One Day

in #life5 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-1197494666.jpg

It's not right.

Said my neighbour, The Jim as he leaned on his rake, looking up at the sun blazing down from the winter sky.

I put my rake to the side and stuck a hand on my hip and looked up also.

Aye, it's not right at all.

We stood there, by the fence separating our gardens, looking up at the serene blue above. The temperature was warm enough that we were both just wearing t-shirts.

Luckily there were no ladies nearby or there would have been some serious fainting at the sheer mannity on display.

yxcyxydyc_2019_20190113132547158.jpg

Do you think there is anything in all that global warming shit then?

Said The Jim.

Aye, I do believe it is a thing. I mean look around, this is definitely not right.

Said I.

We both looked around meditatively. The trees swayed gently in the balmy breeze, the first buds of life were shooting up in the flower beds. This was Scotland, in January. We should have been right up to our big hairy baws in snow and ice.

Instead, we were out in our gardens raking up leaves.

Well, we weren't raking up leaves. We were chatting a load of shit by the fence as we leaned on our respective rakes.

What you reckon it is then, 11, 12 degrees?

I pulled my phone out in answer to Jim's query.

Aye, it's 12 degrees. A bit ridiculous.

The Jim looked over nervously at his house then to me, dropping his voice to a low whisper he spoke.

Fancy nipping over the road to the pub for a quick beer?

yxcyxydyc_2019_20190113132805756.jpg

I gulped in sudden terror and flicked my eyes in panic to the house.

Shh, mate, they might hear!

The Jim shuddered as if waking up from a spell.

Shit, aye, your right. I don't know what came over me? They would skin us alive.

We both looked at our respective houses in fear that we had attracted the attention of the Overlords.

Better get back to it.

I muttered, taking my rake and moving it about half-heartedly.

The Jim started moving off too before stopping and whispering back at me.

One day mate, we will be able to go to the pub whenever we like. One day.

I nodded.

Yeah mate, one day...

Sort:  

Greetings @meesterboom,

Interesting......I am happy for you that you have had a reprieve from Winter's chilly breath.

Do hope you lads find a way to get to the pub....hehe ^__^

Wishing you and your good lady a lovely week end.

Hugs to the little ones!

Cheers!

Hallo my dear!!! I hope you are well!

We have that reprieve for the moment for sure! The little ones are smashing. I hope all is well with you!

Oh yes.....

All good here.....thank you @meesterboom.

Lovely to hear the little ones are well......splendid!

All the best. ^__^

Cheers!

Hi @meesterboom!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.321 which ranks you at #202 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 205).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 226 contributions, your post is ranked at #2. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hahahaha the horror of having a wife ..... you guys are so whipped. Our weather is also upside down - heat wave upon heat wave - global warming is apparently not just a scary story....

It seems so, there are so many people claiming it is a hoax and yet it weather over the last few years has not been normal!

And oh how we are whipped! :0D

@meesterboom hello dear friend, you made me remember our talks with my neighbor, now we can not do it because we have raised a wall of material of two meters, but before, when we were close, every Sunday we cut the grass with the excuse of inviting us a beer.
I hope that beer day arrives soon in the pub
I wish you a beautiful night dear friend

I hope you still get to speak to the neighbor desire the fence @jlufer! A beer is a beer after all!

Mannity not to be confused with manatee? 🤣

Maybe the overlords won’t mind you ducking to the pub between chores if you don’t spend the entire day and night there and stagger home roaring drunk? 🤣 or maybe you just need to refine the art of doing things roaring drunk so that there is no further excuse for banning pub visits 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

You know, that is one of the finest points ever and it is one that she had bought up on many an occasion. Why don't you just have a couple she will say, or a few as long as you don't get smashed. And everytime I promise it won't be the case then roll up honking!!!

I don't have a The Jim, but I do have a The Dog, and I think it is a similar relationship. In the middle of the afternoon The Tot or The Boy like to climb on one of us while we simply want to take a nap. The Dog looks at me with his sad, tired eyes and it translates to "Do you think we can sneak out of here and get some sleep?" and I say very seriously, and very solemnly, "They will find us."

I guess everybody has a The something.

Bahahaaaha!! They do!! A partner in almost crime! They will always find you, the game is always a bogey as they say here :0)

The overlords are always watching. I like that half-heartedly raking. I do this regardless of the situation

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think I do it like that regardless as well ;0D

One day...... but not today. :)

We had winter too early, in fall, but we got paid back, because we had two weeks of fall in January. ha ha.... I think the universe still owes us a little more fall before spring.

I am worried we are owed a right swine of a winter still which it might try to cream in in two weeks in February or something! Not even had any decent frost yet!

That's weird. My neighbor is called The Steve.

Haha! Madness you wonder what we are called by them!

let us start a "Mans Lib", we will have to go around waving and burning ????
I was going to suggest grundies, but the thought of a few skid marks being waved around at head height is a definite turn off, besides, the smell when they go into the fire,
we could refuse to do the dishes, but I hate eating off a dirty plate,

Men of the World, Unite.

Lol, sorry, for some reason I missed this. Yes that is a fine idea! Apart from the skid marked grundies, lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82