on Steemit, so who knows.
Thanks for the up-close and personal look.

Ah that world be a fine thing!

They are rather magnificent, set in a lovely conservation area too. It's awfully scenic!

Things to dream of, once Steem is back out orbiting the moon once more. Is that B&W your photo of the Kelpies?

It is indeed!! I can't help but go a bit photo daft when I go and see them!

Ah, dreams of steem. One day!

I remember that time my daughter would have believed every word I said. It was a very short time before she became more wise, but it was a fantastic time :P

It was!! I can't wait till the little boom starts believing!!! :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28