Short

in #life5 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-2017284653.jpg

Hey, Boom. How are you doing?

I looked up in some surprise from the incredibly important two line SQL query I was in the middle of writing for someone.

It was my old frenemy, Bitcoin-Boy. I had once sold him some bitcoin with which he had gone on to trade with. He was not the most technically proficient and purchasing some had seemed beyond him.

At the time, I thought I was helping.

Unfortunately, when the markets crashed spectacularly he blamed me personally for getting him involved in a fucking scam, as he now liked to call all Crypto.

15522r401-picsay_20190312181833084_20190313181347593.jpg

I'm good, fucknut. How are you?

I asked affectionately.

His friendly smile broke for a moment to let a sullen glower at the fucknut bit through.

With what looked to be a mighty piece of self control, he took a deep breath and painted a big fake smile back on his face as if his mum had told him to be nice to me.

Haha, fucknut. Very good. I like it.

I made a face as if I were a duck and he had just thrown me wholemeal bread.

15522r401-picsay_20190312181833084_20190313181609101.jpg

You like it? Alright then. Fucknut it is!

His face clenched like a Spaniard's fist.

No!? No. I don't like it. I just meant... Oh fuck it you know what I mean? I was being nice!

I nodded my head sagely.

You were being nice... What for?

Bitcoin-Boy pulled up a chair and sat. His face was a strange mix of confusion and fear. A bit like a dog that has swallowed a vibrating sex toy.

15522r401-picsay_20190312181833084_20190313181736191.jpg

You're into all that crypto shit, aren't you? I mean, you have been into it for years?

I tilted my head toward in acknowledgement. He was right, thanks to Steemit, I had been into all that Crypto shit for years now. Fancy that!

Yes.

I intoned in a smug cryptonautic way.

Bitcoin-Boy took a deep breath as if readying himself to lift a big looking weight and not shit himself in the attempt.

Have you ever shorted anything?

He said with a forced air of casualness.

What, you mean like in Trading terms?

Yeah, like that.

He said, looking down and picking at an imaginary something in a finger nail.

I kicked back in my chair and guffawed loudly.

No, that way lies madness for us mere mortals.

Bitcoin-Boy swallowed hard.

Really?

He asked.

I leaned in.

Listen, matey chops. Going long or short on crypto is like spunking onto a pile of money then setting it on fire.

15522r401-picsay_20190312181833084_20190313181925043.jpg

I laughed long and hard as if only a mental would do such a thing.

Bitcoin-Boy looked stricken as if realising for the first time that his newly purchased, sexy Russian wife was actually an Alaskan Goat.

I stopped laughing and peered at him closely.

Wait. Why? Have you been shorting crypto?

Bitcoin-Boy raised himself slowly to his feet.

No, of course not. That would be stupid.

He turned and slouched away, head down.

You really didn't, did you?

I yelled after him.

He flipped me the bird and continued with his dejected looking walk.

Oh dear, I think someone's mother is going to be very cross with him...

Sort:  

"Short" people got no reason to live :-)

Lol, I have never heard that one. You always choose the best songs to fit!

From your reply I can tell you're not a "short" person :)

Lol, no. Am entertained by "short" people person! Hehe

Lol, I have never
Heard that one. You always choose
The best songs to fit!

                 - meesterboom


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I remember that song! (and I am a short person)

I bet you thought the song was about you (when it was really all about people who "short" crypto).

Hehe, I love short people. I even know some!! ;0)

Hey man that’s really weird lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh boy, nothing can quite get a proper pucker going on like a short squeeze.!

The best kind of squeeze! I think, lol!!

I like your colleagues. They make good stories.

Hehe, yes, about ten percent of them are

You should tell him that your friend Satoshi just gave you a tip ... BTC is going to double in the next month so he should buy big.

If he asks any questions, just have him Google Satoshi

If he really buys big, he might drive the price of BTC up (and all cryptos follow). If it doesn't go big, then you just need to correct yourself ... not this month, next month ... silly me.

Lol, I think the nicest but he ever did was 5p pounds! I have the feeling it might not side the market any. Lol!!

just imagine if he gets away with it. first off, you got him into a scam, now you laughed at his new money maker.
You are going to be in the brown stuff at home as well as work by the time he has finished.

I don't think he has gotten away with it judging by the sad looks and scuttling!!!

Lol. i rub it in as I know others who are holding about 10 percent of what they were this time last year. I was asked yesterday how I was doing and when I said I had done very well and was looking forward to more of the same he thought I was lying. They have no idea about Steem and what is possible.

They don't, it's true. I laugh at them too simply because they don't even bother to see begins the veil at what is out there.

Hi @meesterboom!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.322 which ranks you at #212 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 222 contributions, your post is ranked at #4.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

'that crypto shit'.. haha.. do you tell anyone at work about STEEM?

I get blank looks every time... nobody but nobody ever knows.. BitCoin yes.. anything else.. forget it!

Oh man, I used to. Or at least I used to try but the looks went beyond blank and I got fed up looking like an idiot promoting a Ponzi which is what they all think of it!

I demand that you chase him down! I want to know if he shorted that crypto *hit!

And don't forget to be nice to him like your mother taught you!

!tip

I can't be nice to him, he is normally a mean bastard of a man! All I can promise is to laugh!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00